Ratings based on 2,421 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

DC trip

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Free shuttle to metro station. Clean dining room. Friendly staff.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Neighborhood

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Located in a bad neighborhood. Building very old & dingy.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern Indiana

You get what you pay for...

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Pros: Cheap. Shuttle service was decent, though I walked back to hotel from station. Allegedly they run on the hour parts of the day, but I didn't see them.
Cons: Cleanliness of the facility, specifically the carpets. Update the AC for rooms and the main walkways. Either upgrade free breakfast or do without.
Location: Located awkwardly upon a hilltop off of the Baltimore Washington Parkway. Italian restaurant next door was OK.
The hotel is outdated in many ways. The air conditioning in the room was struggling to maintain 75 degrees. In the hallways it was warmer. The staff was kind enough to provide a box fan, but that made sleep difficult to come by due to the noise. The carpet in the room and hallways is old. So old that it reeks of unidentifiable odors. It doesn't need shampooed, it needs replacement. Bath tub shows significant age as well. There were areas where the surface had cracked and washed away thus leaving jagged edges to snag on your feet. Fitness center...not even worth visiting. One treadmill, two stationary bikes, free weights, and a water cooler. That's it. And not much space to move around. Elevator...extremely slow and shows age. Even the honeycomb directly beneath the light shows age as one corner section was missing. Another spot is the final home of a former patron's chewing gum. Gross... Speaking of gross: Breakfast. Do not consider their breakfast a value. While it is available at no additional cost, it amounts to bulk pastries, fruits, plain yogurt, cold cereal, fruit juice, instant waffles, and re-hydrated powdered eggs. Skip the eggs, they were flavorless. The waffles are so-so. But if you plan on getting breakfast, better hit it early. The food is located in a tight area of the dining hall. Get a crowd in there...good luck getting something to eat without having a lengthy wait. Shuttle service to the station was good though. Saves driving into DC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

It was nice and close to everything.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
I would have rated this hotel higher but the refrigerator in our room was not working and the TV only gets 4 channels. The rests were blurry. Breakfast area is very crowded always. Overall our stay was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roach Motel

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: NOTHING!!!!!!
Cons: RENOVATION!!!!!
The Lobby is small and very congested. The Elevator can only fit one person in it at a time along with bagagge. The Elevator takes so long you will just go ahead and take the stairs. Water was leaking into my room at looked like it had been leaking for a while due to the amount of MOLD I saw on the panel. The Air Conditioners do not keep the rooms cool and produce condensation that is weakening the foundation of the sheet rock in the walls. They are bound to fall right out of the wall at any time. RUST is VERY Visible inside the room. Stairwells are Horrible. There is no elevator on the wing of the Hotel that has smoking rooms. Bathrooms are TINY.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Great Barrington, MA

Hard to find entry using GPS

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Location was relatively close to FedEx Field where I needed to go for an event.
Cons: talk to Google about the directions and map issue.
Location: Location was relatively close to FedEx Field
First difficulty was locating the entrance driveway using the Google Maps voice Directions. Seems like Google doesn't have an updated location of the driveway. If you google address for the map, the hotel appears, but the driveway entry isn't showing up and the voice directions led me to a dead end - where I could see the hotel but not how to get there. After a few minutes I did find the back driveway. Then next day the GPS still led me to the wrong street. Then pool was closed, and the tub in our room (#407) was peeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good value for your money

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Pros: Staff was great , very polite and courteous. Provided free shuttle back and forth to the train station.
Cons: Breakfast menu
We had a very good experience . We stayed for 7 nights and its close to downtown DC. The room was cleaned everyday and breakfast was good and in abundance, though I would like to change the menu may be every other day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greer, SC

Renovated rooms, but still has an old touch

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Check in took pretty long since basically only one front desk person was available and the other front desk person was busy with another family for at least 15 minutes (not sure what the problem was). It would have been nice to show on a map where our room was exactly located - so I had to search for it before getting the suitcases out of the car. The numbering of the rooms is difficult since the hotel has several first floors (located on a sloped hill). Otherwise the rooms were nice and clean. We had an own fridge in the room. Considering the good price of the hotel I might stay there again as long as it's for only one or two nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Bedroom clean, hall musty, breakfast disappointing

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Great Price, Pleasing Staff
Cons: Continental Breakfast. Softer towels
Location: Noticed some shops were about 3-5miles down the road, however, the location itself was a little bit hard to find. Definitely need a car to get around.
For a one night stay, the hotel was fine. The location was a little difficult to find, however. The hotel staff was pleasing and efficient and gave me my room right away. Walking throughout the hallway to get to the bedroom, the hallway smelled musty and smoke filled. Thankfully, however, the bedroom did not carry that scent. The bedroom and bathroom were clean overall, however, I would not dare to walk on the carpet with my bare feet. You can tell the carpet was dirty with stains throughout. The bathroom toilet seat wasn't entirely clean upon arrival and the towels were very rough to the skin. There were also hairs in the bath towels from previous use. Continental Breakfast was not pleasing to my tastes at all. What added to my displeasure was that the same musty smell was present in the continental breakfast room and a woman was coughing violently without covering her mouth around the food area. I left without eating. However, for the price and a one night stay, I would come back to this hotel -- I would just make sure to bring my own towels in addition to bedroom flip flops :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2015 by Sarah , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you letting us know what you did and did not like about your stay, with this feedback we can continue to improve upon our services as well as share this with the managers as they finalize the hotel plans for future upgrades (which includes new carpet throughout) We hope to welcome you back next year to our new and improved hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, great breakfast

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Very friendly staff, great breakfast and reasonable rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review and feedback for us. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel was a good fit for your travel needs.