Ratings based on 1,819 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, ab.

15 min from all the attraction by Vehcile.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
It was good experience, for the price which we paid.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything was acceptable except for lack of A/C

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The large beds, microwave, and mini-fridge with freezer were big pluses.
Cons: There needs to be a functioning air conditioning system in that building, and it seems like the entire thing needs to be overhauled to 2014 standards.
Location: The location is not in the most 'appealing' area, but there are several sub shops, carry-outs, and fast food restaurants up the road in New Carrollton
I am not a fan of heat, so it was major points against this motel because my room lacked anything close to an "air conditioner." First of all, the thermostat looked like it came from 1983! It was so old, generic, totally outdated, and may have been there since the hotel opened many moons ago. Next, even though I had the ancient thermostat set to 60 degrees, a sound came from the A/C vent that gave the impression something was cranking, nothing close to "cool air" was being produced. It got so bad, that during the night, my body woke me up because it was so hot and uncomfortable, and I was literally DRENCHED in sweat! Luckily, the old motel has windows that open. Not so good because the were no screens on either side of the window. Fortunately, despite the lack of screens, these summer nights have been atypically cool so my room actually cooled down tremendously with the windows open, so I could actually sleep comfortably. For that reason, I would be weary to stay in that motel again. Who wants to pay to sleep in miserable conditions?? On the plus side, the room was spacious, the two beds were HUGE, surprisingly there was a microwave in the room, a mini-fridge w/ freezer (I really appreciated that!), a coffeemaker, and 20 " flat screen television with basic cable. On those merits, I would recommend the motel if you're not heat sensitive such as I am. The staff was also pretty nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Close to D.C, but located in bad neighborhood.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Hotel was reasonably priced per night, but the neighborhood it was located was terrible. I would not recommend someone to go out at night near this hotel. The staff was very courteous, and helpful. I saw several families in the hotel which made it feel safer, but also saw some questionable people there as well. Overall, great location that was not at D.C prices, but not something I would recommend to other families. If you single, and just looking to spend the night there with some friends, it is a great choice. Parking lot security did a good job of insuring vehicles were not broken into.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

I was expecting less based on price we paid.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Nightly price. Size of rooms. Helpful front-desk personnel. Quiet. Free shuttle bus to the Metro. Free parking. Great restaurant nearby.
Cons: Needs updated elevator. Smoking rooms need to be separated from non-smoking rooms. Extra help for the free breakfast on busy days. Even no of pillows.
Location: We chose the central location between Maryland and D.C. There is a great restaurant nearby. One side of hotel backs up to trees and is quiet.
I did a lot of research before we travelled to the area. I'm always looking for a deal and found higher rated hotels, but they were not in the area we needed. Ultimately, the price, location and reasonable rating were my deciding factors. Travelling with me were two kids and my mother who is a "senior". Very impressed with the man at the front desk who did our check-in. The biggest drawback of this hotel is the elevator. It is TINY and slow and is more of a size designed for hotel staff, but we had a lot of luggage and taking the stairs just wasn't an option part of the time. There was a bit of a musty smell in the hallway of the 5th floor and although we were in a non-smoking room it smelled a bit smoky. It was good size though and had two queen-size beds which was nice. An odd number of pillows per bed (3)....why not 2 or 4? Our room backed up to the trees, which made it quiet of evenings. The breakfast area, which is large and accommodating, was quite chaotic at 8:30 a.m. the first morning we were there (Saturday). That must be prime time because we couldn't find a table and ended up taking the food back to our room. The helper (only 1) seemed overwhelmed trying to keep up stocking all the food, beverages, and so on. Good selection of foods and the second morning was much less busy. One great perk is that this hotel offers a free shuttle bus to the Metro and the woman I spoke with at the front desk was very helpful giving directions. Great restaurant nearby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Hotel located in top of hill. Nice place, Breakfast menu is limited. Expected more from this hotel. Gate closes at 11 PM. Walmart is nearby. Our washroom lock was broken and never repaired even after asking for it. Would recommend as a last resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Its quietness makes it a good place to have rest during vacation and it's not very far from the downtown espestially when you have a car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review, we appreciate you letting us know you had a great stay. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

It's very convenient for travellers right off 295.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The shuttle bus to and from the subway & breakfast.
Cons: Allow the shuttle bus to run a little later and extend breakfast for another hour. 9:00 AM is too early to end it.
Location: Great location on 295 and less than 45 minutes from all the major attractions in DC, including the White House.
I enjoyed my stay with my two children. Breakfast was delicious. The kids love the self made paincakes. There is a free shuttle bus taking to and from the subway station where you can take the orange line to Washington DC. The only downside of that is that you need to be back at the station before 11PM so that you can get the shuttle bus back to the hotel. Otherwise, you'll have to take a cab back. Over all, it was a good experience, and I would go back there if I am in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your trip with us. We are pleased to see you had a great stay and appreciate your positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are visiting DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Cons: The hallways smelled like smoke. To nonsmokers this is really displeasing.
My family and I stayed one night before a day of site seeing in Washington D.C.. It is close to the metro, the staff was incredibly friendly, the rooms clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very review and positive feedback. We are pleased to see the Howard Johnson Cheverly was a good fit for your families travel needs and you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again the next time you are visiting DC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aceptable hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Good experience, aceptable distance from monuments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your positive experience. We are pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back for a future visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Satisfactory stay, too far from City Attractions

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: The hotel provided free breakfast and the room was cleaned.
Cons: While some staff were pleasant I felt that I was conned out of money during my stay. The hotel also smelt unpleasant.
Location: Georgetown is about 20 minute drive but there is a lot of nice cafes there. Also the washington city tours if you want to do all the touristy things
The Room was satisfactory. I found that it was a little too far from the city attractions. The hotel provided a free shuttle but it only dropped you off at a random metro station which you had to use as there was nothing to do around it. I was a little annoyed on one of the days of my stay as the hotel advertised the hop on hop off city bus tour. It seemed like the right thing to do to pick up our tickets from there. However when we went to purchase them the girl said we needed cash in hand. This meant walking to a nearby gas station to get cash out of a machine which charged us. We then went to buy the tickets and the girl explained that she had no change for us so we would have to wait for her to get change. This took an hour which I was extremely irritated by but on the promise that we would be saving money because we wouldn't have to pay for a metro to buy the tickets we patiently waited. When she finally gave us our change we got the free shuttle to where she said we could get the city tour. This was a lie as we got dropped off at a different metro station and then had to pay for a metro anyway so wasted an entire hour and ended up paying more money than we would have had to. I also wouldn't recommend the city tours either as they are advertised at 24hour when in reality they only run from 8.30am-6pm for $48 which is a complete rip off and I would recommend metros instead. I would definitely visit georgetown. It was a very lively, yet quaint town.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Sarah, Hotel Management
We understand that location is key when selecting a hotel appreciate you being our guests. We are sorry to see that our hotel was not a good fit for you due to the distance to the city. I am really sorry to hear of the difficulties you had with one of the tours that stops at our hotel, we are not affiliated with the Hop On Hop Off Tour, but we don't want our guests to be dissatisfied with something we advertise. We will speak immediately with them and ensure this kind of situation does not happen again and offer additional training to our team so we can properly inform our guests how the tour works.