Ratings based on 2,156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor WiFi connectivity

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Although the hotel provides free WiFi, the service was quite erratic and it was quite frustrating to try to stay online. My room has very poor noise insulation. I was awakened every morning from a lot of noise around 6 am which I was not sure was from dump trucks or construction outside.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NEW YORK

C+. Needs to be cleaner. The room smelled stale.

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Just OK. No luxury here. The bell and valet are super nice and helpful. These guys work hard. The desk/reception ladies need to be more amenable.
Cons: Air freshner. Room smelled like old people. Needs Light bulbs. Proper shower drainage. Need Polite desk staff. Need Polite greeter.
Location: Close enough to where we needed to be.
Desk is placed in front of window. Big nuisance and obstruction. The curtains are sewn together so you can't draw the blinds. WE asked staff for a later check out. They offered an hour delayed check out. A bit rude and reluctant to even give the one hr delayed check out. It was Sunday. Not like the hotel was booked. Shower did not drain well. After 5 mins the water was up to my ankle. Bulb out in dressing area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Excellent

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Sufficient wi-fi capacity for full occupancy.
Location: Convention center; lots of sites and museums. Metro station nearby.
The Lombardy worked out perfectly for a weekend business trip: centrally located, reasonably priced. All the staff was friendly and professional. We liked the overall decor, neo... something? Mix of classical and exotic influences but it actually worked fine. The room itself was unremarkable but clean, comfortable, and in good shape. Some noise from plumbing and adjoining rooms, but overall pretty good on noise; no traffic noise to speak of in our 3rd floor room (at least from a city dweller perspective). Since most restaurants had long waiting times, we ate at the hotel restaurant, which turned out to be surprisingly good, and with well above average wines. Good breakfast selection, ranging from (very tasty) omelet or eggs benedicte to continental style pastries . Special mention for the restaurant service, which was tip top both evening and morning. Only noteworthy downside: at full occupancy, the complimentary wi-fi may be spotty. We could not get on at all before dinner, but off peak hours it worked smoothly at good speed. When I called the front desk, they immediately sent a technician up to help us connect though, so points for effort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Scotland

Hotel Lombardy review

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Stayed for a week, very convenient location close to sights and Metro link for access to city. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable, staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

Central to sites resturants in an easy walk

Posted Nov 15, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Include some light food items
Location: Good resturants blocks away @ DuPont circle area,easy walk to Georgetown ,close to metro,easy walk to the mall
Staff was helpful polite ,room clean & quiet.breakfast good worth the price ,compared favorably to competition.close to metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Graniteville, VT

Washington DC visit with sister

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Location, comfort.
Location: Great Metro access, restaurants, just a couple blocks from White House, etc.
Love this hotel - location is great for Metro and sightseeing. Comfortable, friendly, easy walk to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

DC Lombardy

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Great hotel close to the Washington DC Mall. Great places to eat for all tastes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne

Very impressive Hotel!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Everything is fantastic...
Cons: Some more detailed cleaning would be beneficial.
Location: Walking distance to the White House and some of the attractions. Some nice restaurants close by, especially Founding Farmers....
We were really surprised with this hotel. Impressive lobby, lovely reception area and attentive staff. The room is very generous, with massive bed well appointed linen and very comfortable pillows. There is a small dressing room attached to the bathroom. The cleaning could be a little better, some dust but not really a big concern. This is a lovely hotel which I would highly recommend. It is one of the most comfortable hotels that I have ever stayed at, and the restaurant is really fantastic, both for breakfast and dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DE

Thank you for upgrading me.

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Suite size, bed com fines, coffee in room.
Cons: Bathroom needs renovation. Earlier check-in. Later check-out.
Location: GWU campus cross street. Walk to Georgetown or White House.
Although my room was not ready until after 3:00, they upgraded me to a beautiful suite and I enjoyed my stay, the wine, the snacks, the coffee and the bathrobe. Still no slippers! Very comfy bed, beautiful room. Bathroom needs renovating but the suite made everything ok. This was my fifth stay and hope to stay again. Super location for GWU.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Hotel Lombardy is a lovely older building, It was spotless and beautiful. It's a great location for the tourist in DC. My only complaint is that it was kind of noisy. The wooden floors creak which is no big deal unless you're trying to fall asleep. And then in the morning the street noise was pretty loud. I woke to what I think was the beep beep beep and kachunks of trash trucks below.