Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Es C from London

One night only

Posted May 27, 2014
Handy for a one night stop over on a long journey. Room had a double bed but one side was so close to the wall you had to crawl onto the bed from the foot of the bed once your other half is already lying in bed. Tea and coffee provided in the room with a kettle. TV is of good quality and size. Bath was rusty around the plug hole, bathroom small. One day use shower gel and shampoo provided, no shower cap. Room also smelt musty as you first open the door to enter. No safe provided but there was a trouser press. Would stay again if need be but only if no other choice available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lynne from m

had a great stay

Posted May 7, 2014
its near my family newcastle and gateshead metro its fab i would recommend it. there are other places near it for drink and food .we did'nt eat or drink there as we went to my familues to eat but will have something next time we stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Keith from Glasgow

Overnight stay

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Pros: The fact they allowed me to take my mountain bike in to my room, as there was no way I was leaving it in the car as it's worth more than my car..
Cons: The breakfast, for the additional £8 I paid I could have ate like a King for breakfast somewhere else..
Stayed here for an overnight whilst in Newcastle for a stag doo. Pleasant hotel, nice staff and rooms were clean/tidy and typical standard double rooms. Got a great deal for booking in advance. A wee bit away from the City Centre if you need to taxi it cost me £15. The breakfast was the only thing that wasn't good. Not a lot of hot food choice, what was there wasn't tasty, sausages were bland, black pudding segments were cold as well as the scrambled egg. Overall though my stay was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2014
Dear Keith Thank you for sharing your review here on Expedia. I was pleased to hear that your overall stay was enjoyable and great to hear that we accommodated your mountain bike without difficulty. I have noted your comment regarding breakfast and whilst I believe that the extensive offering available at breakfast does represent value for money I have shared your quality concerns with our Head Chef to keep an eye on in the future. Yours sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Basic and dated

Posted Jan 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was not what I'd have hoped for from a Holiday Inn. It felt like the place was a bit dated and in need of some care and attention. The dining area was strangely basic and the food was decidedly average. If in the area again I'd choose to stay in the Premier Inn just down the road
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Early Birds from Bedfordshire

Tired rooms but professional staff

Posted Jan 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Based on Holiday Inn reputation and good reviews we booked prior to an event the next day. The hotel looks like a 1970 block of flats and parking in the rear carpark did not appeal. Checking in and breakfast service were good. But areas for improvement include updating of very old bathrooms and, double glazing as traffic from A1 was audible. Breakfast choice was good but after two hours under a heat lamp the cooked items were inedible. Hotel was full of business men eating their meals in lounge / bar area so we drove two minutes down the road to the Toby Inn which was opposite a Premier Inn.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2014
Pros: good helpful staff
Cons: nothing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by RVR184 from Surrey

Posted Jan 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is fine and the room clean and comfortable. Located right beside A1(M), it is a good base to get to Sunderland, Durham or Newcastle. It is only really let down by the over-priced restaurant, which perhaps capitalises on the fact that there is not much else around it. Breakfast was very good however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nicola from London

Good stay

Posted Jan 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a personal family matter, so this was the cheapest hotel nearby. Good room, could do with an air freshner! All round good hotel, will come back if needed again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Hotel GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent 4* review!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent 4* review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Hotel GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent 4* review!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2014
Thank you for your recent 4* review!