Ratings based on 2,537 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Location to major attractions on PA Avenue.
Location: Proximity to Smithsonian Museums, the White House and other major attractions.
The room was very clean and comfortable, but the bathroom is small. In particular the shower area is quite narrow and cramped at least in my room The hotel staff was extremely professional and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NE PA

Older building, well maintained

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Location: There are several restaurants within a block, including Italian, Peruvian, Indian, Mexican.
This is a nice hotel in a solid older building in a historic district. The bed was super comfortable. Bathroom clean. Although not soundproof, the walls are thicker than you sometimes find, so there wasn't a lot of tv noise and stuff from other rooms. Didn't get to go to the bar or restaurant. Staff was friendly. There are several restaurants within a block, including Italian, Peruvian, Indian, Mexican. We used a parking garage across Penn Ave (actually on the cross st).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lean and comfortable.

Posted Apr 26, 2015
We had a great stay! The room was clean and the staff was fanastic. What a great historic flavor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lake Forest, CA

Nice boutique hotel!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Small hotel with all the benefits of a large hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
The hotel staff went above and beyond to make sure that I was having a pleasant stay with them. I was impressed with their hospitality and attention to detail. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location for visiting my daughter at GW.

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Everything was great: the location, the staff, the room, the café.
Cons: Nothing could be improved.
The hotel was classic. The café food and staff were wonderful. I felt at home from the moment I set foot in the lobby. Everyone made me feel special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haysville Ks

Great location for high points of DC.

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Information for other options to eat and a map of the local area.
We enjoyed the convenience of being in walking distance of many points of interest. We took the Hop on Hop off bus for complete tour to begin our vacation but walked or took Metro for farther destinations. Public transportation is excellent. Only complaint would be that the breakfast served at hotel was overpriced. I was very disappointed that the ham looked like lunch meat. I have never seen shredded ham served as a breakfast meat. I seemed to have insulted the waitress when I mentioned it and in hind sight, I should have asked for something else. The gentleman at the next table just did not eat his but said nothing to server. It would be very helpful for the hotel to have a map pointing out other places to eat nearby and points of interest. Overall I was pleased but I should have researched places to eat as we were very frustrated when we could not find a place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom SLC

close to the White House

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Neighborhood, History
Cons: Parking information could be posted on their website.
Location: DC
Friendly knowledgeable staff was able to help me get on a tour of DC.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom California

Good Location, Old Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
This hotel should be at most a 2 stars hotel. It is in an old building and everything inside is old – starting with the elevators, rooms and especially – bathrooms. You will basically get what you would expect from Motel 8. Our bathtub was clogged, slow to drain and not very clean. The floor in the room was squeaking. The closet is very small, if you need an iron and ironing board – you will have to ask. The iron’s steam dialer was broken. After the first night our room was not made up when we returned in the afternoon, so we had to call and ask. Other than that – the hotel is in good location – close to the White house and to the Metro. George Washington University is also close. Be aware that most of the restaurants in the area close at 2:30 pm and reopen at 5:30 pm – it looked strange for us, coming from California, so if you arrive in this interval – be prepared to eat some junk food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and quiet

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Easy walk to the White House and Mall. The staff was very accommodating and the room was quiet and comfortable.