Ratings based on 860 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor management

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms were nice, friendly staff.
Cons: Parking and management of rooms/services.
We arrived at the hotel early and were told we could check in. When we arrived at our room the previous guests had items still in the room and had not checked out. We were told to come back and were upgraded to a suite which was nice, however did not have the desired number of beds as the original room (2) and instead had a pull out couch. This was fine but should have been verified with us. The valet parking left scratches on the drivers side of the valeted vehicle, in addition to goopy puddy that took two hours to remove. I have no idea what they put on the brand new car to leave such marks, but it was a very unexpected and scary inconvenience as they looked like huge black scratches. Either way, there were scratches that were not present prior to the stay. The hotel and staff was very friendly but the experience was disheartening. Knowing what I know now I would have felt more comfortable parking in a separate garage or staying at another hotel altogether.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Adelaide, Australia

Lovely place to stay!

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Recently stayed here for a one-night stay in Washington DC. We were upgraded to the suite and it was awesome! Plenty of room and clean, it was a delight to stay in the room! Definitely recommend this hotel to others. Staff are really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sharon

Great find!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Location: Everything is very convenient to the location of this hotel. It is easy to use the Metro or stroll to nearby sights.
My family was very pleased with the hotel -- the facility, the staff, the amenities (microwave, little refig), the price, and the location. All agreed that we would return whenever we need lodging in the downtown DC area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Close to GWU

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Pros: Liked the hot chocolate and candy treats in the lobby
Cons: Comforters with duvets
Location: Very close to metro and GWU
Very pleasant hotel and good location for visit to children at GWU
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Debbie from New Canaan, CT

Nothing fancy but very comfortable

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: I liked the size of my room and the comfort of the bed. It's also on a nice street.
Cons: The facility could use renovating, but then the prices would go up. So I can live with this as is.
Location: I didn't do much except go to the university and then to Founding Farmers restaurant, but I did walk everywhere, even in the snow storm.
The GWU Inn could certainly use a facelift, as the appearance of the halls and rooms is somewhat worn. Yet my room was large and comfy, with a sizable bathroom, a separate sitting/TV area, and a kitchenette. Valet parking was a plus, too. The inn is in a nice, safe location handy to the university, where I was visiting. Otherwise I would worry about security because the passage to the elevators in right off the lobby before you get to the front desk, and it would be easy for someone to slip by if the desk got busy. No problems, however!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Joe from Syracuse , NY

Comfort in the cold.

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: Location to the Metro and friendly staff
Cons: A complimentary breakfast would be nice
Location: Easy access to the Metro lets you get anywhere quick. Also easy to get a cab at Foggy Bottom
I have stayed here several times. This trip due to bad weather most of my appointments were cancelled and the staff was great helping with best way to get around and the closest places to eat. I will continue to stay there when I come into town.
4 out of 5
by Daniel from Taiwan

Nice hotel except the porter when I checked in

Posted Jan 23, 2014
Everything is all right except the porter when I checked in late evening of Jan. 17, 2014. He picked up the luggage from the car and just left them before the entrance of the elevator without further attention and care. We were at a big surprise since we have never experienced such a careless and rude services.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Phila

Close to colleges

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Lemon water
A great, convenient place to stay. One thing I wish they had...shower caps! I never remember them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DC from Pittsburgh

Nice

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Nice hotel. Safe area. Close to the metro. Beds were clean and comfortable. The view was nice. The only complaint is that the bathroom seemed outdated, and the bathroom floor was dirty when we got there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com