Ratings based on 908 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely accomodation close to rail and main sites

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Historic
PLeasant stay with ery helpful staff and nice amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by VR from Austin, TX

Positive experience

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Small room, but clean and comfortable. Great for the price! And I walked to the national mall and white house (~10 minutes). I would go back again for sure. And they also had coffee, cookies throughout the day, and breakfast in the morning. Overall, very good for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The history and the front staff very helpful
Cons: Water pressure in shower/ sink.
Very characteristic, nice area of Washington, would stay again.
2 out of 5
by Djuro

Don't go there, badly trained staff

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: It is a nice, historical building in downtown Washington.
Cons: For the moment almost everything
Location: Gallery Place Station, Congress Center, National Galery of Art, Chinatown
The hotel is in a reconstruction area and will be there for at least one year. The stab is careless - I kept asking for a taxi and almost lost my train. The receptionist simply didn't react. Wireless internet in the room didn't work, I got a connection after I repeatedly requested. The room cleaner jumped in without nocking on the door - I just left the bathroom... The surrounding is no more an advantage, until the reconstruction is over, and a new management appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

If you like historic hotel, please do stay here!

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: the decor of the room
Cons: wifi and a better breakfast
Location: NA
I have to say it's one of the best historic hotels. I love the decor of the room. The door man was very friendly and polite, even though I did not feel the same warmth from check in lady. Overall, the staff are good enough to provide all useful info. The location is perfect, easy to access public transportation.And the area feels safe too. Wifi signal was bad, that's only thing I want to complain. Breakfast is so so, they have some pasty, cereal and bread toast. It's enough, but nothing special. It's next to busy street, so during the day it could be very noisy. In the evening, it's ok for me.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Yabucoa

Long Weekend in DC

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: They did place us in a very quiet room on the bottom floor and we had no noise, as a matter of fact aside from the fact that its in the city!
Location: Great restaurants nearby, Metro short walk.
The hotel is undergoing renovations and all previous reviews were spot on so we knew what to expect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2014
well situated and comfortable - not much more to say, I recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely stay again!

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: Historic environment and kind staff.
Cons: Current construction to be over.
Location: CVS, coffee shops, sightseeing attractions and train stations. The circular bus ($1) stop was only two minutes walk away and very convenient.
Very historic and beautiful hotel. It may not appeal as contemporary and sleek, but this hotel provides comfort and traditional hotel atmosphere. The staff was very helpful and kind. They offered us an upgrade to a bigger room with an extra bed at only $35. It was more than worth it. The location was amazingly convenient. Went for a run to the Lincoln Memorial, White House and other beautiful places. Free cookies and coffee in mid day and breakfast was nice. We'd definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by B. Had from idaho

Great historical experience.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
If your expecting a hotel with history then this is for you. Loved the decor and incredible staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from WI

Affordable hotel near the White House

Posted Mar 24, 2014
The front desk people are friendly, and the fees charged included breakfast with the only pity it does not include cooked food like eggs or bacons. But you can feed yourself with the bread, toast, muffin, apples, oranges, cereals, milk, juices, and coffee. Glad they have hot water for breakfast. We got room 312, at the discounted price, which is exposed to the construction. The construction begins at around 7am till afternoon except Sundays. So it is fine as long as you just need the room to sleep or you are okay with some noises. Generally speaking, I am satisfied to have the room, which is at a really convenient location, at this price.