Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South of England

Great hotel in ideal location

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It was very luxurious, the rooms were lovely, the restaurant and bar were great, and the staff very good
Cons: The rooftop bar area is very disappointing, and didn't live up to expectations
Location: Lots of excellent shopping and dining close by. Waterfront right there. Slight disadvantage is nearest Metro 20 mins walk.
This hotel is very plush, and very well stuated close to the waterfront and Georgetown facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

DC Getaway

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The formal but informal setting, your in a luxurious hotel but you feel at home. The flexible check in and check out is also great!
Location: Georgetown is the perfect getaway from a big city, but yet close enough to downtown DC! Many shops and restaurants to choose from. Great Jazz clubs!
First time I have tried the Capella and it was an amazing experience, from the moment you step into their reception area and are taken to a beautiful library setting which turns out to be their check in area. The entire experience was perfection. The staff cannot be nicer and more accommodating. The rooms were manicured to every detail, macaroons and chocolate truffles at you bedside ! Lush bathrobes, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the technology was very updated. Bathrooms and shower are very large and beautifully decorated. Their doormen were just amazing and knowledgeable of the area restaurants and bars as well as the concierge. Their bar was great best "Older Fashion" I ever had! Great atmosphere and meeting place. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, but specially couples and business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

service not as good as hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2014
the problem I found is that the terrace has no bar and was understaffed. I saw the same person attending breakfast, lunch and dinner!!! the bar was very nice but she had no wine knowledge. They need to bring more professional staff and they need more waitress at the morning breakfast and better the beautiful terrace with a nice bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cory from New York

Stellar service, classic design, superb dining

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having an appreciation for off the beaten path, unique hotels, we were very intrigued by the rave reviews from friends and travel experts. The interior architecture is the perfect combination of classic and modern, with rich woods and clean lines paired with plush white bedding and drapery. The personal assistants contacted us before our arrival to ascertain any special requests and introduce themselves before our stay. The Grill Room never disappointed; every meal was an experience that dazzled the senses. The only negative was having to say goodbye.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Elegant boutique hotel in centre of Georgetown

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Helpful and courteous members of staff. Prompt laundry and shoe cleaning service. Level of security. Beautifully soft dressing gowns (bath robes).
Cons: The Continental Breakfast should have more choices eg tubs of unsweetened plain yoghurt, possibly some cheese.
Location: Central
Our stay at the Capella Washington at the end of December into the New Year 2014 was an absolutely delightful experience. From courteous and ever helpful staff to the beautifully comfortable and spacious bedroom, luxuriously soft dressing gowns, towels and bathroom products, our four day visit to Washington DC could not have been more perfect. I would definitely come back. Heide Eyles
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bob H from Stamford, CT

Most well coming Hotel Ever

Posted Nov 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
We strongly believe you cannot feel more welcome in any hotel anywhere in the world, more than Capella. We stayed for two nights and OMG. State of the art rooms and very well trained staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rafael Laffitte

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt C from virginia

Second stay was once again perfection!

Posted Oct 10, 2013
Pros: The question is what didn't I like! Personal service, amazing, amazing rooms, non-imposing but friendly staff who get it. No nickle & diming here.
Cons: At this point it's grasping at straws but I would say perhaps more gourmet and varied food options in the room. This hotel is above chips and snickers
Location: The location is excellent, because it is a half a block from the most happening Street in Georgetown yet peaceful enough to avoid the noisy crowds
This is one of those hotels that truly has to be experienced. The ability to communicate just how incredible this place is veers on the impossible. Obviously the facilities, rooms, and all of the fixtures are beyond luxurious; by that I mean luxury taken to a level beyond the most luxurious hotel you can think of. But what truly makes Capella special is the fact that this place could be incredibly stuffy and pretentious, but somehow it totally avoids any shred of that. No matter how amazing the hotel is, if I feel uncomfortable or not totally at ease I will not return and this is a hotel I hope to visit frequently. How they managed to strike a balance between down to earth and super exclusive is beyond me but once again I stand in awe of the staff and their incredible dedication.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by KJwhite from Brisbane, Australia.

An outstanding experience

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I recently spent a night at the Capella hotel with my girlfriend for an in town getaway whilst visiting her in DC. The attention to detail in this hotel is outstanding. Everything from the check-in to check-out is done perfectly. My girlfriend was strangely quiet throughout the check-in I realised, once we reached our room, it was because she was trying to hold herself together from how amazed she was by the hotel. The staff provided the best service I have ever experienced in a hotel. The room perfect and the rainfall shower a hit. That evening we enjoyed a few drinks, from an outstanding red wine list, on the rooftop bar. The view from the bar is beautiful. Afterwards we had dinner at the Grill Room. The food - and once again the service - was superb, we ordered the strip loin and scallops. The flavours of the food were amazing. I will definitely return to the Capella with my girlfriend whenever we are looking for a short getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt C from Virginia

Truly a Class Act!

Posted Sep 19, 2013
Pros: Plush, incredible rooms, amazing staff, not stuffy or pretentious. You feel like you're getting your money's worth here.
Cons: Hard to imagine anything. Perhaps they will add a small spa eventually?
Location: Near the shopping and bustle of M street, but on a quiet side street overlooking the C/O canal. Perfect.
Ultra Luxurious, perfectly sized hotel with amazing amenities. This is worth a splurge for so many reasons: A fantastic, down to earth staff; the best rooms (and bathrooms) in D.C.; you don't feel nickle and dimed (free drinks and snacks in your room) and free clothes pressing; fast, free wifi; a stellar rooftop pool and bar area; the pool is open 24hrs and has a fireplace next to it when it gets cold outside; the best possible location in Georgetown: Near everything but on a quiet side street.