Ratings based on 2,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

short ride to downtown DC

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Excellent staff and great food at hotel restaurant. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Only complaint would be the bed -- somewhat uncomfortable for me. Sofabed good for children, not adults. Overall, great stay and would recommend to all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gaby from New York, N.Y

Nice but Hot

Posted Apr 17, 2014
The hotel was very nice and very clean. The staff was really nice and the location of the hotel was very close to restaurants, malls and historic sites. My only complaint was that the A.C did not seem to be working and was having the opposite affect. The room was very hot, to a point of discomfort. because we only stayed one night we didn't bother to call anyone about it but I'm sure they would have been very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Churchill was very Prime

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: location was nice
Location: We could get down to the plaza in no time
The hotel was well located and very easy to find.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short break

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Not a chain so you don't know what to expect. Old build that was converted some time ago.
Cons: Reception/bar opening times
Location: Plenty. Shortish walk to underground
Very disappointing to find a hotel in a major city where the reception and bar close at 23:00 on a Saturday night. Thought this was a thing of low quality hotels in the 70's. But it was night decorated with a quality feel. Quiet location with restaurants and a couple of bars not too far away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Every thing was nice. The room decor was excellent Will use them again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tod

Sort DC Stay

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Nice place Wonderful staff! The Bellboy parked my car and helped me avoid the substantial paking fee. Good location if you don't mind a little public transportation Very good place!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historical but not up to date...can do better

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Proximity to cafes and restaurants on street
Cons: Dont have people's room right next to parking lot. If so it should be discounted, quite annoying
I understand the historical nature of the building but the rooms need to be modernized Unfortunately my room was located right next to the parking lot so all throughout the night I would hear people walking up & down stairs and cars being cut on Carpet need to be shampooed or replaced. Prior to shower I was walking around in beige socks and noticed that soles of socks were dark The elevator machine room also made a lot of noise Bed was roomy and comfortable At the end of stay I paid for my parking service with cash and a week later the charges are still reflected in my bank account in pending I would rate it 2.75 out of 5.0 for the amount of money spent for one night. Survey is rounded up to 3.0
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Catherine from Columbus, Ohio

Charming Hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: The parking, though expensive, made arriving by car so easy, and the staff was extremely helpful.
Cons: The hotel restaurant and/or room service should offer kid-friendly options, or at least be willing to accommodate pickier eaters.
Location: It's a nice, safe area several blocks from DuPont Circle. Other than a longer walk than we expected, getting to DuPont Circle was easy!
The Churchill exceeded expectations as far as room size, comfort, and staff. It is a charming older hotel, probably not the best choice if you crave modern decor, but it has been updated nicely. We had a wonderful stay! However, we were traveling with 3 children and struggled with the location of the hotel. It was difficult to find kid-friendly restaurants either in the hotel or very close-by, and the longer than expected uphill walk back "home" each day from the Metro was challenging. We will definitely return to this hotel when we travel as a couple or when our children are not as small.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dawn from Long Lake, MN

Great hotel centrally located

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Quaint hotel. Rooms are large and include small refrigerators. The beds are really comfortable. The hotel is walking distance to everything including great restaurants. This is the second time we have stayed here and both times were a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ATraveller from Palo Alto, CA

Excellent Location in Dupont Circle

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: It had a lovely historic charm just like the embassy row buildings around it and free wi-fi.
Cons: Hot water being easier to get.
Location: Bistro du Coin was our favorite nearby restaurant and the dulce de leche latte at Dolcezza was delish. Very close to Phillips Collection!
I was in DC for 4 days in late March and stayed at this convenient hotel. I love historic hotels and this one didn't disappoint. The best thing was the great location, very close to the Dupont Circle metro, fantastic restaurants and the Phillips Collection. It was great to walk around Embassy Row and sightsee. The maids were especially friendly and the room was very clean. They also were able to check us in early which was a godsend after our sleepless red-eye from CA. The only minus was that it took a really long time for the pipes to warm up to get hot water in the shower. Other than that it was a great experience.