Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Lovely venue, attended for a family wedding. Would recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom berkeley ca

Posted May 4, 2015
nicely secluded in the countryside, beautiful grounds, wish we could have stayed longer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Great secluded environment

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Old English charm
Cons: Internet stability.
Location: Part of what I liked here is that the location was quite secluded in the country side.
This was a fantastic stay. The staff were superb, food was great, room was very clean & comfortable and there were plenty of interesting things to walk around and see on the property. It is a secluded old English manor in the country side with lots of character. The only issue I experienced there was that the internet was intermittent. If your goal is to get away, this is the perfect place. If you're staying for business, this might pose a bit of a communication problem. Either way, I highly recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andrewfrom Walsingham

Very pleasant stay

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great location, good sized room which was clean and well equipped. Lovely views. Restaurant was very busy, but was warned of this when I checked in and advised to book. Ate in the bar instead - venison burger was cooked well and flavorsome. Gym small but well equipped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Colinfrom Tonbridge

Don't rely on wifi!

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel. Phone reception poor. Free wifi rubbish in room. Drops out every couple of minutes and hard to reconnect.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Darrenfrom Sutton Coldfield

Disappointed

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels.com
On first impression very welcoming. we had paid the full amount for our short break, we had previously stayed there and enjoyed this hotel. Entering the room there was dirty marks on the bottom bed spread cover,which made us look closer and found the under sheet yellow staining on both sides! And holes! We immediately spoke to reception! They looked shocked and immediately got the covers and bed sheets changed, we did wait around 45min for them to do this. This ruined our stay! I don't think I will stay at this hotel again, because of this experience. I also bought a drink early evening at the bar,the bar staff gave me back a hand full of change from £20 with apologies sorry we have no notes. Im sorry but I would not expected this from this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Hitchin

Rural location

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable hotel, rural location. No issues at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Tv in the room didn't work - no remote and th.

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
Just a night away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shazadfrom London

Poor wifi

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, no wifi service. My phone has no signal at the Walton so wifi was crucial. This had been my second stay. I Was fobbed off by reception and told to call technical services. Who promised a call back to rectify the wifi issue but no call recieved. Complained to reception in the morning at checkout. Who were not very concerned about my issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom Sevenoaks

Needs to improve to deserve its 4-star AA rating

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
The booking website gives the impression that there are two separate establishments - Walton Hall and Walton Hotel. And so when driving through the tiny village of Walton on a dark Winter's night trying to find the Walton Hotel, the signs for Walton Hall were ignored. After driving up and down a narrow icy lane we eventually called the hotel to find that Walton Hall and Walton Hotel were in fact the same thing. Having finally arrived on site, the signs to hotel reception - dark writing on a dark brown board - were almost impossible to see at night, and another ten minutes was wasted before reception was finally found. Once there the hotel was reasonable, but hardly merited the four-star AA rating and certainly not the AA rosette for the restaurant. At dinner the starter was billed as "a turkey, fig and mozzarella salad" but the turkey turned out to be strips from a plastic pre-pack of the type one might buy in a supermarket and the mozzarella cubes were like rubber. The main course of sea bass fillet was OK (if slightly overcooked) and the chocolate tart for desert was probably from Brake Bros. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. Overall impression - beautiful settings but scope for improvement inside the hotel. It was OK for a one-night business stopover, but at £76 I would have expected breakfast to be included.