Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in DC .

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Clean and very close to downtown .
Cons: Keep vending machines in working order .
Location: Downtown Washington DC
Hotel was great . Vending machines on our floor did not work .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novi, MI

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Very nice holt and staff. Very convenient location. Only issue is pay parking when parking structure is never full and over zealous officers with Public Safety Department of associated college.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Very disappointed in this hotel :(

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Cleanliness, garbage needs to be changed, free coffee, nicer and more helpful staff!
Location: Nothing is close to this hotel, but the bus takes you to the Free monuments and free museums located ten min away.
The purpose of our trip was to visit The college that the hotel is located next to. Upon arriving there were about 300 teenage children walking around outside and inside the hotel. When I asked the front desk who they were she said a working program and was rude when I asked if they were staying in the hotel. She also did not give me the parking pass when we checked in( I didn't know I needed one till later) even though we talked about where to park. We almost checked out of the hotel after seeing the room, but tried to be positive. The room was small, beds hard, air condition leaking water and not very cold, dust everywhere, hair on the bathroom wall, bad lighting, and mold in the bathtub. Since it was one night we decided to deal w/ it (when we called other hotels they were all booked). Before we left to go to the monuments that afternoon, we asked if we could get two more pillows and to fix the ac. She said NP. When we came back nothing was done, no pillows! Also the bus driver of the free bus service told us too call when we need to be picked up. I called she said call back in two min, I did many times. no answer. I had to take a cab! I would not recommend this place at all. Very disappointed!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable; decent location

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: It was comfortable, the room was reasonably priced, and well-located.
Cons: The breakfast was pretty expensive and not all that great. It cost $30 for two people for the buffet that included eggs, and the food was kind of cold
The room was nice. Beds were comfortable, size of the room was good, etc. No complaints. The hotel is quite centrally located, so that is great if you're touring around DC, and I believe it is a lot less expensive than other centrally located hotels. The hotel is on the campus of Gallaudet University, and there is a shuttle that takes you to Union Metro Station. The scheduled shuttle runs finish kind of early in summer (7pm - last pick-up at Union Station taking you to the hotel) so we ended up taking cabs back to the hotel sometimes. That wasn't a big deal because it only cost $10 (not including tip). They also have another shuttle service which picks you up or drops you off at the location of your choice (within a certain distance), but I don't think it operates on weekends. I have read mixed reviews about the immediate neighbourhood. I didn't want to chance walking to the nearby Noma Metro Station in the dark so we opted to take cabs from Union Station rather than walk. We walked to the nearby Union Market during the day, and it seemed fine, but I didn't want to take a chance just to save $10.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They treat you like family

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Many of The staff who work at this hotel are fluent in English and sign. There are some staff who are completely deaf, yet communicated seamlessly with me. It was a beautiful experience! My sister has been to this hotel numerous times and they treat her like family. We also like the shuttle bus that takes you to the train station and to the closest airport if you don't have to be there super early. It make it very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Great nice quiet experience. Very nice surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Wonderful Staff

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Staff most of all - very accommodating!
Cons: I wish there had been more places to dine
Location: Union Station is but a short shuttle ride away and from there one can go anywhere in D.C.
I did not know where to stay in DC so I picked this based on some reviews I read on Expedia. My wife and I had traveled for over 12 hours by the time we reached the hotel. The airlines had lost my wife's luggage and were not to concerned with that even though I advised them that all of her medications to help treat her cancer were in her luggage. While at the Kellogg Conference Center I was relating this all to the staff at the desk, especially a young lady named Tiara. She was on the phone to the airlines and raised quite the fuss, and we got our luggage a few hours later. Coupling her enthusiasm and customer service with the wonderful drivers we had on the shuttles, and the peaceful campus, my wife and I were most pleased with our stay. The campus is a relatively short distance from D.C. so it is quiet but still close enough that the shuttle can get you almost anyplace you would like. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here and would not hesitate to return should we find ourselves in D.C. again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Meh stay. No free parking.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Cons: Parking should be included.
Stayed here as a last resort for a last minute room in D.C. mostly because it was the cheapest of the few places available. The stay itself was ok though the building was under renovations, mostly likely why it was discounted. What they don't tell you when you book your room is that they will charge you for a day if you cancel within 24hrs of the reservation. Check in took longer than in any place I've ever stayed in my entire life. While checking in, you learn that overnight parking costs $18/night and the hotel accepts no responsibility for anything lost or stolen from your car or hotel room after it's too late to reconsider. They also specify that if they have to clean much they will bill you extra so don't throw up anywhere or try to smoke out the window.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Wonderful setting.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Very clean. Good service. Cable was out. The grounds were beautiful. An oasis in the metropolis.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Good. Its inside a 150 yrs old university. The surrounding is green. Overall a very good exp.