Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything, the gym smells of kerosene
Good location, easy in and out off the freeway, in the process of a renovation but they have a long way to go to get it where it needs to be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Close to NIH
Indoor air quality - bad. Signage/wayfinding was bad - interiors are outdated...entire view of rooftop units? Expensive for the low quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facility review

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Room was too hot...thermostat did not work. Therefore, could not sleep! Took forever to get hot water. No mini refrigerator. Breakfast buffet a disappointment as the food was barely warm and sausages were odd tasting...omelets were good though! Hate Starbucks coffee!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback based on your recent stay. I am sorry that we were not able to provide you with the top quality stay that you had expected. I have shared your feedback with the appropriate departments so that they are able to look into your concerns. I do hope, that while you were at the hotel, should you have reported any challenges that they were addressed and resolved quickly and to your satisfaction. Again, accept my apologies for the challenges that you encountered. I do hope that you will choose to give us another chance should your travels bring you back to the Bethesda area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Asked for a king bed, but was assigned to a double queen. Toilet was dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Bethesda Marriott team. I apologize for the challenges that you encountered. We do make every effort to honor all of our guest’s requests including those for a requested bed type however, there are some times where we are not able to fulfill the request based on the demand in the hotel. I am sorry that this impacted your stay. I have also shared your feedback with the housekeeping team regarding your room’s cleanliness. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with a clean and comfortable hotel room and it appears that we fell short of that goal on your stay. I do hope you will choose to stay with us in the future should your travels bring you back to the Bethesda area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Poor value

Posted Oct 26, 2014
For $260 I expect wifi in my room at no charge, no charge parking Breakfast included would be expected too. If you are on business travel safe your money find somewhere else!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2014 by robert, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay at the Bethesda Marriott. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel the hotel was a good value for your money. We work to ensure that we are offering our guests the best rate possible while providing top quality service and amenities. I do hope that you would consider staying with us again should your travels bring you back to the Bethesda area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Good value for the money.
For the most part everything was good. The shuttle to and from the metro ran a little slow, but I think this was because they were dealing with a large group of young students.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Check-in/out was fast and easy. The bed was amazingly comfortable! Great value for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by cathiefrom vernon, nj

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
never disappointed!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Larry Kfrom Bethesda MD

Selected based on location to family

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room itself was OK, if slightly small bathroom. Property needs a serious refresh. Painting in progress gave strong odor, very unpleasant. I simply do not like the Marriott business model. Full price, charge for everything, nickel and dime you for what in the end is very average service and facility. Picked due to proximity to family we were visiting, and quickly remembered why I rarely stay at any Marriott. In this and age to charge by the day for internet access is just insulting. So is charging $2.50 for a cup of coffee in the morning. Not so much as a complimentary glass of water. Charging for parking? In a suburban location, with a secured lot for guests, Virtually all suburban places I stay have complimentary parking, free in room WiFi, beverages in the morning, if not a continental breakfast. It is the little things that make a difference, and too many little things were poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2014 by Janet, Hotel Management
Dear Larry K, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments based on your recent stay. The hotel is just beginning an extensive transformation which will allow us to offer our guests the newest technologies and a completely re-designed guest room product. We at the hotel are very excited about the upcoming changes. We hope that should future travel bring you back to the Bethesda market that you will stay with us to see what changes are taking place. Thank you again for your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com