Ratings based on 1,837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aceptable hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good experience, aceptable distance from monuments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive experience. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back for a future visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory stay, too far from City Attractions

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel provided free breakfast and the room was cleaned.
Cons: While some staff were pleasant I felt that I was conned out of money during my stay. The hotel also smelt unpleasant.
Location: Georgetown is about 20 minute drive but there is a lot of nice cafes there. Also the washington city tours if you want to do all the touristy things
The Room was satisfactory. I found that it was a little too far from the city attractions. The hotel provided a free shuttle but it only dropped you off at a random metro station which you had to use as there was nothing to do around it. I was a little annoyed on one of the days of my stay as the hotel advertised the hop on hop off city bus tour. It seemed like the right thing to do to pick up our tickets from there. However when we went to purchase them the girl said we needed cash in hand. This meant walking to a nearby gas station to get cash out of a machine which charged us. We then went to buy the tickets and the girl explained that she had no change for us so we would have to wait for her to get change. This took an hour which I was extremely irritated by but on the promise that we would be saving money because we wouldn't have to pay for a metro to buy the tickets we patiently waited. When she finally gave us our change we got the free shuttle to where she said we could get the city tour. This was a lie as we got dropped off at a different metro station and then had to pay for a metro anyway so wasted an entire hour and ended up paying more money than we would have had to. I also wouldn't recommend the city tours either as they are advertised at 24hour when in reality they only run from 8.30am-6pm for $48 which is a complete rip off and I would recommend metros instead. I would definitely visit georgetown. It was a very lively, yet quaint town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We understand that location is key when selecting a hotel appreciate you being our guests. We are sorry to see that our hotel was not a good fit for you due to the distance to the city. I am really sorry to hear of the difficulties you had with one of the tours that stops at our hotel, we are not affiliated with the Hop On Hop Off Tour, but we don't want our guests to be dissatisfied with something we advertise. We will speak immediately with them and ensure this kind of situation does not happen again and offer additional training to our team so we can properly inform our guests how the tour works.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel to be with the family!

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, nice breakfast and safe.
Cons: Transport to Washington DC downtown. The shuttle leaves you in the metro but i do not believe is enough.
Location: Close to Washington and not pricey is a good place to be.
Near to Washington DC. Second time there, it was really nice hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Welcome Back! We are delighted that you returned to the Howard Johnson and had another great experience. Thank you very much for the 5 star review! We will see you again on your next trip to DC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Very Pleased

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The location and the room was AWESOME!!!!
Cons: Serve breakfast until at least 11 on the weekends. We don't wake up early on the weekends Especially if we have more than a 5 hour drive back home.
I arrived from Connecticut around 12:30, and Gabby was at the front desk. I went and asked if I could check in early with my son because we had traveled from Connecticut and were exhausted and had to move into Howard University late that evening. She advised me that check-in was not until around 2 but will see what she can do. By the time we used the restroom, a room was already ready for us. WAY TO GO, GABBY!!!!! The only issue was the air conditioner but I called the front desk and before we knew it, they were knocking on our door to fix it. AWESOME SERVICE. My daughter is attending Howard University so you better believe it we will be staying here very frequently. We loved the room...Please keep our room 510 for our next stay as clean as we left it.....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review. We appreciate hearing that you had a great stay. It is always nice to see that our staff praised for their customer service and will gladly share your feedback with the manager. Thank you again for being our guests and for the great review, we will be delighted to welcome you back as you visit your family in DC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel for the rate we got & close to DC

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Nice hotel close to DC. Hotel served nice complementary breakfast dinner. We really like everything except room's floor whice was not clean. They need to steam clean their carpet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your trip with us, we are pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay. I understand the carpets were recently professionally cleaned, because the hotel has been very busy and many rooms occupied, we may not have able to get to all rooms at one time so some are on the next rotation. We hope that does not deter you from selecting our hotel again in the near future as you had a nice stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Mildew and dirty carpet

Posted Aug 16, 2014
When we first walked into the room it smelled like mildew. There was a red stain on the carpet. The mattress of one of the beds was also stained. It wasn't the cleanest and I felt very uncomfortable. The neighborhood was okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your trip with us. I sincerely apologize that your guest room was not to the high standards we pride ourselves on delivering. I have shared your feedback with the manager to ensure this is taken care of. I am sorry you did not have a pleasant experience. We would like to regain your trust and have you stay with us again in the near future to show that what you experienced is not the norm for our hotel. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Affordable and comfortable hotel near DC

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: It was comfortable, safe and affordable.
Cons: N/A
Location: Plenty of stores and food places along Anapolis Rd.
Although the neighborhood seems a bit shady, the hotel is located along a private driveway and there is no outdoor access to rooms, so you are quite safe and secure. The hotel staff were very friendly; they even upgraded me without asking (a room with larger sized beds was available). There is plenty of parking and again the area is private so your car is secure. The room was extremely clean; that includes the beds and bath. There was also free breakfast. In sum, if you're looking for an affordable hotel that is only 20 min outside DC, consider this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the accommodations a good fit for your needs. Everything we do is aimed at providing our guests with a great experience and we truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us. The best compliment we can receive is a recommendation to others. Thank you again for being our guests.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

YUCK!!!!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Everything. It is in desperate need of a makeover.
Location: 20-30 minutes from Washington, DC, that's about it
Room smelled, carpet filthy. No elevator. Hallways were dirty. Nothing done to it since it was built. Shower ran hot and cold constantly. Breakfast buffet stunk. Area hotel is in is not a nice area at all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
I am sorry to see that you had an unpleasant stay. We cannot take back the experience you had and sincerely apologize that the hotel was not represented of who we are as a brand. We've addresses the issues you had with the team and will continue to make improvements when we can.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Pay more elsewhere and be happy

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pool not working in August Maids bogart the one 4 person elevator with carts. Breakfast, dried out danish, fruit flies, lemony eggs. Shuttle unreliable. Not near anything but poorer parts of town. Shower fluctuates from cold to scalding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
I am sorry you did not have a good experience as our guests. The pool closed in July and we are very sorry for the inconvenience to our guests. We cannot take back the stay you had, we will use your feedback and address the issues you had with the hotel so we can make positive changes moving forward.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
It was good. I did expect a Bit More when it came to the hot breakfast. Overall nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.