Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento,CA

Good Hotel with a old world charm

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Clean well lit nicely laid out hotel. Work out room.
Cons: The Bathroom size.
Location: It's close to the Metro Subway station that can take you to Downtown Washington DC and to the Regan DCA airport in a short time. the shuttle to the NI
I like this hotel it has a old world charm to it. The only drawback is the small bathrooms. The bathroom size would be good if your a smurf. Small toilet area and shower. Otherwise its a really nice place. It's close to the Metro Subway station that can take you to Downtown Washington DC and to the Regan DCA airport in a short time. the shuttle to the NIH stops there. Also it is near a few good places to eat and get food like Chapolte and Safeway.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loud unit on and off all night long

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Staff very friendly. Halls dingy. Room seemed fine, quaint, on first glance. But heater/AC unit extremely noisy, rattling and it cut off and on repeatedly, very loudly all night long. Woman faking it I could hear through the walls was the same. Thought I was mistakenly in a brothel or hotel by the hour. Wreaked my sleep. Caused unsettling as-you-wake dreams.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SC

Loved it!

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Clean, excellent upkeep, good prices, walking distance to good restaurants and bars.
Cons: The continental breakfast was quite disappointing. We ended up quickly finding another place to eat prior to catching my flight.
Clean with excellent upkeep. Great location for what we needed. Very reasonable price. Within walking distance to fantastic restaurants and fun bars. Only one complaint--the not-so-fantastic continental breakfast. Luckily there were some breakfast places close by we could quickly walk to prior to catching our flight. I would definitely stay there again...with just a little more planning ahead for assuring a good breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Europe

Comfortable well located hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Very convenient location for getting to the NIH, Wash DC and dining.
Cons: Free transportation to the NIH which was provided in the past.
Location: Many restaurants (ethnic and other), pubs, clubs, Rock Creek Park, visit NIH, by Metro close to everything
I have stayed in this hotel several times before. I always like it. Rooms are fine and clean, service is pleasant, breakfast is adequate, unlimited supply of drinking water, coffee, tea and towels. The location is excellent with many good restaurants and coffee places within minutes of walking distance, and a metro station less than a block away. Close to the NIH.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baltimore, MD

old heating system

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Old heating system so it is hard to get the heat adjusted right. Also, I was supposed to get a king size bed but when I got there, they told me all they had left were rooms with 2 double beds. They said they had other people extending their stay so they couldn't accommodate me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cincinnati, Ohio

Very good indeed for the price.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: See above.
Location: Not relevant. See above.
I came from Cincinnati to attend a wedding of my college-room-mate's grand-daughter in Baltimore and stayed in Bethesda because that is the home of another of her daughters. A bridal party was held Saturday afternoon in Baltimore, and that evening we all had dinner at the Bethesda daughter's. The wedding was Sunday. I also have friends in DC who took me to breakfast Sunday morning. Thus, I had very little time at the hotel. Nevertheless, the time I was there was good. The bed was most comfortable. Also the chair. The bars on the bath-room wall were excellently placed, so I truly enjoyed two baths. The reading light was bright and well placed. The linens were clean. The room was quiet. The staff was friendly and helpful, and breakfast was just fine. And the price (for a DC suburb) was good. So I will not complain about a little shabbiness and maybe a rug that wasn't quite clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hampton roads, VA

Location

Posted Nov 12, 2014
If you need to be within 10min metro ride of DC. This hotel is for you. Other than that I can't justify spending that much money for it. Breakfast was ok but on the low end. The hotel staff was nice, they had some nice touches ( free water when you arrive, chocolate in the room) but the hotel is dated so there only so much they can do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean Room at a budget price.

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Great location in Bethesda. It was near the Metro and the Restaurants.
Cons: The room heating/cooling unit varied from too hot to chilly.
This hotel has the appearance of a recent face lift giving it a fresh, clean appearance. Amenities are minimal but, plenty of information about services in the surrounding area is available at the desk. In Inclement weather the breakfast room can get crowded quickly causing people to have to take their food out to the lobby to eat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by LCfrom NYC

Great Amenities

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service, amenities and location were fabulous, but as a single female traveler, I felt a little unsettled at the parking lot that my room looked out onto. The room itself was very clean, although the shower was very small (and I'm 5' 2"). The courtyard is a great place to chill and the continental breakfast was great. The water and chocolates on arrival were a nice touch. There's a gym and in the room is a coffee maker and fridge (along w/the essential ironing board and hair dryer). It's a great place for a business stay, not for pleasure. I would definitely come back as the price was great and the service was super friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rocky Mount, NC

Nice hotel in the center of Bethesda.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Smaller hotel with a very accommodating staff. Parking available. Free shuttle Excellent continental breakfast
Cons: Older facility...small elevator/small bathroom
Location: So much to do in the DC area. Too many to list.
Smaller hotel provided excellent service. Great continental breakfast. Hotel has a shuttle and dropped us at a restaurant the first night. So nice not to worry about finding a parking place. All in all...very pleasant experience.