Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from upstate, NY

Okay solely for a place to stay.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
It wasn't horrible but wasn't great. The pool was only open 2-8. It smelled a little, especially in the halls. The rooms were nice, especially if you're staying for a while. The kitchenette would be handy. The hair dryer was broke you had to hold the on button down to keep it on. I personally don't think I'd stay there again, but it wasn't terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We apologize that you experienced an unpleasant odor and that your hair dryer wasn't functioning properly. We will review your feedback with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure our hotel always smells fresh and that everything is functioning correctly. Thank you again for your review. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mandurah Australia

Nice hotel, friendly staff,

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: Convenient location to highway to Washington DC
Cons: Maybe the airconditioning unit needs upgrading
Location: Fair Oaks Mall, 20 mins driving to downtown Washington DC
Lovely staff, very helpful. Hotel close driving distance to Fair Oaks Mall. Free parking on site. Swimming pool. Quiet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that the AC unit in your room was not functioning properly. We will be sure to have our maintenance engineer inspect your room to ensure that everything is functioning properly. Still, I am so glad to read you had a positive stay overall. I truly appreciate your kind comments about our accommodating staff. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Excellent benefit for the cost

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: The kitchen facilities
Cons: Rugs in the hallway could be cleaned
Location: Near to downtown Fairfax
I loved the kitchenette, with stove and refrigerator and having the hotel provide dishes and pans. One of the burners did not work. I told the manager, and it was fixed before the end of the day. The breakfast did not have any protein, but I could cook my own eggs! Pleasant, quiet, a nice overall experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 23, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such positive comments about our hotel. I am so glad to read that you were pleased with our fully equipped kitchens and our pleasant and quiet rooms. Thank you again for sharing your comments with us. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Byeong Kwan from Fairfax, VA

Very clean, but No cooking supply in the room.

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean, but No cooking supply in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. I sincerely apologize that you were not informed about our new kitchen equipment policy. Utensils are no longer kept in guest rooms for sanitary reasons and are available upon request at the front desk. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will coach them to make sure your experience is not repeated. Thank you very much for bringing this to our attention. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Europe

Never go there!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
This was a night I hope to never experience again. Even though we booked a nonsmoking room, when we got there we were told there were only smoking rooms. After we turned to leave , a non smoking room was miraculously found. Turned out someone took off the smoke detectors and smoked there, so the room still smelled badly. In fact, the whole hotel smelled awful. The facility was dirty, the room shabby. The bed spreads looked dirty and the covers were ripped and torn. The dresser drawers were dirty and broken, the closet door stuck which rendered the closer unusable. The bathroom was filthy. And everything smelled bad... The TV remote didn't work, and though the front desk clerk said he'd come soon, he never showed up! This was the most unpleasant night we've had in a long time!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The issues with the smoke odor in your non-smoking room as well as the lack of service from my staff that you have described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have met with my team to review our customer service standards and to ensure that we are following up on guest requests. As well, we will be working to better monitor our non-smoking rooms for smoke odors moving forward to prevent your experience from being repeated. I also regret to read that the condition and cleanliness of your room was not up to standard. I will be reviewing our cleanliness and inspection standards with my staff to ensure that this does not happen again. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Melin from Tampa,florida

GREAT STAY!

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
Very clean. Good area. No noise in hallway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
The staff and I read your review, and would like to thank you for writing such nice comments about the hotel. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness, location and quietness of the hotel. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay, not great

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: location,kitchen, pool, outdoor barbeque grill
Cons: basic room supplies and housekeeping
Location: close to supermarkets, shopping centers and airport
This is a good place if you really need a kitchen to save on the cost of eating out. However, the once-a-week housecleaning that extended stayers get was disappointing (it was not even up to par with the daily housekeeping services of a standard hotel). We kept having to request basic items (toilet paper, dishwashing detergent, dry towels, etc.) from the front desk staff. They could just provide a more ample supply for long-term guests at the start of the visits. The coin-operated laundry facilities, complete with lack of change machines, add another unpleasant touch.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
We want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our fully equipped kitchens and amenities; however, we are disappointed to hear that our housekeeping services didn't meet your expectations and that you were not informed that you could get change at the front desk. We will review your comments with our housekeeping staff and make sure that each room is cleaned to our standards. We will also ensure our staff is fully informing our guests of our available amenities during check-in. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Peggy from Severna Park, MD

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels
No complaints at all about the hotel. If staying in this area and using Extended Stay, make sure you get good directions. There are more than one Extended Stays in Fairfax. I went to 2 before I finally found the one my reservation was at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Peggy - Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are sorry that you had difficulty finding us, but are glad that you had a nice stay once you did! Thank you again for your feedback. We would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

CLOSE TO METRO STATION

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: THE HOTEL WAS CLOSE TO A SHOPPING MALL, CLOSE TO SEVERAL RESTAURANTS, AND JUST A SHORT DRIVE TO THE METRO STATION.
Cons: THE ROOMS NEED TO BE CLEANED! NOT JUST VACUUMED AND FRESH LINENS, THEY NEED TO BE SCRUBBED.
Location: SHOPPING MALL AND RESTAURANTS
THE HOTEL STAFF WAS VERY HELPFUL. THE HOTEL IN GENERAL HAD A TERRIBLE SMELL. THE SMELL WAS NOT AS BAD IN OUR ROOM AS IT WAS IN THE HALLWAYS. I HAD TO PURCHASE SOME CLOROX CLEANUP BEFORE USING ANY OF THE BATHROOM DRAWERS ..... THEY WERE NASTY, BUT CLEANED UP FINE. THE BATHROOM FLOOR WAS ALSO NASTY .... OVERALL THE WHOLE ROOM LOOKED LIKE IT NEEDED A GOOD CLEANING. THE BATHROOM AND KITCHEN SINK BOTH DRIPPED ..... VERY ANNOYING WHILE TRYING TO SLEEP. THE LARGE SCREEN TV WAS NICE, BUT IN A VERY BAD LOCATION. YOU COULD ONLY SEE THE TV IF YOU WERE SITTING ON THE COUCH, OR ON THE BED. IT COULD NOT BE SEEN FROM BOTH LOCATIONS AT ONCE -- THERE WERE TOO MANY OF US TO ALL SIT COMFORTABLY AT ONE LOCATION. OVERALL, WE WERE VERY DISAPPOINTED WITH THE HOTEL.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described regarding the the cleanliness and overall condition of your room is unacceptable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have reviewed cleanliness standards with my housekeeping staff to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well, I will speak with my maintenance engineer about the leaks on the faucets in your room to ensure that those are repaired. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.