Ratings based on 1,565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

First visit

Posted Aug 13, 2014
An excellent hotel for a visit to the town. Clean and good location. Close to Georgetown for a walk in the evening. Nice kitchen. Near metro for easy travel. Drinks a little dear but close to supermarkets and bars
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal, qc

Good location and great staff.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Very nice and helpful desk clerks. One man helped us find free parking on the street, which saved us $160 in parking fees at the hotel. Nice beds.
Cons: Cleanliness of carpets and loud air conditioning.
Location: Near White House, Georgetown, shopping, dining and metro to take you where you need to go.
We arrived and were greeted by a very helpful clerk. We were given a corner suite on the fourth floor. The area outside our room reeked of cigarette smoke and our kitchen and sitting room did as well. This is supposed to be a completely non-smoking hotel! We were told that someone may have been smoking outside our room. We were offered the option to change rooms but that the smell would probably dissipate if we opened our windows. The smell remained, but by then, we had unpacked and did not want to move. On our second night, we were awakened by a fire alarm (which we could have easily slept through). We went out to investigate and the hotel guests were evacuating and the hallway smelled even more strongly of cigarette smoke. After about 15 minutes of standing outside, a fire truck pulled up and firemen went into the building. After another 30 minutes, we were let back into the hotel. This occurred at 1 a.m. We never received any explanation or apology. We noted that the cigarette smell in our suite and outside the door decreased a lot after the incident. Lastly, there was a blockage in our kitchen sink. We came back to the suite one evening to find a strange man in our room! Just a bit of a shock! He was trying to unblock the sink (unsuccessfully). The next day at 9 a.m. another maintenance man came, wanting to fix the sink. We had just woken up and were not even dressed yet. He came back later, and finally unblocked the drain. Overall, lots of strange happenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous facility, service and location

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Excellent overall experience. Staff very helpful and friendly. Know the city well. Close to metro for convenience. In-room kitchen great for families. Trader Joe's right across the street & other stores within walking distance. Updated d├ęcor and amenities. Clean. Quiet. Quaint patio, bar/restaurant. When we go back to D.C., we will definitely stay there again. Price was great for high level of quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waukesha, Wi

Great hotel, perfect location

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Great hotel in absolutely perfect location. Cannot say enough -would stay in this hotel again in a heartbeat. No pool but you don't miss it at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

6 weeks on - still waiting for room deposit back

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Staff, rooms, location
Cons: Ensure room deposits are returned in a timely manner., without the necessity to keep chasing the hotel for it, for weeks
Location: Georgetown within walking distance with lots of lovely bars and restaurants. Martin's tavern is worth a visit.
Avenue Suites was generally a very nice hotel to stay in. Staff were courteous and efficient. It was well located. Suites were spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately it is now 6 weeks since I stayed here and despite numerous emails back and forth, and a couple of telephone calls, I am still waiting for my money to be returned. I have spent so much time and effort trying to recover my money it's not funny. I have been told the money has been released but to date it has not been deposited in my account. It is an extremely frustrating situation and through no fault of my own I still remain without my security deposit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Al Ain, UAE

Great Hotel and Great location

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Spacious room with a great kitchen
Cons: Breakfast as part of rate.
Location: Perfect
My family and I had a great experience at the Avenue Suites. The staff is friendly and we enjoyed our spacious room. We didn't eat there but many restaurants and a supermarket is within reach. I recommend that the hotel, like many others, offers breakfast as part of the daily rate. However, we enjoyed our short stay and we hope to come back to it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

Nice hotel close to Georgetown

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: location, room size and hotel service
All staffs are nice to everyone, they always try to know every guest name. The room is bigger than expected including a separate living room and kitchen. A supermarket is right across the hotel which is a plus. Subway is only a few blocks away which is closer then expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus, OH

Walking distance to Georgetown and subway.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Location convenience. Kitchen availability great for family use.
Cons: Parking
Location: Shopping, restaurants, subway to Washington DC sites
A few blocks from subway with access to all the sites of Washington DC. Easy walk to Georgetown. Convenient access to a high end grocer and restaurants.Limited parking area, late arrival so I had to seek my own parking. During the week parking garages close at 9-930pm. Hotel staff directed me to potential parking garage that was gated and closed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Very Nice hotel. Modern and renovated. Staff speaks french. Very convenient to have the kitchenette with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Perfect place to stay!

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Location & staff. It was also the only place we found that was a true "suite" with a separate bedroom and living space. Full kitchen.
Cons: The shower head in our room was older and had less water pressure. The shower head in the original room was more like a waterfall and perfect.
Location: Location was just outside Georgetown for dining and shopping. Trader Joe's & CVS were convenient. The Foggy Bottom Metro was only a block or so away.
The only place we found suites for a reasonable price. There was a glitch in our reservation and they not only accommodated us, they gave us free breakfast and didn't charge us for the cot we needed for a limited time. The shower head in our first room was wonderful! Unfortunately, they need to update all the suites with new shower heads. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and efficient. Each host/hostess was friendly and eager to help. The wait staff was efficient and courteous. Every staff member we encountered remembered us from day to day and asked specific questions relating to our day. Tim at the front desk was exceptional in helping us in an emergency situation and remained calm! The bellmen were knowledgeable. Every dining recommendation any of the staff gave us was spot on! The location was just a block or so from the metro station, you could see Trader Joe's from the front door and right over the overpass to Georgetown. We will absolutely stay here again!