Ratings based on 2,232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide Australia

Good location

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: The food in the hotel was surprisingly good at a reasonable price.
Cons: Include tea mking facility in room with mugs rather than paper cups. Coffee was provided.
We found the location very handy to the Big bus for hop on off. Also close to Dupont Circle and shopping. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by Asia Moten, Hotel Management
Dear Roger from Australia, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit. I am so glad you and the family had a nice visit. We very much appreciate your complimenting us on our great location to Dupont Circle, great rooms and exceptional staff. Please keep us in mind the next time you are in Washington, D.C.. Best regards, Asia Moten
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southlake, TX

Hotel was in a nice area of Washington D.C.

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Friendliness, nice size room and good location.
Cons: The bathroom was small, but our junior suite was so large it made up for it.
Location: You could walk to Dupont Circle and monuments, etc. were a short cab ride away.
Prior to our trip, we had read some reviews that were not good on one site about the hotel. We were a little reluctant about what we may find upon arrival. Great surprise! Our room was very nice and the staff could not have been more helpful or friendly. Each time we arrived back at the hotel from the valet to the front desk staff, each one would ask how our day was going and if we needed anything. Very pleased with our experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by Asia Moten, Hotel Management
Dear Pat from Southlake, TX, I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us. Thank you for the four star review. It is always amazing to hear that a guest experience exceeded their expectations. We take pride in our awesome staff here and are happy that you experienced that as well. I will make sure to pass along your compliments to my associates. We hope to serve as your hosts the next time you are in Washington, D.C. Best regards, Asia Moten(Sales)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very comfortable

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable. Valet parking.
Very helpful staff. Comfortable bed. Large room
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 15, 2014 by Asia Moten, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your 5 star review! We very much appreciate your complimenting us on our exceptional staff and our comfortable and spacious accommodations. We would be honored to serve as your host, next time you are in Washington,D.C.. Warm Regards Asia Moten
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Close to Metro

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Older hotel. Great area. Walk to Metro easily. Room was clean and comfortable. We had a very enjoyable stay. Hotel staff was very cheerful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Super nice hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: everything in general but the room was super
Cons: nothing
I was pleasantly surprise to find such a nice hotel, the room was super nice and the hotel staff was very helpful and polite. will definitely try to stay there in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 7, 2014 by Asia Moten, Hotel Management
Dear Janned from Connecticut, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for posting a review from your visit. I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your complimenting us on our great rooms and exceptional. It's gratifying to read your review. I will be sure to pass your compliments on to the team. We look forward to serving as your hosts again very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good deal, nice hotel.

Posted Oct 3, 2014
The Churchill is a beautiful, boutique, old style hotel. Staff are pleasant, courteous, and attentive. The only drawback was the dated tile in the bathroom. Everything else was wonderful. Got a great, last minute deal to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2014 by Asia Moten, Hotel Management
Dear traveler, We strive on hearing feedback from our guests and appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay went. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful experience! We take pride in our awesome staff here from front desk, restaurant, housekeeping, room service and are happy that you experienced that as well. I will make sure to pass along your compliments to my associates. I am sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction with the dated bathroom tile. I will be sure to communicate your concerns to the management team. The hotel will undergo a multi-million dollar renovation this time next year. We hope to welcome you back shortly after to enjoy that exciting time at the hotel. If you need anything please do not hesitate to contact me via the information listed below. Warm regards, Asia Moten asia.moten@thechurchillhotel.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Character and Class Near DuPont Circle

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: Big rooms, great location, fabulous staff.
Cons: See review above.
Location: Near DuPont Circle with LOTS of restaurants nearby. A few blocks walking to Embassy Row. A long walk or short cab to White House, Capitol, Smithsonian
The Churchill is a stately older hotel with with real character. The architecture both inside and out is ornate and beautiful and the rooms are large and interesting. This is my second stay, and the rooms feature a large bedroom area, including plenty of room for large sitting chairs and this time around, a small sleep sofa. The WC and shower are separate from the dressing area. And there is also a separate large alcove space that has a desk and separate furniture with the fridge and room safe. The staff is exceptionally personable. They always greet me when I come and go through the lobby and they are very quick to grant any request. The bar is small and intimate, but perfect for a quick refresher drink after a day out on business or sightseeing. A couple of things I would like to see improved - the elevators are small and slow. There is no night light on the bathroom switch, so if you want a bathroom light left on all night, it's all or none and the lighting is very bright. The room safe is a bit small - big enough for an ipad, but not for a normal sized notebook computer. The air conditioning could be stronger - we had it set to 60 degrees throughout our stay and it was OK, but not great. Finally, it takes quite a while for the water to get hot in the shower. All in all, I really enjoy this property and its location. I stayed across the street at the Hilton once - very big and impersonal with no real character or interest. I very much prefer this property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Nice hotel.
I have experience in your hotel. I liked it. Would you please sent me the invoice by email, Thank you very much for your attention.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mobile, AL

Very nice hotel, close to a great part of town!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Old hotel architecture, staff, location.
Cons: As mentioned above, creaking floorboards, slow elevator. Surprisingly not a huge deal considering how many floors the hotel has, though.
Location: Tons of restaurants (eclectic, lots of variety), shopping, the Metro. The Washington monument and surrounding sites were 2.4 miles away, an easy walk
The hotel was fantastic! It is an older hotel, and I think they could have done more (in some cases) with the remodel, because I felt like they covered up some of the great architecture, and didn't fix some small things (like wallpaper at baseboards in the bathrooms, and creaking floorboards that were obviously original to the hotel under the carpets, paint on hand carved wood, etc.). However, those items were very minor, and I was looking for them. Overall, the hotel was extremely comfortable (we stayed 4 nights), and surprisingly quiet except for the occasional taxi honking on the street down below (my sound machine app on my phone easily took care of that at night and I never heard them, although a co-worker without one in another room did). The staff were friendly and superb, and the dining staff in the restaurant were fabulous!! Ask for Victor. The location is great for tons of restaurants and sight seeing. When I go back, I will be staying here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Posted Sep 16, 2014
I was able to check-in early and was upgraded to junior suite, which was a beautiful room! The Churchill has the vintage charm of an old hotel while still having great modern efficiencies.