Ratings based on 2,617 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Visit to DC with a 6-year-old

Posted Apr 18, 2015
My son and I loved the hotel. Great location (close to zoo and metro), comfy beds, and the pool was even open (a little ahead of schedule). Everyone who worked here was very nice. Would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Beautiful older hotel with excellent staff

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and located close to Adams Morgan area where I needed to be. Taxi service to downtown tourist sites were reasonable.
Cons: Front lobby could be more wheelchair friendly.
Location: Restaurants close by. Beautiful parks and hey its D.C. so lots to do and see. Remember the Smithsonian museums are free admission!
The hotel is beautiful and has wonderful staff. I had an excellent view of Rock Creek Park. The food is delicious, but the quantities are huge. Unless you are a big eater, I suggest splitting entrees and sharing. Hotel restaurant and room service were both great. The staff was very accommodating and assisted me be lending my mother a wheelchair for the duration of our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Disappointing

Posted Apr 17, 2015
Pros: Concierge and Valet outstanding.
Cons: Rooms need a major renovation.
Hotel staff is very professional and up to 4 star standards. The rooms were shockingly outdated - carpets, drapes, furniture in sitting area are so old and worn you cant help but feel that the room is unclean. Other reviews have described the hotel as art deco - it is actually just old and worn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would visit again for sure

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Good location, clean, friendly staff. Great value for the cost
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Nice hotel north of downtown DC

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Location: Can walk to the Smithsonian Zoo and easy access to the Metro to go downtown DC
Hotel had spacious room with King Bed, good service from the staff. In hotel eating was expensive, but there are plenty of dining choice within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Nice, not too expensive hotel for a short stay.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Its location and its staff.
Cons: This hotel is probably due for some kind of rejunevation.
Location: See above.
This a nice, not too expensive, very large (over 800 rooms), old fashion hotel, close to a metro station (Woodley Park) that gives access conveniently to all Washington monuments. We arrived very lately, but we were welcomed very courteously at the doorstep. The room was spacious and confortable, and very clean. There is a small fridge with 2 bottles of water. The air conditioned system is an old one and a little noisy. The bathroom is small, the joint between the sink and the pedestal was broken, so that it was not possible to lean on it even lightly. The shower was a classic one, over a small bath, with no hand-held shower. The dining room is very nice and the staff (with some minor exceptions) lived up to our expectations. The food was very good. The terrace, with the cherry blossoms, was absolutely gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel minutes from Red line Metro

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, large very comfortable rooms
Location: National Zoo, Textile Museum, National Cathedral, Woodrow Wilson House, Dupont Circle, The Phillips Collection, Downtown Bethesda, Friendship Heights
Very nice historical hotel, great location right across from Metro, very conveniently located with easy access/walkable distance to Dupont Circle, National Cathedral and National Zoo, close to restaurants, and all major activities in city, huge rooms, very helpful staff and service, great experience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom L.A

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A/C & Heater and cleanness
Location: Near subway
I found the hairs on bedding cover and pillows when I walked in the room, This hotel is old and has old heating system.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2015
A beautiful hotel, great restaurant too...we ate out on the veranda overlooking the garden...a real nice experience...delicious food
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, PA

Location was great, Close to the Zoo and Metro

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Close to the zoo and Metro Station
Cons: Microwave inside the room would be a plus
Location: Close to the Zoo, Places to eat, Metro Station
Room was a little disappointing for the money spent. I've stayed closer to downtown for cheaper rooms with more amenities and better views