Ratings based on 2,498 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom japan

気楽に泊まれる品の良いホテル

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: 品の良いパーソナルなサービス。
Cons: 特になし
Location: デュポンサークルから徒歩5~10分
大きすぎなくて気楽にリラックスできるホテルです。 スタッフも気さくで、親切、そしてきびきびと サービスして素晴らしかったです。 立地もデュポンサークルまで徒歩5~10分くらいで徒歩圏内です。 過去に何回もワシントンには滞在してますが、最も快適なホテルの一つです。 大きなホテルと色々な 施設が必要な方には物足らないかもしれません。 品の良いパーソナルなサービスが好みの方には お奨めです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton, MA

My new favorite stay

Posted Apr 18, 2015
Pros: Away from the Ntl. Mall scene. Quiet neighborhood walks, local restaurants. Near the Phillips Museum.
Cons: Wish there was a heat lamp in the bathroom.
Location: Restaurant recommendations on CT Ave. Alegro (Mexican, noisy/great food). Tomate (Italian, delicious, beautiful). Dolcezza Gelato,Excellent
Quiet. 10 min. walk to Dupont Circle Metro (slight uphill on the way back). Best for adults traveling without children. I actually LIKE that here's NO wall of brochures/NO concierge/NO newspaper, although the staff was professional, attentive, helpful. I do my itinerary planning on-line, collecting a minimum of paper trash.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Centrally located historic hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, dining, decor
Cons: Parking, bathrooms
Location: Close to Adams Morgan, sightseeing
Great staff, check-in process was pleasant, and the on site dining was convenient. The hotel itself is historic and nicely decorated; rooms are spacious, although the bathrooms could be updated. Very thin walls! The parking situation would be difficult for those intending to park on site. I would choose to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Nice older hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Pros: I was upgraded to a junior suite which was spacious. The front desk staff were very nice.
Cons: Add a small shop to buy water, pop, and snacks. Also there was no hotel or area directory in my room and I did not notice any maps or information.
Location: It is pretty far from the mall and all the Smithsonians. If you are interested Georgetown, it's not too far.
I stayed at the Churchill for one night at the end of my trip because I wanted to see and be closer to the National Cathedral. While the revues stated that the Cathedral is about 1 1/2 miles away and a fifteen minute walk, this is not true. It is at the least a fifteen minute drive. Make sure that you take a metered cab there. When I arrived, my room was not ready yet (I was early) and so I checked my luggage and went outside to hail a cab. The hotel attendant outside directed me to a man with a car who he obviously knew and said that he would drive me there. On the way, I realized that I was not in a cab. When we got to the Cathedral he charged $15.00 which seemed like a lot. On the way back, I took a regular metered cab. (Not easy to find.) The fare was under $9.00. The man who drove me was still outside the hotel. I confronted him about the difference in fares and he did return the difference to me, but another person might not be so lucky. The hotel was old, but pleasant. My one complaint is that there is no store to buy water or anything else. There was no pop machine and my floor did not have an ice maker. For a night or two it is OK but I would not recommend it for families with kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2015 by Anya, Hotel Management
Dear Iz, Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at The Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences that took place during your stay. I am glad to hear that the situation with the taxi service got resolved on the spot. The Hotel Directory Books are currently being updated and will return to the rooms soon. Meanwhile, our front desk staff is willing to provide guests with information and directions to any sites and attractions in the city depending on their needs and interests. We hope you will give us another chance in the future. Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Nice older hotel. Great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2015
Very pleasant stay. Location couldn't have been more ideal.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom L.

Mediocre Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Was disappointed I this historic hotel that lacked charm; it just seemed old. the bathroom was tiny and difficult to manage. Peeling wallpaper and chipped paint was just depressing. There was more hall space in the room than usable living space. Also-after a long day of seeing sights, a long uphill walk from the Metro sucked! Nice staff but I can't recommend the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2015 by Anya, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at The Churchill Hotel. Your opinion is very important to us and we are sorry to hear that The Churchill did not live up to your expectations. Our hotel is undergoing major renovations this year and we hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Kind Regards, Noori Janjani, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saint Petersburg, FL

Nice hotel right accross the office I had to be

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Comfort, location, background
Cons: The lifts, may be. They could be more modern and faster.
Location: Like I said, I had the office I had to attend accross the street. Then I was able to walk and taking the Metro and run around the District.
Beautiful place, historic hotel. it's just what I wanted in DC after living there for 6 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Washington DC weekend

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Vintage charm, location
Cons: Touch ups on the wallpaper, adding an additional mirror in bath , get more microwaves. Even though I requested a microwave in advance, they were out.
Location: Directly across from Washington Hilton, and the BigBus stop. Many restaurants and shops. Dupont Circle metro stop is not too far away.
We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Churchill. The hotel is old so with that comes the charm and character of the old building. However although it has been updated, the wallpaper is starting to lift from the wall in some places. The corners of the walls are not even and you can see old caulking piled up in some crevices. This being an old building, the hallway is narrow. I heard that the hotel was renovated in the past few years. Unfortunately it seems like it was a rush job. A fitness room and free basic (meaning slow) wifi are available. There is an option to upgrade for a fee. There is also a restaurant but we did not eat there. We had the jr suite and the room size was generous. The fridge, and table were located in a another room. We also like that the sink was separated from the tub and toilet room. However I wished there was an additional mirror placed above the sink so that two people could use it. I really liked the location and charm of the hotel. I am very open to staying at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

nice hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The location is great - close to the red metro line and several bars/restaurants/shops. The hotel restaurant is great too, and the staff are friendly
Cons: The central AC/heat system were a major problem for us, our room was at 75F and stayed that way throughout the entire trip
Location: The hotel is walking distance to Adams Morgan and Dupont Circle, and an easy metro ride to the White House, museums etc
This hotel was great, I was staying there on a business trip and had no issues. The central AC/Heat system was a problem though - it was consistently too hot in my room and there was nothing they could do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ohio

Great hotel near beautiful Embassy's

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: The staff
Cons: Control of the temperatures and updating the bathroom
Location: Surrounded by great restaurants and bars and 3 blocks from the Metro
This hotel was very beautiful and historic. We had no bad experience except that the bar/dining area was very hot! They upgraded our room because we flew in early, they met all of our calls and needs, and were very helpful. The hotel is near a lot of beautiful Embassy's, Dupont Circle, 3 blocks from the Metro and surrounded by great bars and retaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2015 by Anya, Hotel Management
Dear Deanna, Thank you for taking your time to review your recent stay at The Churchill Embassy Row Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our hotel’s historic charm, friendly staff and convenient location. I am very sorry for the discomfort you experienced during dining. I hope you addressed this inconvenience to our staff members so they could take care of it. We hope to see you again in the future! Kind Regards, Noori Janjani General Manager