Ratings based on 436 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Located on the Potomac close to the Mall

Posted Apr 30, 2015
The staff was wonderful from concierge , spa, reception , to housekeeping . More than accomadating. I was slightly disappointed in the look of the hotel and the decor. For the money I expected slightly higher end . Muze restaurant is good but the crumbs on banquet seats bothered me and this was not corrected after I told them . Location is this hotel's strong point if you intend to visit the Mall . Otherwise isolated from cafes, etc . They leave a lovely advice card on your pillow each day . The linens had holes in them . The swimming pool was nice. The room service food was a 7 out of 10 . The housekeeping was good .I would rate this 3.5-4 * with 5 * prices . The Mandarin's strength is it's excellent employees. The hotel needs a rennovation and upgrade .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom greenwich, Connecticut

Beautiful hotel with easy access to all of the mon

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Lovely. Loved it! I was especially pleased with the size of the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expecting more

Posted Apr 20, 2015
This hotel is beautiful, facilities are lovely, and the location is great for sight-seeing. However, the service was very disappointing (with the exception of the front desk staff, who were lovely). Selected lowlights of our stay: We were not told what the hours for breakfast were when we arrived at the hotel, and when I came downstairs to the restaurant at 10:55am, the hostess told me that the restaurant closed for breakfast at 11am, and refused to allow us to enter the restaurant. We had also been told that the restaurant provided complimentary coffee, which she was putting away at the time, even though the carafes were full. My husband and I asked for 2 cups of coffee, which the hostess and another restaurant employee begrudingly provided. (I believe first they said that it might not be hot still--it was piping hot--then said they'd put away the cups and milk and could perhaps provide us with some). Note that there were other guests who still wanted coffee in addition to us. Perhaps coffee should be available past 11am on a weekend morning as a general rule. The hotel's purported "early start" was belied by the fact that hotel staff were just setting out the cushions on the couches outside at 11:30am. We were also not told that brunch began to be served at 11:45am, so we just ate food that we had brought ourselves. Breakfast on Sunday morning was mediocre. Prices for food and amenities are ridiculous. All in all, service could use improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maryland

Excellent Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2015
A wonderful hotel for visitors to Washington D.C. We went to view the Cherry Blossoms and it was very close to the Tidal Basin. After finding out about my birthday, the staff went out of their way to get us a nice room with a view. The room was a nice size and very clean. Dinner at the Muze restaurant was equally nice. Great dinner and outstanding service. We will definitely stay at the Mandarin Oriental on our next trip to D.C.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very disappointed

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: go to a park hyatt
i expected much better from this brand. the food was mediocre. service was not up to 5 stars rating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Nice hotel close to the Jefferson Memorial.

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Proximity to National Mall.
Cons: More dining options.
Very clean hotel, nice amenities. Only one restaurant at this hotel and not many within waling distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Apr 5, 2015
It is one of the best hotel experiences in the country.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Room was too hot. We informed the staff and nothing was done to improve it. Disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Amazing service Very attentive staff Comfortable beds Great location to walk to museums
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Service was great. The hotel was nice but not over the top.