Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JKfrom Philadelphia

Visiting W&J

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a historic building that is unfortunately poorly maintained. The staff tried to be accommodating but are poorly trained. Employee uniforms are not professional. Guest room was small, bathroom inadequate, small sink and lack of towels, should have at least three bath towels in each bathroom. Elevator tracks were really dirty, no hair dryer in the room or any modern conveniences. TV was new and worked well. Location to the college is great everything else was subpar. Breakfast facilities did not open until 9:30am which for weekend guests who need to be someplace did not work. Since my son attends W&J I have been to most of the hotel sin the area and this would be my least desirable to return.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew Sfrom New Mexico

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was dreary with inadequate lighting and worn out dark carpeting. Weekday breakfast not available until 7:30 with cook also having to wait tables since waitress didn't arrive until 8:00. Free parking near the front door of the hotel was quite helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Annfrom PA

Outdated; clean

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outdated but clean. Worn chair upholstery. Ridiculously small bathroom. Nowhere to put toiletries. No carpeting in the hallway meant unnecessary hallway noise. Cords hanging from the TV and extension cords around the room- needs updating. Wireless didn't work with my phone. Ancient elevator. No ghost. Bed was comfortable. Staff very nice. I slept well after the other guests shut up. Coffee was lousy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
by SHfrom florida

Bad service. Icompitent staff.

Posted Oct 21, 2013
We were left waiting outside the hotel for 15 minutes in the cold. We could see the front desk was unmanned and could hear the phone ring each of the 8 times we tried calling to have someone open the door. When we finally got inside the woman at the front desk could not figure out how to check us in. We waited for 20 minutes until she finally agreed to just let us in our room to sleep (it was after 1am). The room was sparse. Only a bed, a single nightstand and a dresser. No chair to sit on and nowhere to set down a suitcase. It felt like a cheap hostel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Chap Holbertfrom Wheeling

Exceptional Staff and Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
From our first impression on entering the main lobby and its early architectural character to the fine dining experience at the wedding reception held on the premises, quality was what it was. I have traveled to many hotels around the world and this is worth staying at. The rooms were clean and vintage like fine wine. The staff at the front desk, waiters, waitresses, chef all were among the best I have experienced in my many years of traveling. I had the privilege of talking with a permanent guest at the hotel who has lived there for 28 years. I said it must be beautiful at Christmas in the main lobby and she said it was. And, she told me of a train exhibit just off the lobby that is popular then. I asked if it was there now and she said she thought it was. After she left, I asked the main desk if indeed there was a train exhibit behind a locked door. I was assured there was and would I like a private viewing of it. How wonderful and accommodating everyone was. This is a must visit, must stay , must see and experience. The George Washington hotel reminds me of the time of the Great Gatsby. I'll be back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified travelerfrom GAITHERSBURG MD

GW WASHINGTON PA

Posted Jun 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
The thermostat was set to 53 degrees and even after it was set to 70 degrees the temperature in the room never adjusted. I was up at 1:45 am and went to the desk and the desk clerk finally came up and shutdown the system from a thermostat under and only under their control. We would never stay there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a dump

Posted May 30, 2013
Pros: that it had alot of history
Cons: Everything
Location: NO packing anywhere
I would never stay here again. This hotel is not A two star or the four star they say it is. It old and unkeep and not worth a $139.00 at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stop at the George Washington. Keep driving

Posted Aug 12, 2012
Cons: Overall creepy atmosphere.
Location: Center of town
No hair dryer. Noisy window air conditioner. Overpowering scent of air freshener. Inconvenient parking. No phone in the room. Small TV. No space in bathroom for toiletries. A creepy old hotel with blue paint and big, cheap furniture. Never again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay Away!!!

Posted Aug 9, 2012
Pros: None
Cons: Neighborhood, bathrooms, window air conditioner
Location: Spooky
Old "Hotel" and part tenement housing. Website makes it look much better than it is.