Ratings based on 1,112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Washington near Railway Station.

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The location was Fantastic and the Dubliner pub was a terrific bonus.
Cons: More coffee in the rooms.
All was fantastic except the coffee situation. We only were provided with enough coffee for one cup each per day, it would have been nice to have enough for one in the evening and one in the morning. We did ask for more and were reluctantly given an extra issue. Apart this minor irritation the actual room and staff were great, and the Dubliner was a huge bonus, loved the food and the convenience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Nice hotel near Union Station

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, comfortable and clean rooms
Cons: I didn't have any suggestions.
Location: Close to Union Station (metro) and National Mall.
My sister and I had a very good experience at this hotel. The staff couldn't have been any nicer. When I arrived very early on my check in day, they searched and found an available room and immediately checked me in. I wasn't expecting to be able to check in until later that afternoon, so it was a pleasant surprise. They also gave me a late check out time. The beds were so comfortable that I actually asked what kind of mattresses they used. They researched and were able to provide me with the name. This hotel is an old one, but has been taken care of and was very clean. Since it was an older hotel, the thick walls provided for a very quiet room. The location of the hotel was great since it was not only close to Union Station, but also the Capitol. I even saw my congressman in the restaurant close to the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crown Point, Indiana

Nice place to stay

Posted Jul 3, 2014
This hotel is across the street from Union Station which means you have quick access to the Metro. It is also minutes from the Capital and the Supreme Court. In fact, you get a beautiful view of the Capital's dome standing just outside the doorway. Rooms are very clean and well maintained. Another reviewer complained the rooms are small. They are small, but so what? If you're a tourist, you're there to sleep and shower. Our room was very nice. Pillows big and soft. Stop complaining! Get out of your room and see the sights. Staff is friendly, especially the bellmen. The Dubliner, an Irish pub connected to the hotel serves reasonable food with a large selection of whiskeys and a nice beer selection. Nice place to eat and drink...quiet...and good Irish entertainment. Parking is fifty dollars a night, but there is cheaper parking down the block or at Union Station. The room rates were very reasonable for Washington, but you either need to walk a lot to get to places or take a cab or the Metro. It's a healthy jaunt to the Smithonian and the White House. But then, you're not paying $350 a night such as those hotels that have closer proximity. I wish the hotel had a concierge. Front desk people were helpful to an extent, but a full time concierge would have expertise to guide guests better. Also the wifi was almost non existent...that bothered me a lot. You will not be disappointed in your stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Union Station and Capitol, National Mall
Great experience. Convenient location. Like having the Dubliner access for meals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We Will Stay There Again at Every Opportunity

Posted Jun 29, 2014
A delightful boutique hotel, wonderfully located across from Union Station and the Metro. Pleasant, charming, accommodating staff. Our room was beautifully appointed, and the bed was luxurious. Wonderful towels. Couldn't be more pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overall, excellent hotel; great location.

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Old Irish charm. Great pub.
Cons: Elevators are old and small; and thus slow.
Location: excellent location
Excellent hotel. The Guinness in the Irish Pub downstairs is among the best anywhere outside of Ireland. If you come in on the train it is a short walk across the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Great location

Posted Jun 24, 2014
The hotel location is excellent. The only thing I will complain is the Bathroom doesn't have a bathtub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rachel from Boston

Awesome location, tiny rooms

Posted Jun 19, 2014
The staff here was fantastic - really friendly and helpful, courteous, and very professional. The room was very comfortable, other than the size. The desk chair couldn't pull out all the way, and even when pushed in, beware if you're a large person - I'm not, and still has to turn sideways to get across the room!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the Capitol

Posted Jun 9, 2014
This hotel was very clean and the location was excellent for walking to all of the Smithsonian Museums. Staff during checkout was very friendly; however, staff during check in acted as if he didn't want to be bothered.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit and I am sorry you did not find all our team members so hospitable. I will review your comments with each of them personally so that others do not share that some impression. We appreciate your business.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathy from Virginia

A Very Nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: I liked the nice restaurant/pub with it's Irish theme and friendly staff . I LOVED the comfortable beds and bedding.
Cons: The decor was very attractive. The only improvement I would suggest is new doors for the rooms.
Location: Great location for tourists. The Post Office Museum is right across the street and Union Station with it's many boutique shops is a very short walk.
We were very pleased with our choice. We were greeted at the door and our room was ready. The Phoenix was a very good location for us as we could board any of the tour busses at Union Station, just a short walk away. We enjoyed our room's decor and found the beds and bedding to be VERY COMFORTABLE. We had a wonderful brunch in the pub at a reasonable price. You will feel like you're in Europe at this hotel. They have a friendly and very helpful staff. I would definitely stay here again. On weekends, you can park across the street free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2014 by Management, Hotel Management
We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and our team looked after you so well. Thank you.