Ratings based on 1,318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Hotel staff 5 star /hotel facilities 3 star

Posted Aug 24, 2014
I booked this hotel as part of Expedia's unpublished rate offer, where the name of the hotel is not identified until after you complete your purchase. The hotel is rated as a 4 four star and I am sure at one time it was but it doesn't appear that the hotel has been kept up. In the room I stayed in caulking around the shower was sloppy - smears and streaks, water stains and cracks in vanity, floor in the elevators were cracked, and lastly the hotel staff used the guest elevators to transport the bins of towels and other items used to clean the room. On a brighter side, the hotel staff were very attentive and friendly. I also like that you must use your hotel key to access your floor HOWEVER I did see a hotel staff person select 2 floors on the elevator key pad as a way of overriding not having a hotel key to access a floor..... so much for feeling secure.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Or

I love the Kimpton Brand...but

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: The staff was excellent
Cons: A lot. Be honest about the pool hours. The pool closes at 5 p.m.....really? When are guests supposed to use it? Also, the pool is minuscule!
I'll just jump to the issues. First, this property seems to have been designed on a motif or theme that the designers didn't actually experience themselves and therefore, the accommodations are just not functional. Examples: the nautilus-shaped shower is quirky at best. It looks cool, but frankly doesn't function very well. Ergonomically it's hard to get in and out of. The water pressure was terrible, it felt more like a light rain in the shower or a drizzle rather than a real shower. The fact that the shower head was directly overhead the light water pressure made the shower experience quite unpleasureable. The chairs in the room looked cool, but that's about the extent of their function. They were actually quite uncomfortable to sit in. That also goes for the cool looking retro style chairs in the lobby. The bed was quite comfortable, but the pillows were so insubstantial and non-supportive they were useless in their function of supporting my head or the head of my partners. When we asked for more firm pillows, there was only one firm pillow IN THE ENTIRE PROPERTY....sad. There are many more examples I could give, but I'm running out of character space. The pool for example was a huge let-down. It's only open during business hours. What if you're there on business and want to relax after the business day? Can't do it. Sad....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Bad rooms

Posted Aug 4, 2014
they tried to push us a bad room next to the swiming pool that was noisy and dirty. Do not go any room on the 14th floor. The hotel was full of kids that made allot of noise!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Modern hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2014
The stay started off strangely because they gave me a key to someone else's room. They quickly made the change and gave me a bowl of fruit and a BIG apology. They have an hour free happy hour each day with two choices of wine and a nice snack! Location is ideal for DC tourists!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Excellent hotel, great location. Had a room with a great view of Thomas square. Would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a very pleasant experience .

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Cons: I could not get the water in the shower warm enough.
Location: The location was good for us. Our activities required using Massachusetts Ave. on a regular basis which was very convenient.
We were very pleased with our experience including valet service, help with our luggage and information from the desk staff. The room was clean, odorless and aesthetically pleasing wIth comfortable bedding.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

Nice hotel in downtown Washington

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Very nice hotel, close to restaurants and Metro in downtown Washington. Very quiet and comfortable. Nice happy hour every evening. Great rooftop bar/pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bronx , ny

Trendy hotel in the heart Washington, D.C.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: I love the decor. Modern and sleek.
Cons: Hotel needs to warn clients that it can be slipper when wet.
Location: The location was very convenient to all.
It's great hotel for trendy folks. It's very clean and friendly staff. Only thing I would point out is to be careful in bathroom. It was very slippery in you are not careful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from London

Excellent hotel in the heart of Washington DC!

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean and very secure. Nice extra touches such as animal print robes, great toiletries and daily 5-6pm wine reception were really nice.
Cons: Nothing really!
Location: Hotel is close to most of DC's top sights; you have to expect to do some walking in the city but we would recommend the hop on/off bus passes.
Stayed here two nights in June 2014 and it was a great experience; exactly what we were hoping for and more. Not sure how long the hotel has been operating but everything about it is clean and of a high standard. Great attentive staff all round. 14th floor roof top pool and bar is an added bonus, considering it is not super expensive to stay here; it's a shame that you can only swim until 5pm, but completely understandable as the roof terrace is a thriving bar in the evenings with great views. Only minor criticism we had was that our room was slightly on the small side, plus there wasn't a bath. However this is quite common in the city (we had just been in Florida, where there's more space), plus we had a basic level room. However the bed was good and the modern shower room was very cool. TV was HUGE.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dollface from Newark, DE

Great Hotel, Great Location, Great Staff

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: EVERYTHING!
Cons: The price of valet
Location: Everything was close, we only drove when we went to see the Martin Luther King Memorial.
I booked my room for my little cousin's birthday. When I initially book my hotel stay, I was happy that they let me have late check-in. Then upon checking into my room, they gave my cousin a complimentary bottle of wine. I especially like the fact that when I let them know that I found a few pieces of hair in my freshly made bed, the manager paid for my valet from the previous night. The whole time I was there, they made sure I was accommodated. I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. It's located conveniently in the middle of everything, the rooftop pool and bar was great, the complimentary wine hour was great, and I will definitely be staying there again. The one complaint with the hair was immediately resolved, so I will not penalize them at all!!!