Ratings based on 2,389 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

A little old fashioned but perfect for me.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: It was friendly and comfortable. The selection of food in their small restaurant was limited but everything was tasty and the service courteous.
Cons: I had a large handicapped bathroom and it had no heat. Something needs to be done about that.
Location: Location was excellent for my visit but there were no outside restaurants nearby.
I enjoyed my stay very much. I liked the fact that there were not a lot of extra unnecessary services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel, well-priced and close to downtown

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, staff very helpful, no issues
Cons: None
Location: Few food places nearby, but close to Red Line station to get elsewhere around DC.
Rooms were beautiful with a rustic feel. Close to Red Line to get to downtown DC. Ton of space with huge bed, separate study room, and clean bathroom. Highly recommend to others for the price.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Perfect location between hotels hosting conferences and Dupont Circle/Connecticut Ave. restaurants and shops, etc. (easy walking distance). This is a smaller, older, almost "boutique" style hotel--simple but elegant in its way, more European. Spacious room, nice furnishings, bed and pillows very comfortable -- absolutely/very quiet inside. Delicious food in or from the restaurant downstairs. And the staff is EXCELLENT -- nonintrusive, but always immediately responsive and accommodating, gracious and efficient hospitality -- not merely courteous but genuinely enthusiastic. Check-in and check-out quick & easy. I will try to get a room at this hotel whenever my wife and I visit Washington in future. I cannot imagine better, especially for the price!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your five star review! We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff and efficient service, your spacious and comfortable suite, and our great location. We are happy you feel that you received full value for your money in a wonderful hotel. Our guest’s satisfaction is the best reward we can earn. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Great spot

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Beautiful building in a nice part of town & excellent staff. I always appreciate free wifi too.
Cons: My room was looking like its best times were behind it - just needs sprucing up.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby. Even the White House and National Mall are walkable (30 min) but the Metro is quite close too. Good restaurants.
The Churchill was a great place to stay, in a lovely neighbourhood close to the Dupont Circle, restaurants, and walkable to many DC attractions. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. I'd absolutely stay there again when next visiting the city. That said, my room was a bit dated and leaning toward shabby: wallpaper curling at the corners, a toilet that needed flushing twice, and a bathroom window that didn't seal completely. These are very forgivable things when balanced against everything else but I think Management might want to invest in an upgrade.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff and our convenient location. Our guest's comfort and satisfaction are very important to us; therefore, our hotel is undergoing major restorations beginning next month. We are looking forward to seeing you again!. Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, location & price

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Location, price & amenities
Booked this hotel because it is close to where a family member lives and I was very pleased with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent accommodations and great price

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Stayed for Thanksgiving, visiting my daughter who lives nearby. Staff let me check in early, helped me with info about the local area. I plan to stay here again when I visit my daughter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your five star review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff and our convenient location. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

I love this place!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We were checking in & out of the Churchill several times over a 10 day period. The staff was so accommodating, storing our heavy luggage while we took overnight trips away. I lost my phone charger & they had one I could borrow during my stay. On 2 of our stays, we got complimentary upgrades. The bar is fun for a drink & cozy for morning coffee. The rooms were elegant & very clean, beds wonderful. Great black out curtains & soundproof windows insured a peaceful quiet nights sleep. The staff from check in, to bar, to parking attendanr went over & above. I really really loved this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Laura, Thank you for your positive review. We strive to provide outstanding customer service along with the great accommodations that we offer at The Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. Your satisfaction is our team's best motivation! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Noori Janjani General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottesville, VA

Great Experience

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Staff, location and room size
We have stayed at this property several times and always find it an excellent choice. It is within walking distance of the DuPont Circle Metro station and many great shops and restaurants. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again and again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Allen, Thank you for being such a loyal guest! We are very pleased that you enjoy our friendly staff and our convenient location. Our guest’s satisfaction is the best reward. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Perfect for nearby conference and sightseeing

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: The staff, spacious, clean rooms, and location.
Cons: Service in the lounge and restaurant. On two occasions we waited for a substantial time for coffee and a pot of tea. We were still expected to tip.
Location: Near great, easy to walk to restaurants. Easy access to metro- a 10 minute walk. Hop on hop off bus just across the road at the Hilton.
Loved the hotel's character. Very friendly staff. Helpful with directions, messages, and ordering taxis. Never failed to recommend great eating places. Always a warm welcome on our return from a day out. Andrew, the night auditor, was fantastic!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Simon, Thank you for your five star review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel’s historic charm and our friendly staff. Our guest’s satisfaction is the best reward we can earn. We are looking forward to seeing you again! Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Lovely, elegant, historic hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The staff went out of their way to ensure our comfort.
Location: Lots of restaurants and shops
The hotel was charming, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the staff was incredibly helpful. The neighborhood was lovely with a pleasant walk to the DuPont Circle metro stop. And the food in the restaurant was reasonable and really good. An absolutely wonderful hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by Anna, Hotel Management
Dear Cheryl, Thank you for your five star review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our friendly staff, your spacious and comfortable suite, and our great location. By the title of your review, we're happy you feel you received full value for your money in a wonderful hotel. We are looking forward to seeing you again whenever you're in town! Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager