Ratings based on 707 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basically a hostel

Posted Apr 25, 2015
I don't ask for much but this hotel is a dump. They tried to give me a basement room next to the laundry center. The shower was a tiny, concrete triangle. Also not close to metro center, about a 20 minute walk. You get what you pay for.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom S

Good location

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Paid for a king-size room and was given a tiny room with a double bed and no closets. Then was transferred to room with king size bed but still very small. Next-door was housekeeping which was very loud early in the morning. Would not recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2015
Pros: It was inexpensive and the neighborhood is nice
Cons: Attitude of the front desk people. More flat surfaces/hooks/storage in rooms.
Location: On bus line. 1 mile from White House. Good restaurants nearby.
Got an Expedia package and chose this hotel. I read the reviews and was somewhat prepared for what we got. The rug is dirty as you walk in, the rooms are small. There are few surfaces on which to place anything - none in the bathroom. No bureau, one small box closet that was placed in the room (not in wall). Best: The beds were pretty firm and sheets were decent. Worst: It took ten minutes for the water to get hot in the shower. If you want a plate or fork, either bring it or borrow it from the "breakfast" room open from 7-9 am (locked after that.) We had cheese and crackers but had to eat them hand to mouth. When I asked the guy at the front desk for an extra plastic ice bucket, he said no. The location is good, although I would rather be on the metro line instead of the bus line as it gets you more places. It is a budget hotel, but not providing an extra plastic ice bucket seems unnecessarily cheap. It would have made me review the place better. I would only very cautiously recommend this hotel. Expect no luxuries.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Room was a bit small for three people and the wifi was not consistent. Room was kept very clean and staff overall were very helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oh

Hotel room is small but cheap.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Cheap.
It's ok. Cheap when compare to the other hotel during cherryblossom week.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable and well located basic hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Price and location.
Cons: Noise reduction
Location: Quite a few cool places on U Street and down on 19th and 14th street.
The walls are paper thin and the door bell is super loud, but if you turn on the fan you'll hear none of it! This is a basic, no frills hotel. It is a 12 minute walk from U Street metro station, which takes you straight to the airport in under 30 minutes. Not a romantic nook, but if you don't plan on spending a lot of time inside, it does the job.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Highly Recommended Tourist Class Hotel

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: The 16th Street neighbohood is safe and upscale, with lots of nice apartments, condos, churches, and embassies.
Location: There are dozens and dozens of restaurants (of all kinds) within a fifteen minute walk. There is a Safeway and a Whole Foods within two blocks.
This is a budget tourist class hotel, but that is exactly what I was looking for. It is in an up-scale neighborhood only a fifteen minute walk to the Whitehouse, Dupont Square, and U Street. My room was small, but cozy and comfortable, and spotlessly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. Considering how expensive DC hotels are, I thought the Embassy Inn was an exceptional value.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Milwaukee, WI

Good price, poor beds

Posted Apr 6, 2015
First room was tiny with a creaky lumpy mattress. We asked for another room and they gave us one that was better. A bit larger and the mattress was acceptable. Both rooms had a single queen bed. The location is good, a 5 min walk to the DuPont Circle Metro station. Lots of restaurants in the area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just okay

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: update beds and look into rooms (windows/carpets)
Location: restaurants were close by....was a plus...
Inn is a bit old and needs updating. We had a front room and heard all the traffic on 16th street. The windows were not insulated and quite drafty. They did supply an electric heater. The bed was as hard as a rock; very uncomfortable. However the room was clean and location accommodated our needs. The deal price was inviting which made us book. The staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Boutique hotel with few extras

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: Location, with restaurants, stores, and bus stops closely located. It is within walking distance of the subway and taxis pass frequently.
Cons: Updates to hotel would be nice. If you are wanting a spacious room, best look elsewhere
Location: Restaurants galore; great older Dupont neighbor to stroll through.
This boutique hotel is well located, but the room was claustrophobically tiny, making it rather uncomfortable for 3 adults and a teen. The in-window heater unit was loud and older. The furniture, carpeting, and walls are showing some wear, and the rooms are very basically decorated. The hotel has pulled its advertised continental breakfast, and now advertises a five dollar per person charge, for bagels and such, apparently. They did not have it available, so I am assuming that it is not requested. Coffee and tea are (inconsistently) available in the lobby area; very basic, and usually warm with a nearby microwave. There are unavoidable stairs upon entering which could pose a problem for differently-abled folks. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the very firm beds were surprisingly comfortable. The tiny bathroom did not even have any counter space, but it was attractively tiled and fresh-looking, with ample hot water for four long showers! We knew that we would spend very little time in the room, and we did know that we were getting basic accommodations. DC lodging was quite pricey in general during this spring break time, and we did enjoy our trip immensely. I would stay here again, sans offspring, perhaps.