Ratings based on 573 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Nice hotel with a great location for exploring our nations capital.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Location: Location was good.
Paid top dollar for a room. Room was the size of a closet and in the basement. People were walking by and looking down into my room. There was a musty smell.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Weekend trip

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Excellent staff, historic significance
Cons: Nothing really very nice hotel
Location: Located a few block from the national mall. Across the street from the national archives.
We stopped by Washington, DC for her birthday. The staff had provided a cheese/cracker plate, sparkling beverage, cupcakes and even decorated with streamers. We had a slight issue with the bed (tipped up when you sat on the foot) They fixed it in an hour. Everyone was very kind and VERY helpful. The building has an incredible history and we were very pleased to have a chance to stay there. The Post Modern (cafe/bar) was always ready and rocked on Sat night. We highly recommend this hotel for any stay near the National Mall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Nice hotel but nowhere to sit outside

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Enjoyed the hotel very much but, there was nowhere to sit outside unless, you sat in the smoking area on the front steps. Staff was much more hospitable at the Kimpton Argunaut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A slight hiccup.....

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The uniqueness of the decor and the rooms were really neat. LOVED the deep bathtub in our suite!
Cons: Communication with housekeeping and desk personnnel . There was no reason to leave us waiting that long.
Very nice hotel....good location. Very unique decor. Had a little trouble with our check in. Had reserved a King bed, but asked if there were 2 doubles available. Was told yes, but they were not cleaned yet, but would be ready in 20-30 minutes. That was okay with us, so went and got a coffee and came back to wait in lobby. ONE HOUR later still no room and original desk person was gone. When I explained situation to new desk person, he immediately called to check on the room situation. Apparently, still not ready (seriously??) but upgraded us to a suite and offered to pay for breakfast the next morning. This was fine, but it still was not 2 double beds but a King! :-( But we just took it. We were tired of waiting. The next day at check out they were going to charge us for the upgrade to the room and the breakfast. But I explained the situation and they were okay. Whew..... So overall, a fairly good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Perfect Location for a Museum Buff

Posted May 26, 2015
I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Monaco. Overall, the hotel was lovely, and perfectly positioned for my trip. Room comfort got the lowest rating from me, largely because I was placed in a room that had a large window overlooking the bar patio. That would have been fine, except that the room was ground floor, and bar patrons could see in to my room. I was not warned about that at check in, or I would have asked for a higher floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near many sights and restaurants

Posted May 22, 2015
We had a lovely stay there Staff were helpful Coffee in lobby, cookies at mid-day and happy hour made it very hospitable and added to the charm. My only complaint was the room was very small and needed more small tables ( night table) and luggage stand. We would definitely stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location. Classic hotel.

Posted May 22, 2015
Not your standard hotel, there is a certain pride and ownership by the staff. Everyone went above and beyond to assist us. (With all the millions of 8th graders and loud teenagers running around DC - we did NOT see them at this hotel.) Close to everything! CVS right on the corner for those things you may have forgot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Amherst, MA

European style hotel

Posted May 21, 2015
Cons: Expand room service to 24/7 to accomodate business customers who may need to leave early in the AM.
Stayed here for a 4 day conference. Hotel very conveniently located to mutliple restaurants, museums, bars, venues. Staff very professional and hepful. Hotel restaurant okay, food good, but limited menu. No early AM room service on weekends. Beds quite comfortable, bathrooms standard and clean. Overall, above average and worth the money for the locale.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southwest

Best location

Posted May 21, 2015
Great location for a hotel and in a great city. The rooms suffer from poor lighting, inadequate seating space, and tiny tiny bathrooms. Coffee in the lobby every morning and a happy hour for guests certainly helped.