Ratings based on 1,690 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great location. Easy walk to anywhere.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Room was much less than expected. Staff was helpful. Maid picked up sack containing gifts for grandkids never to be seen again. Hotel appologized. Had to empty fridge of high priced stock they wanted to sell in order to stock for myself. No microwave or coffee pot. Many other hotels in area. Will try somewhere else next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Perfect location, fun vibe, super helpful staff!

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly, efficient staff. Fun vibe, yet quiet and comfortable accommodations. Loved my pop art room, weight room, happy hour and comfy lounge/patio.
Cons: Vacuum the elevators and halls. Plates and glasses on hallway floor stayed there all weekend?
Location: The Pig; The Diplomat - both great restaurants. Great beer place (500 beers), and coffee shops nearby. Take a stroll to Logan circle and have a picnic
Visited my nephew who works near the capitol and lives in Columbia Heights. He approved the location (between 14/16th streets) with its easy accessibility to bus stops and lots of great places to eat (The Diplomat; the Pig) nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, AK

Good location, friendly staff, facilities so so

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Very friendly, welcoming staff, quiet location with convenience stores and restaurants/bars nearby
Cons: Provide better amenities (coffeemaker, fridge) in the room, renovate to eliminate signs of wear and shabbiness around the edges
The hotel is in a quiet location with convenience stores and bars/restaurants nearby. It was quiet enough to get a good night's sleep and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was large and comfortable. What detracted somewhat from a positive stay were the lack of amenities (my room had neither coffeemaker nor fridge) and the signs of wear and tear and general shabbiness throughout the property. The attempts at creating a mid-century modern feel fell somewhat flat with cabinets in the room scuffed and one missing a larger sections of veneer, the sink in the bathroom permanently soiled around the faucet and the paint peeling in various spots in the room. Definitely not something I would have expected based on other Kimpton properties I've stayed at. Room service did their best to keep clean but that only goes so far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Very Cool Hotel! Modern!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Modern Feel. Spacious room
Cons: Climate control
Location: White House, DuPont Circle. Embassy
I loved this hotel. I don't know why there are bad reviews. People were nice, hallways are clean. The only disappointing thing was the AC, I couldn't control it to get cooler. It only stayed at 70 degrees and my preference is 68 degrees, but whatever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Trendy hotel in a great area of DC.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Hotel was in a great area and the staff was very friendly. The design/ style of the hotel was quirky/ trendy. A few amenities in the hotel were dated and could have been cleaner, but overall it was a good experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but...

Posted Jul 6, 2015
The hotel staff and room was fine. However a $100 pending charge was put on my debit card account to cover charges to the room. I've had hotels run the card for authorization for this but usually the hold only shows up as a few dollars and immediately is returned at checkout if there are no room charges. In the meantime I'm waiting for my funds to be released on my bank account and was told a few business days. If this would not be a problem for you the place is great. Just wish the staff would have told me this info at check in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Fun hotel, nice staff.

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Fun atmosphere but a little run down. The staff was nice and helpful. I was not happy that the shampoo and conditioner and body wash were in refillable containers in the shower instead of individual samples.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cameron

Not so great experience

Posted Jun 13, 2015
I was excited to stay at this hotel as I have stayed before in past years. I was disappointed to see how unkept the hotel was. The walls were very beat up, the bathroom sink was very beat up as well. Sadly, this was not the worst, after getting ready to get in bed after an exhausting day, I was beyond upset to find hair in my bed, I found this to be extremely disgusting! I called the front desk who told me the house keeping staff had left for the night & he could at best bring me sheets but could not change the bed. After a tiring exchange, the manager moved me to another room, unfortunately there was hair in the sink and in the bed AGAIN in the new room I was moved to. At this point, the time is close to 1am and I am so full with emotions, that I seriously began looking at other hotels in the area I could stay at. The overnight managed moved me to another room and mentioned that he felt bad because he would have to move guest who had not checked in to another hotel as if this were my fault that there seemed to be no clean sheets without hair in them. I really love Kimpton properties, but I will never book at the Helix again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great spot

Posted May 30, 2015
Can get noisy at times but otherwise great hotel. Modern. Rooms need more outlets but not a bad room. Beds are comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from GN

Establecimiento muy bien situado

Posted May 14, 2015
Bien comunicado y con restaurantes cercanos buenos, el servicio de alquiler de bicicletas junto al hotel, económico