Ratings based on 557 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location. Classic hotel.

Posted May 22, 2015
Not your standard hotel, there is a certain pride and ownership by the staff. Everyone went above and beyond to assist us. (With all the millions of 8th graders and loud teenagers running around DC - we did NOT see them at this hotel.) Close to everything! CVS right on the corner for those things you may have forgot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Amherst, MA

European style hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Cons: Expand room service to 24/7 to accomodate business customers who may need to leave early in the AM.
Stayed here for a 4 day conference. Hotel very conveniently located to mutliple restaurants, museums, bars, venues. Staff very professional and hepful. Hotel restaurant okay, food good, but limited menu. No early AM room service on weekends. Beds quite comfortable, bathrooms standard and clean. Overall, above average and worth the money for the locale.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom southwest

Best location

Posted May 21, 2015
Great location for a hotel and in a great city. The rooms suffer from poor lighting, inadequate seating space, and tiny tiny bathrooms. Coffee in the lobby every morning and a happy hour for guests certainly helped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Comfortable city centre hotel.

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The complementary coffee and cooled water available in the lobby and the nightly wine receptions between 5.00 and 6.00 p.m.
Cons: The carpet in my room was somewhat tired.
Location: The hotel is opposite the American Art Museum and within 12 minutes walk of the Mall where there are masses of free museums of all descriptions.
I stayed 6 nights and found the hotel very hospitable. The bed was extremely comfortable. So much so that I want to buy similar pillows for home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Manila

nice boutique hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Excellent location in the National Mall area. Diagonally across Verizon Stadium. Great service, helpful staff. Great for couples and business people. Perhaps on the expensive side for students and young families.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
Manila- We agree with you that we have a great location for anything that brings you to our Nation's Capital. We can't wait to have you back the next time you are in town. Safe travels. Cheers,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Considering its an old buildings, it was good..................................................
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
She is old, but thats what makes her so charming. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are here in our Nation's Capital. Safe travels. Cheers,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The location was best part of this Hotel, located very close to a lot of things to do.
Cons: The staff is very lose, the bell hops were always talking among themselves, smoking on the entrance to the lower level. Be professional and friendly
Location: Ronald Reagan Conference center is close, Smithsonian is very close. Walking distance to all the monuments.
The Kimpton Hotel in Washington DC is in a great location, easy walking to many sightseeing locations. The rooms were very nice and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

easy access to DC attractions

Posted Apr 20, 2015
staff was very helpful and kind. room was clean and the bed was comfortable. walking distance to lots of food and attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newfane,NY

Location,location,location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
You are paying for location as the title of my review suggests. It is about 3 blocks from the mall and is a fairly easy walk to the Smithsonian museums and capital building. Its also right across the street from the Verizon Center and close to a bunch of restaurants. However, the actual building and rooms are to be expected for a structure built in the 1800's. The rooms appeared to be the offices used by the employees of the original owner, the Federal Post Office built in the 1820's. The room was very small and a bit cramped. The bathroom was constructed from taking half of an office space and constructing 2 walls which enclosed the shower,toilet and sink with vanity and shelves. The room we stayed in had a flat screen TV and was air conditioned/heated with wall control.Overall, the room was adequate but not overly impressive. One of the negatives was, as a premium priced hotel, you might think they would provide free internet. You had to purchase it for $12.95 for a 24 hour period. Many of the less expensive hotels I've stayed in did provide it for no additional charge. The staff was very helpful, from the front desk to the restaurant and cleaning personnel. Everyone was friendly and attentive to our requests. Overall, because we had staying in the hotel previously, we knew what to expect and accepted it. However, we may decide to try another hotel in the area if we decide to return to Washington in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
Dana- sounds like you know the history of our beloved Monaco very well. I couldn't agree more that it is all about location, location, location. As for the WiFi, we do have our Kimpton Karma program which besides free internet has lots of other perks and it is quick, free & easy to sign up. We hope that you will be to visit the next time you are in our Nation's Capital. Cheers,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Eclectic, whimsical decor.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Fantastic stay. Booked at the last minute because did not have pet care arrangements and needed to be in DC for the weekend. Did not know what to do expect in a pet friendly hotel. It was wonderful-staff, space, valet. Overall one of the best hotel stays ever.