Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Orlando, FL

Great secluded environment

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Old English charm
Cons: Internet stability.
Location: Part of what I liked here is that the location was quite secluded in the country side.
This was a fantastic stay. The staff were superb, food was great, room was very clean & comfortable and there were plenty of interesting things to walk around and see on the property. It is a secluded old English manor in the country side with lots of character. The only issue I experienced there was that the internet was intermittent. If your goal is to get away, this is the perfect place. If you're staying for business, this might pose a bit of a communication problem. Either way, I highly recommend this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Davidfrom Hitchin

Rural location

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very comfortable hotel, rural location. No issues at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The Tv in the room didn't work - no remote and th.

Posted Jan 26, 2015 on Hotels.com
Just a night away
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Shazadfrom London

Poor wifi

Posted Jan 25, 2015 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, no wifi service. My phone has no signal at the Walton so wifi was crucial. This had been my second stay. I Was fobbed off by reception and told to call technical services. Who promised a call back to rectify the wifi issue but no call recieved. Complained to reception in the morning at checkout. Who were not very concerned about my issue.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Michaelfrom Sevenoaks

Needs to improve to deserve its 4-star AA rating

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
The booking website gives the impression that there are two separate establishments - Walton Hall and Walton Hotel. And so when driving through the tiny village of Walton on a dark Winter's night trying to find the Walton Hotel, the signs for Walton Hall were ignored. After driving up and down a narrow icy lane we eventually called the hotel to find that Walton Hall and Walton Hotel were in fact the same thing. Having finally arrived on site, the signs to hotel reception - dark writing on a dark brown board - were almost impossible to see at night, and another ten minutes was wasted before reception was finally found. Once there the hotel was reasonable, but hardly merited the four-star AA rating and certainly not the AA rosette for the restaurant. At dinner the starter was billed as "a turkey, fig and mozzarella salad" but the turkey turned out to be strips from a plastic pre-pack of the type one might buy in a supermarket and the mozzarella cubes were like rubber. The main course of sea bass fillet was OK (if slightly overcooked) and the chocolate tart for desert was probably from Brake Bros. Breakfast was not included in the room rate. Overall impression - beautiful settings but scope for improvement inside the hotel. It was OK for a one-night business stopover, but at £76 I would have expected breakfast to be included.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bethfrom Kent

Good hotel - a few issues

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed one night on business. All considered a good stay but with a couple of potentially irritating problems. Pros - Room very clean, well kept, bed comfortable. Health club convenient and also well maintained. Good breakfast. Staff very considerate and polite. Cons - I was unable to connect to the wifi in my room, I had paid for a premium upgrade which was refunded back to me but the staff were unable to get me connected for the duration of my stay. Balcony door was warped and in the windy conditions the room was very drafty. The coffee at breakfast was also rather gross. Notes - For those staying in the winter months it may be wise to consider requesting a room in the main building. While the annexe (orchard Mews) is nice the walk between this unit and reception/breakfast etc is rather unpleasant in inclement conditions. I got very wet more than once!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by craigfrom Chard, Somerset

great location, good sized rooms

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
absolutely wonderful hotel only really let down by the changing rooms in the swimming pool/gym. This would not stop me staying again though !!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Edwardfrom Stafford

Overnight Stay.

Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
A pleasant stay in lovely rural location.Friendly Staff and very good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Samfrom Boston

Fantastic

Posted Jan 10, 2015 on Hotels.com
Great rooms, facilities and excellent business service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SIMONfrom Taunton

Fabulous

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great service. ..great facilities. ..great food