Ratings based on 2,087 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cork, Ireland

Very Handy to centre of DC and sites of interest

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Location: Handy for public transport and walking distance to Lincoln monument and Georgetown.
The hotel is clean and comfortable. Is centrally situated and close to Washington DC underground network so is easy to access from the airport. The Room was clean and quite on the 5th floor. No complaints whatsoever about the hotel. Excellent for a short city stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: Better lighting in the bathroom. I could understand one or two dim bulbs, but 5 out of six?
Location: Good location, nice short walk to GWU and (in the opposite direction) a favorite restaurant. DuPont circle a nice 10 minute walk away.
When you close your eyes, most hotel rooms are exactly the same.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from GB

Well positioned

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Comfortable room.
Cons: Directions to the hotel if walking.
Location: Very accessible to the White House, Lincoln Memorial, Museums.
Within walking distance of the major sites. A very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brick, NJ

Great staff and very clean

Posted Sep 5, 2014
We stayed over a holiday weekend. From the time we arrived to the time we left we were treated like family. One day we left late morning and did not return until very late that night. Front desk said they were getting concerned and glad we made it back. Very nice personal touch. My only complaint is the shower curtain liner kept flying in at me. But that's not enough to keep me from staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A delightful change from big hotels

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Location, intimateness, and wonderful staff.
This was a wonderful find. This was my second stay, and certainly not my last! A small, upscale place with historical roots. Beautifully decorated, nice and quiet. The staff was always friendly and helpful. Fantastic bar, comfy seating and a 40's type feel, and even a better bartender. He will make a special drink for you if you just express what you're in the mood for. Restaurant was top notch too, although not inexpensive. Provide the Washington Post in the am which is rare these days. Close to Foggy Bottom Metro, walking distance to many good restaurants, and easy to get to all of the tourist monuments.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
This hotel was a great! The staff was very friendly, the rooms were clean, and the location was fantastic. It was a very beautiful boutique hotel that was worth every penny. I would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Very convenient location, comfortable rooms. We received a complementary upgrade and had more space. Wonderful value as well, given the reasonable daily rate and location. Would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Great location, excellent value and service.

Posted Sep 1, 2014
We were very happy with Hotel Lombardy. The location, staff, and accommodation was wonderful and we would be happy to stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Old World Hotel, needs Adjustments

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The decor, the true classic feel.
Cons: Friendly accommodating staff that enjoy guests.
Location: Great location, near White House, Metro, everything,
I fell in love with this hotel the minute I walked in. It's a true gem, original details but not faded or dowdy, The Asian appointments, give it a British Colonial feel. The bathroom is wonderful with a bath robe and good water pressure. There are many small things they miss….the room door has a decorative outside door that makes a huge bang, few felt adhesive discs would be great help. Plugs reachable by both nite stands. Better lighting. Making sure the TV's are unlocked. The hotel staff is very fussy. Every time I walked in the lobby, I was accosted like Julia Roberts in Pretty Woman. My safe jammed and the nite desk clerk was rude and did not help at all. A quick google search gave me info to open. All in all, I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston

Deliciously Comfortable with Great Character

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Our son is a student at GWU which is adjacent to the Lombardy. We have made this our home during visits and my husband's business and service in DC. The staff is great initially and exceptional after they know you. The rooms are maintained well and clean. The breakfast is delicious and convenient. It is a great, older independent hotel with modern amenities: Wifi, mini-bar, etc. It is a bargain given its location. It is not "new" but is really comfortable. I once called it deliciously "seedy" but that is unfair. It is deliciously comfortable if you are looking for a temporary home in DC.