Ratings based on 692 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: wifi was free; super close to where I needed to be; staff was super friendly
Cons: wifi was a little spotty
business traveler to DC. This was very close to the office I was working in.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom United States of America

Never ever!

Posted Mar 10, 2015
No closet, just a rack on the wall. No iron. TV broken. Across from the breakfast room. No alarm clock. Heater controlled by multiple rooms. Internet connected, but was so slow it was no good. Amenities listed, but not present. No hot water in the morning. Are you still reading this? Run away!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Y

Nice location at a reasonable price

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Good experience at the Embassu Inn. Will come back for sure. Love it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Great location

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Upgrade to flat screen TV's that work properly.
Location: In a nice neighborhood very close to Dupont Circle.
Our rooms were ready upon check-in. I was expecting a small room based on other reviews, but the room was even smaller than I thought it would be. With that being said, it was clean, cozy and comfortable in a boutique style hotel. We were able to easily walk to restaurants, shopping, the white house, U street and the DuPont metro. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again when visiting dc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

DC on a budget.

Posted Mar 2, 2015
The room was super small, but the price and the location were terrific.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2015
i reserved a room with two queen beds and even called the hotel to conform the two beds the day before i arrived. but when i got there, the front desk told me there was no room with two beds and they wanted us to share one queen bed. after some dispute, they just agreed to give us two single rooms, but we have to check out the next day to change back to the room with two beds. so we just spent two nights there, but checked out every morning..... and one of the front desk staff is really uncourteous!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond VA

If price and location are the bottom line

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: The location to DuPont Circle nightlife couldn't be bettered. And the price is usually always right.
Cons: See above. And some of the information on their web site needs to be updated; parking fee has increased and there is no complimentary breakfast.
Everything about this hotel is just OK. It is actually a quant converted home with lots of charm. It has been renovated into smallish rooms with little amenities. Bathroom was actually quite nice, though small. Our room had no real coat closet to speak of, and no chest of drawers. There is free wi fi and a flat screen TV. Free coffee in the lobby, nothing in the rooms. The worst offenders in the room were the (very new) air handling unit, on which the fan kept turning itself (loudly) on and off as long as it was in heat mode, and a very cheap mattress. Linens were ok and all clean as could be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

Small room

Posted Feb 12, 2015
My room was small and the blinds on the windows had always to be shut to prevent tenants in adjacent building from staring at me. Water pressure in shower is weak. Receptionists are cold and hardly smiled. Apart from that, the location is good and close to fine restaurants and DuPont Circle.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nürnberg, Bayern

Abgewohntes Hotel in sehr guter Lage

Posted Feb 12, 2015
Pros: Die Lage
Cons: Das Mobiliar sollte besser gepflegt werden und auch die Heizsituation sollte im Winter verbessert werden.
Location: 16th Street NW , viele Cafés und Restaurants befinden sich in der 17th Street NW. Nicht weit entfernt liegt die Metrostation Dupont Circle.
Ich musste zweimal das Zimmer wechseln. Bei der Ankunft musste ich unterschreiben dass ich bei Schäden dafür haftbar gemacht werden kann, was an sich ja in Ordnung ist. Jedoch war das erste Zimmer in einem dermaßen schlechten Zustand (alle Griffe an der Kommode waren herausgebrochen, die Wände waren beschädigt) dass ich mich geweigert habe darin zu wohnen. Vor allem, da ich 12 Tage gebucht hatte und ich im Keller mit Blick auf die Mülltonnen untergebracht war. Heizung oder Heizlüfter haben auch gefehlt. Das zweite Zimmer war im 4.Stock. Es war größer und nicht ganz so abgewohnt. Jedoch befand sich nur eine kleine elektrische Heizung in dem Zimmer, die auch noch schief mitten im Zimmer stand und es nicht schaffte das Zimmer aufzuheizen. Bei Minusgraden sollte man das zumindest erwarten dürfen. Die Fenster konnte man zwar nicht öffnen, jedoch kamen durch die Schlitze genug kalte Luft. Und sowohl am Fenster als auch im Bad war Schimmel! Die Dusche wurde auch nach 30 Minuten nicht warm und da auch die Heizung nichts zum Wohlfühlklima beitrug, versuchte ich mich mit dem Fön aufzuwärmen. Das verursachte jedoch nach zwei Minuten Betrieb einen Kurzschluss im ganzen Zimmer. Der informierte Rezeptionist sagte dass er sich das mal anschauen wollte, kam jedoch nicht und informierte auch keinen seiner Kollegen. Am nächsten Morgen musste ich also die ganze Geschichte nocheinmal vorbringen und konnte in den 5. Stock umziehen. Das Zimmer hier wies keinen Schimmel auf und war warm.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom california

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Umm,.. The carpet seemed clean and stone tile in the bathroom
Cons: Can't type all that needs improvement with only 150 character limit,
Location: Off a main thoroughfares,.. Busy traffic,.. A market is about 1/2 mile away but nowhere to park. It's worse than New York!
Must be let in with a buzzer if the staff is behind the desk to let you in,.. Until then sit at the door like a dog and freeze in the wind and weather,.. like u r in the Bronx or something. Smallest rooms I have ever stayed in . You can only park on the curb,.. There is no parking lot. 1 caraf of coffee for the whole hotel,.. Always out when I went for a cup. Mostly international guests,.. If this is your portrait of American hospitalit it is lacking. Even the hotels I stayed in when visiting London were bigger! (That is not a complement)