Ratings based on 2,084 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Perfect for us.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Cons: More pots for cooking if one desires, although when we asked we were sent a frying pan.
Location: There is so much to do you cannot do it all.....Some day we may come back.
One cannot ask for a more cleaner room, professional personnel and perfect location for Washington. The fact that this was the best deal with two "queen size" beds was an asset and a luxury. We would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Washington. One feels special when doors are opened for you and you can talk to the personnel about everyday affairs. The hotel was within walking distance to the subway and even to the "mall" if one so desired. There was also amenities for parking and car transportation, if one chose to use it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Was in DC for a quick overnight. Hotel was convenient, clean and staff was professional and helpful. Would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Great value in a great location

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Price, location, nice employees.
Location: On the GW campus, walking distance to all the main tourist sites in DC.
This hotel is much less expensive than other nice hotels in the George Washington University area. The rooms are simple, but large (at least, ours was). It is located right on the GW campus, and within walking distance of the White House, the National Mall, and other prominent sites. It is a bargain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spacious rooms

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: kitchenette, changing area outside bathroom
Location: Great if visiting GW. For tourists, location not optimal if you don't want to do lots of walking.
Location for sightseeing fair, but rooms very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Diamond in the Rough

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Full kitchen with full sized refrigerator Ate breakfast in room with food from CVS next door. Gigantic rooms Huge closets
Cons: Room and furniture showed their age. Decor is "motel 6." But if the hotel was refurbished, it would lose its price appeal.
Location: Next to GW University. Right across from the State Department. 2 blocks from the Mall and Lincoln Memorial/4 blocks from the White House. Yet quiet
My family is accustomed to staying at 4.5-5 star hotels, but I had fond memories of the State Plaza Hotel from a stay 25 years ago, when money a lot was tighter. It was great! We stayed in a one bedroom suite with full kitchen. The room was huge and closet space gigantic. We were moving my son into his apartment and stayed for 3 weeks. We could not have stayed at a better place. The furnishings are simple and showed some wear, but for a family, the price, size, and full kitchen trumps all. NOT a 2 star, it is easily a 3 star hotel. Staff was helpful and friendly. Easy to find free street parking on near by G and F Streets. Because of this recurrent outstanding experience, we will be staying there in the future! Perfect for families and George Washington Freshman Parents on dorm move in day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Great location and with a kitchen...perfect

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: I loved the location, the size of the room, the bed, and the kitchen.
Location: The mall is just three blocks away; restaurants and metro within a 10 minute walk.
This was a perfect hotel for my granddaughter and me: short walk to the monuments in one direction and restaurants, metro, buses in the opposite direction. Wonderful staff, VERY comfy bed, and with a frig and microwave we could (if we chose) have meals in the room. Price was very reasonable, room was large, and we felt safe. I will always stay here when we visit DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Othello, WA

We loved our room.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The staff was quick to respond to requests or problems we had and bring us things we needed. The store was close if you needed things.
Cons: Paper towels, salt & pepper; bathroom window got stuck a couple of times - we couldn't close it. Not enough light by vanity to put makeup on.
Location: Close walking distance to monuments on the mall, Whole Foods grocery store is only a few blocks away and also the Foggy Bottom Metro. We walked.
The room was way more than we anticipated. The kitchen was great, we used it every day. They even left a bag of ice and a bottle of water. Lots of room even enough for 3 people, as there was a hide-a-bed in the living room. Doors to master closed off the area for privacy if you had three people staying. Two big tvs, we didn't watch but they had many good channels. The hotel was in a close proximity to the Whole Foods grocery store and is open til 11 pm. The cleaning staff always was willing to provide anything extra we needed, like coffee or towels. They don't have much in way of kitchen towels and could use a roll of paper towels in the kitchen. Our room did have a couple of problems with the air conditioning but it wasn't too bad. Also there was a problem with the cooktop, it was clicking and we had to unplug it. Otherwise I would have given it an excellent rating. Will definitely stay there again. We attended an event at the DAR and walked every day in the morning and evening and never felt concerned. It is a great place to stay!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Very clean hotel with polite and helpful staff. The room had an efficiency kitchen which was a nice surprise. The only negative I have is the gym being in a different tower than the building I was in and the slightly outdated kitchen. Other than that I would recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent hotel location in very good environment.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Enjoyed our stay. Staff is very curtius & help full. Hotel is well furnished and neat. Front desk staff particularly Muhammad is excellent in handling guests making them comfortable on arrival.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Clean hotel close to National Mall.

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Bed
Cons: Update it
Location: Great location
I have high standard and from my perspective overall the room was clean. Pros - very comfortable bed, sheets and pillows very comfy and clean; room is little bigger; AC cools really well and not that noisy; full size fridge; powder room; complimentary water every day; 2 blocks from National Mall Cons - dirty carpet, definitely could use shampoo; kitchen cabinets sticky; really bad water pressure, plus you get hot, cold, hot, cold showers; TV picture is so poor, not worth to watch it, but we were not there to watch TV; outdated kitchen and bathroom, everything seemed to have an inch of paint on it.