Ratings based on 917 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grosse Pointe, MI

Perfect location for all the attractions.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Beautiful lobby and friendly staff.
Less than 2 blocks away from White House. We were able to walk to all attractions: Monument Mall, Holocaust Museum, Smithsonian Musuems, Captial Building... We arrived after midnight and had requested 2 double beds. Only King bed rooms were available, so they upgraded us to a beautiful suite. Concierge was fantastic and sent us to great restaurants, all within walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Best Value

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location. Loved the lobby too and in-house Starbucks.
Location: Every Washington DC monument.
This hotel is clean, modern and beautiful. It's all about location! This hotel is in the middle of it all. TIP: If you wake up before 9am, stop by the fitness center. They leave a large bowl of fresh fruit there each morning. Makes for a great breakfast!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Lack of hospitality especially concerning the cost

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The hotel was nice on the inside and the location was convenient but the only drinks and snacks available were the overpriced ones in the room and the gift shop. No vending machines on the property, and the gift shop charged 5 cents for a bag to put your purchases in. Honestly I have been in hotels that were half the price that did much more to be sure the needs of the guests were met. It seems that this hotel just wants to make money and has forgotten that it is in hospitality industry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Dan Mckeon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback is one of the best tools that we have to better service our guests in the future. Please allow me to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I’m so sorry that your stay was less than enjoyable for the few reasons that you highlighted above. We try our very best to ensure each guest leaves our property satisfied with their trip, regardless of the reason for travel. Again, I sincerely apologize we were not able to accomplish that goal for your stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. If you’d like to discuss this issue any further, please feel free to reach out to me directly and I’d be happy to assist in any way possible . Kind Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was perfect

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Loved the staff, food, service. We highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and relaxing

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: location
Location: it is one of the best places to be and walk aroun of the interesting places
It was nice but we did not find the safe box into the room, i have to ask for it and they spent a couple of days to install it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Location two blocks from the Washington Mall.
Cons: Ventilation system in bathroom was the only complaint. The bathroom fills with steam and there seemed to be no working ventilation fan.
Location: Every major museum & monument along the National Mall plus the White House and Capitol.
The J.W. Marriott is in an ideal location if you are out exploring the Washington Mall and all that it has to offer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston, texas

Perfect location for sightseeing and museums

Posted Jul 7, 2014
The hotel is just east of the White House and a few blocks from the center of the National Mall. The Federal triangle and old Post Office are on the walk to the mall. 2 closely located Metro stops for getting around. We stayed over July 4th and things were great despite the crowds. Very comfortable rooms and friendly staff. There's a Starbucks in the lobby and a great bar. The restaurant does a good breakfast buffet. Across from the historic Willard hotel. The JW Marriott is a perfect location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Located right in the middle of the action

Posted Jul 7, 2014
This hotel's location is PERFECT but honestly, the room is comparable to one at a Hampton...but for $200/ night more. The staff was very nice and helpful but I was SHOCKED at the price of food in there. It was outrageous! I highly recommend going out, at least a few blocks, to the local eateries. They were reasonably priced for our family of four.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

Very nice hotel and close to DC sites.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
We had really enjoyed our stay for the 4th of July.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent hotel close to all.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Location: Near White House, Mall, and most Museums
I have stayed at this hotel several times and have always had a great experience.