Ratings based on 544 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Pros: The location was best part of this Hotel, located very close to a lot of things to do.
Cons: The staff is very lose, the bell hops were always talking among themselves, smoking on the entrance to the lower level. Be professional and friendly
Location: Ronald Reagan Conference center is close, Smithsonian is very close. Walking distance to all the monuments.
The Kimpton Hotel in Washington DC is in a great location, easy walking to many sightseeing locations. The rooms were very nice and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

easy access to DC attractions

Posted Apr 20, 2015
staff was very helpful and kind. room was clean and the bed was comfortable. walking distance to lots of food and attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newfane,NY

Location,location,location

Posted Apr 17, 2015
You are paying for location as the title of my review suggests. It is about 3 blocks from the mall and is a fairly easy walk to the Smithsonian museums and capital building. Its also right across the street from the Verizon Center and close to a bunch of restaurants. However, the actual building and rooms are to be expected for a structure built in the 1800's. The rooms appeared to be the offices used by the employees of the original owner, the Federal Post Office built in the 1820's. The room was very small and a bit cramped. The bathroom was constructed from taking half of an office space and constructing 2 walls which enclosed the shower,toilet and sink with vanity and shelves. The room we stayed in had a flat screen TV and was air conditioned/heated with wall control.Overall, the room was adequate but not overly impressive. One of the negatives was, as a premium priced hotel, you might think they would provide free internet. You had to purchase it for $12.95 for a 24 hour period. Many of the less expensive hotels I've stayed in did provide it for no additional charge. The staff was very helpful, from the front desk to the restaurant and cleaning personnel. Everyone was friendly and attentive to our requests. Overall, because we had staying in the hotel previously, we knew what to expect and accepted it. However, we may decide to try another hotel in the area if we decide to return to Washington in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
Dana- sounds like you know the history of our beloved Monaco very well. I couldn't agree more that it is all about location, location, location. As for the WiFi, we do have our Kimpton Karma program which besides free internet has lots of other perks and it is quick, free & easy to sign up. We hope that you will be to visit the next time you are in our Nation's Capital. Cheers,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Eclectic, whimsical decor.

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Fantastic stay. Booked at the last minute because did not have pet care arrangements and needed to be in DC for the weekend. Did not know what to do expect in a pet friendly hotel. It was wonderful-staff, space, valet. Overall one of the best hotel stays ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Murfreesboro, TN

Nice hotel centrally located to monuments

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Hotel is centrally located with easy access to Monuments and Smithsonian's. Hotel has a fantastic restaurant and quality service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa

Welcoming reception

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Location: Located directly across from Smithsonian Museum of American Art and kitty corner from the Verizon Centre. There is a Metro stop at the Verizon Centre.
I arrived after their complimentary wine/beer service and was offered my choice of a glass of red or white wine or draft beer. It was nice to be able to unwind in my room with a refreshment before deciding what to do for dinner. The hotel is located so conveniently close to everything I wanted to do in Washington in the short time I had on my schedule. Will definitely make this my go to hotel for DC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel by the VA

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Pros: Other than what I said above, the room was comfortable.
Cons: Make it so the refrigerator wasn't stock full so the guest can put items in there.
I couldn't set the temp in the room. It was too cold in it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
We are glad to see that temp's aside, 5 Stars is the way you see us. We hope to have you back soon, in the meantime safe travels. Cheers,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the heart of downtown.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Nice hotel in the center of town. The staff was friendly. The room although far away from the lobby was great. Comfortable bed. Decent workout room. Poste the Resturant served up a yummy breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
Thanks for spending time with us, glad to see that besides the extra walk to your room you found us 5 Star worthy. Oh and I agree Poste is yummy! Looking forward to seeing again soon. Safe travels! Cheers,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for Verizon Center and overall coolness.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Everything about it-very unique. If you want a Marriott or Hyatt-go there. If you want character with turn of the century style and grandness.
Cons: Nothing for me.
Location: Chinatown, Verizon Center, Spy Museum
Incredible historic building. We were there for a Wizards game-you can see the Verizon Center through most windows. Very old building is not perfect if you want to look hard, but 12-15 ceilings, cool lighting, 20-30 foot wide hallways-entrance ways around the building with pillars and character. Great wine/beer/hot toddy hour from 5-6. Friendly guests and very helpful staff. We would definitely go back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by JLustig - AGM Kimpton Monaco DC, Hotel Management
Overall Coolness - I couldn't have said it better myself!! Very old as in over 175 years old, but as you mentioned she still has character. Now as for those hot toddy's, they've gone and soon we will have something refreshing for the Summer months. Until then - safe travels. Cheers,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice building, great location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Ask for rooms in the 200s, 300s or 400s (ground floor and above), rooms in 100s are in the 'basement' ( smaller rooms with tiny high windows).