Ratings based on 1,654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

great DC location

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Super nice hotel. Clean and Classic. Easy walk to restaurants and DuPont Circle. Very close to Georgetown. Friendly and helpful staff. Only down side is mandatory valet parking at $53/day. Optional street parking can be challenging. Otherwise very happy with spacious room and large bathroom with all amenities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Shower and sink only had boiling hot water

Posted Jun 7, 2015
The room was very small and building was outdated but in a good location. The shower has a thermostat to show the temperature of the water. Thought that would be interesting and helpful when using that shower for the first time. It was until about 2 minutes in when the temperature rose regardless of where the setting was until the water was so hot that a person could not stay in the shower. Then, I attempted to brush my teeth only to find out the sink had the same issue. First time I've ever brushed my teeth with water that was scalding hot. I called the front desk and the receptionist told me there was nothing anyone could do since it was 11 pm and hung up. I called her back and she said she would make a note and then hung up. Same water issues in the morning except I was slightly prepared this time and tried to get my shower in under 90 seconds. I also brushed my teeth with bottled water after checking the sink again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience you have described. Our staff should have worked quickly to assess the situation more thoroughly and helped to find a solution for you right away. We thank you for reaching out to us immediately when you had an issue and we will reinforce our desire for stellar customer service to our staff. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and we thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jersey girl

Overall we were pleased

Posted May 31, 2015
Overall, we were pretty pleased with our stay. The front desk guy was nice but he seemed a bit overstresses with his many tasks. The rooms are small, but clean. My only complaint was that u have to pay for wifi which should be included in ur stay. Afterall, the hotel already charges for parking each night which isnt cheap. I would go back, but i would look at other free amenties offeres in other hotels first.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We’re pleased to read that you enjoyed your room at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We do understand that paying for certain amenities can be frustrating however, we feel it best policy to charge only those guests that use specific amenities, such as WiFi. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and thank you for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Fine Hotel in Lovely Dupont Circle

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Our family had two lovely, spacious rooms on the fourth floor, delightfully stocked with all the niceties one must usually ask for in other hotels.
Cons: Restaurant staffing and better menu.
Location: From nearby Dupont Circle Metro stop one can get practically any where in DC!
We had a remarkably spacious room with beautiful amenities. The entire hotel is comfortable with cozy little sitting areas on each floor. The staff is helpful, friendly, and professional. The four star overall rating is due to the long wait for seating at breakfast on a Sunday morning that was not crowded, just poorly staffed. Once seated there was a longer wait for coffee and food orders. The menu selections were mediocre at best. We will definitely return to the Fairfax at Embassy Row but plan our meals elsewhere in the great neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re pleased to hear that your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was comfortable and provided a convenient location for your visit to Washington, DC. We are disappointed to learn that your dining experience was not what you expected and we will be sure to share your comments with our staff in order to pre-empt any further occurrences such as these. It would be our pleasure to welcome you and your family back for future stays and we thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Room not ready at 6:30 PM

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: Rooms should be ready for check-in.
Location: Dupont Circle restaurants
I arrived to get ready for a 7:30 event and was told my room was not ready. It had to be inspected. Being sent to the bar for a complimentary drink while I waited for my room was not helpful. When I sat down at the bar, the bartender walked off to take a cell phone call. By the time he was back to pour my drink, I had no time to drink it. I didn't think it was too much to ask that a room that should be ready for an afternoon check in be ready at 6:30 PM.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We certainly do apologize for the inconveniences that you encountered during your recent stay. It does not happen often, but there are occasions where a room requires a little more attention to make it pristine and ready for the next guests, taking a bit more time to prepare it. We hope you will return to The Fairfax at Embassy Row in the future for the exceptional stay that you deserve.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Lovely elegant hotel

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: size, decor, location
Cons: nothing
Location: great food places on P street and easy to walk to main sites
we only had a few days in Washington but this hotel was perfect location and beautifully appointed. We were upgraded to a lovely room very spacious and with perfect bathroom. staff could not have been more helpful in helping us find our way around and recommending places to eat nearby. would definitely return.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
How wonderful it is to hear that your recent visit to our Nation’s Capital was made even more memorable by your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row! Thank you for acknowledging the efforts of our staff and for mentioning the convenient location of our hotel. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we hope it’s soon! Thank you for your kind review.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

No customer service and no blankets!!!

Posted May 14, 2015
Arrived at hotel early and was told that the room I booked for my son and I was not available at all and we would have to have a room with one bed and then my son would have to sleep on a rollaway. I had booked this through Expedia over a month earlier and had made it very clear I was traveling with my son. They said room types via Expedia are only suggested and not guaranteed. OK, so we go with the rollaway and then it comes with no blankets and when I call for one I'm told there are no blankets available. REALLY? And while we were waiting for our room (which wasn't available till about 4:30 pm) there was not coffee, etc. available and the bar was not staffed. When I checked out I was being charged for the rollaway bed (though I had been told there would be no charge). They did remove that charge but if I hadn't checked, I would have been charged. Disappointing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It seems that there were several areas within your stay where we could have worked harder to provide you with the exceptional experience you and your son deserved. For that, we sincerely apologize. It is correct that 3rd party reservations are not guaranteed and we try to work with our guests to provide them accommodations as closely matched to their preferences as possible. We do regret the error in billing however, are very happy to see that our staff quickly removed it from your bill. Your comments will be shared with our Housekeeping staff in order to re-emphasize our need for quality and courteous service interactions. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future and we thank you for your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, comfort, and style

Posted May 12, 2015
High quality hotel in excellent location. Room was very comfortable and decor is traditional, but nice. Staff were excellent. Bed was very comfortable, and there were good places to sit as well. The room was a nice size, although ours, on the second floor facing a court yard, was noisy with air conditioning equipment. Overall, a very pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We’re so pleased to hear that your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was enjoyable and provided you with a comfortable place to relax while in Washington, DC. Our staff will be happy to hear that their efforts made your stay memorable and we look forward to welcoming you back in near future. Thank you for your review.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

NOT KING BEDS

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: Location, Historic building, and door man
Cons: If you book a Kingbed room, you should get one.
Location: Food/drinks nearby but further away from the sights, a taxi cab ride was abt 15$..We walked the first day from the hotel but it took up allot of time
Reserved a King bed Superior room. The hotel is in a great location and very nice. However the bed was a queen and it was no where near king size (unless hotels have different bed sizing than the rest of us), but to be honest the room couldn't hold a King bed anyways, it was more like a small guest room in a house and the bathroom although updated was also very small and the shower, well you couldn't even stretch your elbows out, so not at all worth the $800+ to stay 3 nights. We were on the 8th floor and there was a generator noise running off and on all night long and the door although closed it didn't have a good seal around it and the hall light shinned through all night and as people walked by it was just as loud as if they were in your room with you.. I wondered if we could here them that good if they could also here what we were saying while in our room.. So didn't feel very private.. Maybe a larger suite might do the trick if there is more than 1 person staying or if your looking for a room to stretch out in. The door man was the best part of this Hotel, so kudos to him...
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy to read that our central location worked out so well for you. We appreciate you mentioning the historic significance that embodies The Fairfax at Embassy Row, as well as the varied sizes of rooms we offer. We wish that every aspect of your stay had been exceptional, so it would be our pleasure to assist in finding you the perfect room for your next stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We’re happy to read that our central location worked out so well for you. We appreciate you mentioning the historic significance that embodies The Fairfax at Embassy Row, as well as the varied sizes of rooms we offer. We wish that every aspect of your stay had been exceptional, so it would be our pleasure to assist in finding you the perfect room for your next stay and we hope to welcome you back very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Great location near Du Pont Circle, lots of shops and restaurants within easy walking distance. Hotel staff courteous and helpful. Very low key
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 30, 2015 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row and its staff! We’re pleased to hear that our central location made your stay even more enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you again soon.