Ratings based on 1,542 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average and NOT great by any means...

Posted Jan 20, 2015
If you are planning on eating at the hotel's restaurant, please make sure that you are either NOT hungry or have about 250 dollars a person to spare. Their portions are ridiculously small even for European standards. I am also 5 feet 11 inches and weigh 168 pounds. While I understand that the theme is Asian infused nouvelle cuisine, there's no justifiable reason my partner and I were left hungry after spending 137 dollars in just food items (no drinks included in this tab). The hotel itself is okay but nothing wow. It claims to be newly renovated but the term newly has been loosely applied. I would not return as I was not impressed. Plenty of far superior places to stay and dine in DC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in a great location!

Posted Jan 19, 2015
This hotel is perfectly located in downtown DC. We were disappointed that when we checked in our room was not ready, but we were in time for complimentary wine hour in the lobby so we enjoyed ourselves there until our room was ready for us to go upstairs. The staff was friendly and helpful and the rooms are very comfortable!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom K st. Washington, DC

Great stay

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Great stay, great staff, room is better looking in person. The bar closed early and a little stingy on the washclothes but overall excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aust.

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 11, 2015
An impressive hotel. The room was very comfortable and spacious. Loved the design snd colours tok. The shower was funky looking and user friendly too. Loved that they had a happy hour in the lobby, the hot cider with a shot went down really well after some really cold temps outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Short Hills, NJ

A great experience

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Pretty much everything, but the standout was the reception and door staff: the best I've experienced in years!
Cons: The heating/ air-conditioning was too efficient (I'm struggling to find a criticism!).
Location: Walking distance to everything: museums, White House, fine and casual dining
We spent a week at the Donovan House at the beginning of January 2015. On arrival the reception staff were warm, welcoming and very efficient - absolutely top class. Our room was spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable. This is a boutique hotel so dining options, etc., are limited; however there are many restaurants and cafes within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The rooms were not your typical hotel room. The design was awesome
Excellant location. Not your "ordinary" hotel! Loved the lobby decor as well as the nightly meet and great over wine
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new york

Perfect for a girls weekend and time with your boo

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The hotel was so nice and dinner there was so lovely. My only complaint is that it took forever for room service to accommodate our needs. Literally took 1 1/2 hours to recieve ice and a menus to order food, that we eventually left the hotel to get food else where. Other than that, this place was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fairfax, VA

New Year's Eve Stay

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: The happy hour is great. The staff is helpful and nice. The rooftop was closed for the season, but generally a great place to hang out.
Cons: Upgrade the rooms, walls, appearance, in room amenities. The elevators are painfully slow too.
Location: Great location. Metro accessible with a 5 minutes walk. Right by Logan Circle and the wonderful K Street area.
I expected more staying at the Donovan House. Location is great and the staff was nice. They even have a nice free happy hour from 5-6 that included sushi, but overall wasn't too pleased with the hotel. Outside of the lobby, it looks as if it's an old hotel that one simply applied new paint too. Room's are small, but I've seen worse. TV was big, but HBO and the remote weren't completely working. The room doesn't have a coffee maker (called and got one) and if you want ice, you have to call for them to bring. That takes a fair amount of time, as we actually ordered a pizza from a local restaurant and it arrived before the ice. I will hang out at the Donovan again (happy hour, rooftop), but not stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Pros: location and hotel is modern
Cons: better tv channels
Location: right dowtown
great location and nice hotel... i am very impresssed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, QC

Modern refreshing design and awesome staff!

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Constant smiles and great service from the staff. Awesome design inside, very refreshing versus classic beige boring hotel style.