Ratings based on 2,021 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Clarksburg, WV

Great location

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: update bathrooms
Location: near Dupont & Logan Circles, all of DC attractions are within walking distance
The people were all very pleasant, check-in was quick, room was lovely & clean. The bathroom was tight. Small tub & shower which were too close to toilet. Pull-out bins in bathroom were great for storage but unsightly. Did love the large counter space with bathroom sink.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oxford

Nice clean, safe hotel close to the Mall

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Location, friendly & helpful staff, quality of the room decor and fittings, room facilities, safe hotel in a safe area (I was a lone female traveler.)
Cons: Wi-fi should be included in the cost of the room and not as an expensive ad-on!
Location: 1/2 a mile walk from the White House with the Mall and museums about 1 mile away. Train station nearby (Faragut West) with shops/restaurants etc.
The location is superb, approx 1/2 mile from the White House, Starbucks/shops within a 10 minute walk. Room was spacious,clean and very well equipped. Bathroom had hair drier and shower. The bed was very comfortable and the room had easy to use temperature controls. My one and only gripe was about wi-fi, as I booked through Expedia it wasn't included in the room cost and I refused to pay $12 a night for it but luckily Starbucks had free wi-fi. The staff were friendly and helpful, I didn't use the restaurant/bar so cannot review them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning on visiting Washington, it really was easy to get to everything, literally 50 yards out of the front door, turn right and you can see the White House at the end of the road....brilliant!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montgomery

Family Trip

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing. Nothing was horrible, but sure nothing was great.
Cons: Basically everything.
Location: Far from restaurants and shops. It's a good 40 minutes walk to the City Center.
I don't see how this is a VIP hotel. I would not pick this hotel again for paying such price and didn't get anything meaningful for a +gold member. I could have paid less for not VIP hotels but at even better location. There are so much better choice. Location isn't great. It's on the outer area of the city. But it's quiet. Needs update on bathroom and replace the air conditioner that sounded so freaking loud.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

This is the worst hotel in DC.

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything: hotel facility, staff, cleanliness.
The hotel is falling down. My room actually had a rat go across the floor. I saw a roach in the bathroom. The staff is disengaged. When I finally asked someone to pay attention to me, she was sarcastic and much more focused on talking with her friends on her cell phone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Cons: The bar and grill is too expensive for our budget. We had to eat somewhere else.
Location: Close to the Capitol mall area. Tour bus stops at the hotel which was very convenient for us.
Nice stay. All staff were friendly and considerate. The room was clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Old rooms, non-attentive staff....lacking amenities.... The room had certain lights that were out..rooms are old and stained
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Denver, CO

The Beacon Rocks!

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Even if a room doesn't have a kitchen, they could add a small refrigerator and microwave somewhere in the room, there was space.
Location: Metro a few blocks away, so everything was close once we figured out how to navigate. Everything is close by.
Loved the staff, extremely friendly and helpful. The location couldn't have been better, close to great restaurants, the Metro is just a few blocks away as are all the Museums and sights. The room was comfortable and clean, my only disappointment was not having a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. When I booked the hotel, the pictures showed small kitchenette facilities, but my room didn't have anything and since we stayed for 3 nights, it would have been a nice to have. Parking is extremely expensive at the hotel, so I parked my car two blocks away at a 24 hour garage, saved a lot of money!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel and a very "walkable" area.

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Friendly check in, nice restaurant and bar.....room had a little kitchen.
Cons: The outside of my Fridge was a bit banged up.
Location: lots of eats and shopping.
Close to metro-station and in a nice "walkable" neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Location: Discovered the Circulator bus system which runs several routes and only charges $1.00 for youth/seniors. Used route from Union Station to Georgetown.
This is an older hotel located in a quiet area of town and conveniently located to all tourist stops at the national Mall - the White House, Capitol, Senate Chambers, Congressional Library, Smithsonian Museums - as long as you wear good walking shoes. Hotel has a restaurant with standard food at OK prices. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Minneapolis, MN

Over the top team at The Beacon

Posted Mar 27, 2015
Pros: The staff and location worked very well for our stay in Washington, DC
Location: Everything was very accessible from restaurants, shopping and getting to and from the historical sites in Washington, DC
We were very happy with our stay at The Beacon. The restaurant food was excellent and the hotel staff was very accommodating.