Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed with service

Posted Jul 26, 2015
I love Mandarin Oriental as a brand, but DC hotel was a disappointment. Hotel itself was very nice, but staff was below-par. Promptness and quality of room service was very sub-par (worst bit was requested them to remove the table after finishing food and we left the room. When we came back later that night, we found that table was still there in-spite of the fact that house-keeping had been through the room to clean it). Concierge service was unprofessional, gave us wrong time for a tour we booked through them and we had to rush through to make it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Treated like a queen

Posted Jul 23, 2015
I made a last minute reservation to take my mother on an overnight to DC. I'd not stayed at this hotel before but had seen it when staying at the Willard nearby. My mother doesn't do a lot of walking and the patio with a beautiful view of the water looked like the perfect place to be away but without travel. Got there and from minute one to checkout it was a perfect experience. The staff is exceptional, the facility is spotless. We arrived with about 10 minutes to spare before I needed us to hop in a cab to make a dinner reservation. Without pause, they got our bags, indicated they'd put them in our room and we were in a cab on the road to Circa (also highly recommended), getting there with 2 minutes to spare. They hotel staff made what could have been a stressful experience an adventure that worked out without a hitch. Beautiful view of the Jefferson Memorial from our window was a true bonus. We'll definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2015
The room was comfortable, but the train noise below our window was very annoying.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Beautiful and close to the National Mall

Posted Jul 20, 2015
We loved the proximity to the National Mall. The staff was nice as well. Beware that there is a $44 plus tax charge for parking that we did not know about until we got there. Also, other than the hotel restaurant, there is not a lot of choice nearby for food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

관광객은 피해야할 호텔인듯

Posted Jul 19, 2015
한적한곳에 위치한 분위기 있는 호텔인것은 좋았으나 호텔로비 등에 관광객을 위한 안내물이나 유니온역이나 공항으로 셔틀운행이나 안내가 전혀 없어, 비즈니스방문이 아닌 가족 관광객에게는 부적합한 호텔인듯 하다.또한 체크인시에도 사무적이며 친절하지않았다. 룸청소나 메이드는 좋았다.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: non
tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant tres moyen, hotel decevant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Good choice for families

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Clean, comfortable, great amenities, good food with kids' menu, very welcoming for families!
Cons: 1) hairdryer was substandard; 2) no plug-in for smart phone by the bedside; 3) back door should be accessible using room key.
Location: very close to the Tidal Basin and Holocaust Museum; comfortable walk to Smithsonian metro stop.
Stayed four nights over July Fourth weekend - mom, dad & 2 young children (ages 5 and 7). Pleased with location and quality of the facility. Kids loved their pandas. Had a dinner and a breakfast at the hotel restaurant and everyone in the family was very pleased with both meals. Concierge was extremely helpful in assisting us to get tickets to various sights, book IMAX tickets at the Smithsonian, etc. Kids went swimming one day and had a good time - although note the entire pool is only 4 feet deep, so not for serious swimmers. Hotel within walking distance of two metro stops, which we used extensively.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Nice size room, spacious bathroom, relaxing environment after a busy bustle of the city. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good service, weak location.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: First, regarding the Staff rating, it is really close to excellent. Overall great job by the staff. Very helpful and responsive guest services service
Cons: More attention to cleaning. We found hair in each room. Concierge needs to be able to make excellent restaurant recommendations.
Location: We didn't like the location. It is nice but no nearby retail and walking to/from the main tourist areas was arduous for us.
The location is a bit off the beaten DC path. With all the walking in DC, it would be nicer if the hotel were a few blocks closer. Also, the neighboring retail and restaurant is essentially non-existent. Starbucks and CVS closed early and not open on Sunday. That said, after asking, the hotel provided us a few courtesy rides to a few restaurants and national sites. One driver was excellent and actually made a great dining recommendation. The Concierge staff was very nice and helpful but I'd have to say there is room for improvement. The dining recommendations were poor and presumably due to being busy, the follow-up was either slow or forgotten. Guest services was overall near perfect except for a forgotten water delivery. We had some issues such as room view not what we expected and room keys not working. Concerns for our comfort was their priority. They moved us twice to better rooms, first for the room view issue and second for the key not working issue. At the first day when we arrived we were tired and hungry and the room had a poor view, they offered to move us but it took them long to get us the new room key, so they sent us a bottle of wine and some cheese and nuts to the new room. The day before we were to leave, after a long walking day in DC, we returned to find our key not working. Room services key didn't work either, so they moved us to another room. Both moves were very much appreciated. Overall, we enjoyed the hotel, but not so much the location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Cons: Charging $15 per day for Internet seems petty. Why not build it into the room price since virtually everyone needs Internet these days?
Nice place and great location. Room was spacious... large bathroom with separate tub and shower. Great service.