Ratings based on 939 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, UK

Nice hotel, very near to the sites you need to see

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Pros: Its closeness to the tourist sites
Cons: Parking could be cheap
Location: Location perfect, walking distance to White House, Lincoln Memorial etc.
We just needed by a couple of days in Washington before flying back to the UK this Hotelprovided a perfect base, it was clean comfortable the staff friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Well located for all that DC has to offer!

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Pros: location and style
Location: walking distance to the great monuments
Very accommodating staff that gave us access to our room early as our room was available. Great Argentinian restaurant and nice bar at hotel. A complementary Fiat car service which was a nice extra! sophisticated interiors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In der Nähe der wichtigsten Sehenswürdigkeiten.

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Sehr freundliches Personal, hilfsbereit und sehr guter Service.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff but hotel not 4*

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Loud noise coming from AC Room service operator.. Supposed to call back.. Didn't No shower cap, body lotion, shower gel Location is awesome. Front desk staff is great but I guess I expected more from a Loews property
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom milano

Hotel fatiscente e sporco

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Nulla
Cons: Pulizia , manutenzione , rapporto qualità - prezzo .
L'hotel non ha alcun tipo di manutenzione , le camere hanno una superficie ridottissima , l'acqua e le scatole dei biscotti sopra le mensole erano completamente pieni di polvere . Nel bagno non c'erano nè ciabattine nè prodotti per la pulizia personale , anche il bagno non era pulito . La moquette era tutta macchiata e sporca . Non c'era spazio sufficiente per appendere i vestiti nell'armadio . Gli asciugamani erano sporchi e le lenzuola tutte bucate .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire UK

Convent for walking to the main attractions

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Cons: Mini bar prices very high, could be more reasonable. Efficient and working hair driers for each room.
Location: Walked to all museums, whitehouse, etc. evening restaurants not close by but walkable.
Hotel was very comfortable, happy hour each evening in the bar was a nice addition, as was the Starbucks for an early morning coffee. Staff very attentive and friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Cheraz Ecker, Hotel Management
Dear Jane, Thank you for visiting us recently and taking the time to review your stay. I'm delighted to learn that you were very comfortable during your stay and that our staff was exceptional. They work very hard everyday to ensure our guests have a wonderful experience and I'm happy to know that this was the case for you. I look forward to welcoming you back anytime your travels bring you to DC. Warm regards, Justin Adam
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Stayed three nights to enjoy Washington D.C. The hotel was okay, we missed a pool but you can't have it all. The hotel staff was very friendly and the facilities were okay. The location is in a very quiet area and in not too far distance you can walk to the Metro.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2015 by Cheraz Ecker, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback. I'm very happy to hear that you found our staff fantastic and the hotel itself nice. I'm sorry to learn that you were hoping for a swimming pool. Unfortunately that is one feature we are unable to provide our guests. I thank you for staying with us and hope to welcome you back again the next time you are in DC. Warm regards, Justin Adam
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
A very good value for the money. Hotel was every bit as clean and comfortable as I could hope for at this price. The location is great if you're going to be using the Metro as it's really close to at least 2 stops. My only gripe is that the staff could have been a bit more accommodating and helpful. At times it wasn't clear who was doing what and when I dropped off and picked up my luggage for the day it took a little too much time to get things sorted out.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Cheraz Ecker, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your five star review. We are delighted to know that you found our hotel to be a great value and that you were able to take advantage of our central location. I'm sorry to hear that you felt our staff could have been more accommodating. This is a very rare find as most guests cite our friendly team members as our number one asset. I'm sorry this was not the case for you. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future so we may show you the friendly and fantastic team our guests have come to love. Thank you again for staying with us. Warm regards, Justin Adam Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close walking distance from monuments

Posted Jan 3, 2015
I enjoyed my stay here. The only turn off was the smell of covered up cigarettes.. That really musky smell. Also bed was a little firm. All in all the hotel still had great decor, great staff, and is in a convenient location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Cheraz Ecker, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you found a strange smell in your room and the bed was a little firm for your liking. For the future please know that we appreciate our guests reporting these items while on property so we have the opportunity to address your concerns and make you more comfortable while with us. It is great to know that despite this, you had a good stay and really enjoyed our staff. Thanks so much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Warm regards, Justin Adam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing Special

Posted Jan 3, 2015
The hotel was "okay". I've stayed at other 4 and 5 star hotels, and do not feel that this one is up to par. They charge for everything! Some of the staff members are nice, while others give you average service. I like feeling more welcomed when I visit hotels. I wouldn't go as far as saying this is a bad hotel, but there's definitely room for improvement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2015 by Cheraz Ecker, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you did not get the experience you were expecting. Our team strives very hard every day to exceed our guests' expectations and clearly we fell short of that with you. I apologize for this let down and hope that you would consider giving us the opportunity to welcome you again and show you our true Loews service. Warm regards, Justin Adam Director of Rooms