Ratings based on 1,426 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Victor tapia from El Paso Texas

Poor condition

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very smelly older gentalmen at front desk very bad attitude .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by ChrisSharmaFan from DC

Decent hotel but rude reception and no restaurant

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself was decent, particularly for the price, and considering it was about three blocks from the Waterfront subway station. But the hotel had advertised a restaurant, which was permanently closed, and so I had to walk back to the subway station area for dinner. An older gentleman at the front desk was quite rude, despite cheerful attempts to change his attitude. The room was fine, with a charming, rather retro balcony, and the bathroom appeared clean, but this is a hotel somewhat past its prime. DC's Waterfront area is still under development and so there is not yet much around the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Eastbourne

In need of redecorating

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: Location to the museums and local metro station. Traffic noise was minimal.
Cons: The deco needs updating and better bed linen.
Location: Good location for Smithsonian museums and access to the green line local metro station (Waterfront)
Hotel appears "tired looking" on first impressions,needs updating. Having said that the location to the tourist areas and metro station is a good plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Katie from Valdosta ,Ga.

Better than i expected.

Posted May 6, 2014
It was more pleasing than i was expecting after reading the past reveiws.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by PB from Ottawa

**Extremely** dated

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room was dim and had original mid-70s décor - fixtures in the bath were coming out of the wall, many of the electrical socket wall plates were broken or missing, and the room had a strange smell that I never quite got used to. The restaurant was closed. I had to find a hotel same-day and so paid $190/night which I guess is a reflection of DC hotel pricing - next time I'd get up into the $250 range and hopefully just have a normal room. Two good things - free wireless internet which most of the much much more expensive hotels in DC still want $12/day for, and location. Close to Reagan, close to the mall.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
It shouldn't take long for this place to close its doors. Despite being waterfront the hotel was outdated, some of the front desk staff were down right rude to customers, and the hallway smelled of mold and mildew. The room was spacious but appeared to be the same furniture and linens from 20 years ago. The surrounding area has a lot of potential but with construction set to begin on a new wharf area, I can't imagine anyone enjoying the immediate surroundings anytime soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Excellent Location!

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Balcony overlooking the Potomac River
Cons: Needs updating, however, we found out it is being torn down for condominiums to be built.
Room was clean & spacious. Staff extremely friendly & helpful.
1 out of 5
by Larry from Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada

Hotel Closing

Posted May 2, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: It's closed.
Location: It was close to the Capital.
The Channel Inn was closing for good the day of our departure. Room amenities had already been removed, with the restaurant, patio closed, and deluxe TV channels cancelled.