Ratings based on 1,839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Capitol Skyline

Posted Sep 13, 2014
Pros: The view of the capitol.
Cons: Service, beds, information in the room about the Hotel Restaurant and nearby restaurants.
Location: This is DC, there is no shortage of things to do and see. The location of this hotel is convenient and walking distance to the Capitol.
This is the first time I have ever felt strongly enough about a hotel to write a review, but I felt like I should warn others that are looking in the DC area that this is not a hotel worth the money. While I will say the rooms were clean, the front desk staff gave the impression that I was wasting their time by asking questions. It wasn't just the young man that checked me in but also the person the following morning. The rooms are simply a bed, not even so much as a piece of paper in the room telling me what the hotel restaurant offered or what could be found nearby. This would have been fine if the front desk was willing to tell me this information but they weren't. I have stayed in hundreds of hotels, but this was the first that didn't have a coffee pot in the room, nor one in the lobby. When I asked about it I was told I needed to go to the restaurant where I could get a very small cup for a mere $2.75. Maybe the lack of coffee available seems like a silly thing to rate a room by but I have stayed in some very cheap hotels that offered more in the way of service and this is not a cheap hotel. The beds are horrible, lumpy and probably should have been replaced years ago, but the constant noise, sirens and horns outside made sleeping impossible so the beds didn't matter much after all. The only positive about this hotel is the view of the Capitol, that is what you are paying for, don't expect anything else and you won't be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Not a bad option

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: Reasonable price.
Cons: Hotel is a little worn. Could use some TLC and updating.
Location: Short walk to Nationals Stadium and Metro line. Capitol Hill about a 20 minute walk. Not a lot of restaurants close.
Hotel is a little dated but comfortable. 20 minute walk to Capitol Hill. 10 minute walk to Metro line and Nationals Stadium.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great pool. Nice central area.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Always a cab waiting outside. Hotel staff was great about calling if a taxi wasn't already outside. Very nice and friendly staff. Outside of building isn't all decorated but inside is nice and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2014
It was great checked in late. But nice clean rooms and it was peaceful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waukesha, Wisconsin

I think it was an excellent hotel and experience.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The price was right! The hotel was clean and staff was helpful! We loved the shuttle every morning to take you to certain locations in D.C.
Cons: Don't change anything!
Location: We went to the US Capitol, Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, Smithsonian Museums, National Archives, the White House all using the shuttle!
I think that the hotel was very nice. The staff was very helpful! We loved the time there. The hotel was very clean. We had a great view of the Capitol too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to metro

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Nice experience, friendly staff, no vending machines but I would come back here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England, UK

East Coast Road Trip

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Comfortable, clean, lovely food In the restaurant, great Breakfast, good facilities. Great for a city break and well Located to watch the nationals play.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Convenient location to my daughter's apartment. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Experience was good would stay again has a great outdoor pool for summer use
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not professional

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Pool
Cons: Staff attitude and giving guess the room with the right bed that was booked
Location: ok Pictures looks better online
I booked a room specifying a kind bed. Upon arrival the staff put me in a room with two queens bed. I went to her to correct the error but she was extremely unprofessional and told me I would need to call Expedia since I booked my room with them. I showed her my itinerary stating a King room and she basically did not understand it was the hotel error. I waited for 20 min with my 3 year old who needed to use the bathroom she was aware and unhelpful. Will not book again - extremely unprofessional. All she could have said is my apologies we will switch your room to a kind size bed as stated on your itinerary and all would have been good. We were all tired from a 7 hours drive and did not expect this level of unprofessionalism especially with my 3 year old baby.