Ratings based on 2,131 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rochester NY

Beautiful hotel and friendly staff

Posted Mar 30, 2015
I arrived before check in time; staff held my bag and called me when my room was ready. Comfortable room with free wifi that worked! Expensive, but good, breakfast in hotel restaurant. Glad to support quality historic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Albany, NY

Sweet hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: I enjoyed the historic aspects of the architecture that had been maintained in the building.
Cons: The TV reception wasn't the best.
Location: Within walking distance of a Metro station, close to restaurants and the Capitol is easily accessible.
I was in DC for business and really enjoyed my stay at this boutique hotel. The room was quiet and well appointed. It was clean and pleasant. The staff was always friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Responsive staff, old-world charm.
Cons: Beds were very small, room felt cramped
Good experience. Staff was very helpful and responsive. The hotel has a nice historic charm, however the room and bed was small and cramped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, solid hotel!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Older hotel in great condition. It has a diplomatic charm that makes you feel like you're in Washington, DC. The staff was always outstanding, the room was very clean. Room service is prompt and the portions were generous. The in-hotel restaurant is wonderful. There's an afternoon tea that is very nicely done. The hotel's location is prime whether you want to walk or take a cab. The room was spacious with 9' ceilings and plenty of window light. The furniture was a very nice mix of modern and traditional. The king bad was wonderful. Although I gave FIVE STARS across the board, because they're deserved, no hotel is perfect and there are some improvements needed. I'd like to see a microwave included in the wet bar area. There is a coffee maker and a mini fridge that is stocked, but for warming up a leftover meal from any of the excellent restaurants nearby, a microwave would be nice. Having said that however, I imagine the house staff would have been happy to do it for me had I asked. The bathroom was very clean, but the exhaust fan above the toilet was very dusty. That shouldn't be on the maid's checklist rather, ongoing house maintenance. Another part of ongoing maintenance should be routinely checking the older furniture for loose legs and arms etc. Much of the furniture has been around for a while, maybe it's cheaper to replace when necessary than to preserve. The older furniture added to the charm of the spacious room however.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Petaluma CA

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Location: excellent location. walking distance to historic places
Stayed 3 days. Central location. Reasonable hotel price however expensive breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic and Noisy

Posted Mar 28, 2015
The hotel is classed as Historic and has a plaque outside to prove it, what I didn't expect was the faux mediaeval interior design including painted castle walls and tapestries in the elevators. The room was large and a little dated, we even had a heat light in the bathroom on a timer. The biggest let down for a weekend a way was the noise, we must be situated on the busiest crossroads in DC and the windows are insufficiently insulated. Emergency sirens are a staple 24 hours a day as are the honking horns, and the incessant whistling of the concierge at the hotel across the road. It subsides at around midnight but be ready at 5 am for the dawn chorus. Restaurant was ok, breakfast portions are huge and worth sharing, service was pleasant, room is a little weird with a wall of mirrors and the acoustics of a church. Common areas we never used, wasn't aware of a gym which I heard described to another guest upon check in. One plus is the location but I wouldn't return based on the poor nights sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Good value but some minor annoyances

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Charming and quaint, good staff
Cons: Pillows and work area
Location: Very accessible area. Plenty of restaurants nothin walking distance or a short cab rise away, close to the convention center
Overall this is a nice hotel with an older, more classic charm. The facilities are clean and well-kept and the staff is friendly and helpful. I only had two complaints. First, my room did not have a desk and work area, this was annoying since I was traveling for work. Second, the bed had thick hard pillows which do not work for me and make it hard for me to sleep, so that was a bit frustrating. I would return but would probably request that I get a room with a desk and ask if the pillows could be changed out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: clean and location
Cons: complimentary Coffee and Juice in the AM
Location: Georgetown Games
I thought the staff was very frendly and helpful with directions
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Lovely elegant hotel with excellent service

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Wonderful stay -- rooms at that back of the hotel are quiet, comfortable and elegant. Top notch service throughout our five day stay. Hotel is well located across from the convention centre and thought it was excellent value.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Urban historic hoel

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Quaint and smaller.
Cons: Building is old and not well set up for modern travellers.
Location: Area is the fringe of new mega hotels. Easy to walk to high traffic areas near sites.
Nice, smaller and older historic building. Small halls and old elevators as well as a nice bar area. Good food but higher prices.