Ratings based on 845 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Overbooked

Posted Jul 24, 2014
I requested a room with two beds as I was traveling with my business partner. Despite reserving weeks ahead if time they gave us a room with one bed and a cot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Close to Capitol building

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Clean, well maintained, high standard of service
Location: Good for accessing DC museums, etc, also close to Union Station (which has various shops / eating options) and bus stops.
Part of a US East coast tour, we spent 3 days here, visiting museums and other DC attractions. The room was nice and clean, included complementary tea / coffee facilities, no bottled water but there was free wifi and the large bathroom had separate bath and shower. All the staff were very friendly and happy to help with any issues. The only minor problem we had was in borrowing the hotel bicycles (DC is pretty flat, but very spread out!!), there were four of us, they could only offer us two bikes on the first day as a couple of bikes were being fixed, we were told they would be returned the next day, but this did not happen. We also made use of the Bistro Bis that is attached to the hotel, as a birthday celebration, the food and service was excellent and while not cheap, we felt the prices were very reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close the Capitol

Posted Jul 15, 2014
The hotel is fine. Its surrounding is not. Around the corner, there are homeless people(?) stand/sleep there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Very convenient to union station, the mall really all of DC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

DC-4th of July

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, comfortable rooms
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location at Union Station
The staff at the Hotel George could not have been nicer or more accommodating. The hotel is a cute, small, property in an excellent location for train travelers and folks like us who planned to participate in a variety of 4th of July celebrations on the Mall. We didn't try room service but the hotel restaurant provided an excellent, if pricey, breakfast. if your taste runs to grab and go there is a Corner Bakery a few steps away outside the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from melbourne australia

Great Staff and very Nice Rooms

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff Modern and well appointed rooms
Cons: Nothing to note
Location: National Mall and the Museums are within 10 minutes walking distance.
From our check in we were made to feel really special during our stay at the George. We checked in on the 4th July in DC and the team at front desk and concierge were superb. The rooms are really modern and the on site facilities like the gym are first class. I will definitely stay again when next in DC.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Great hotel. Everything including the comfort of the bed was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Scotland

Very comfortable

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Great location and clean
Cons: Nothing
Location: Union Station close by and pick up point for Washington bus tours easily accessable. US Capitol building within easy walking distance.
Very comfortable room and very friendly staff. Nothing was any bother to them and the evening wine reception was a great way to meet other guests. Hotel located in a very central location which makes touring the sites very easy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Hotel's location is conveniently close to downtown

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Girlfriend wanted this hotel because it had George Washington themed decor. The location is great, but parking will be a problem.
Cons: You'll notice homeless in the area not more than a block away. However, it's common considering how D.C. has older buildings intermixed with newer.
Location: There is a Corner bakery right next to this place, and the Capitol building is within walking distance.
The hotel is exactly what I expected except the parking, homeless in the area, and the french restaurant located downstairs. I didn't see any reviews mention this, but the area is great for access to all the monuments. You will need to rent a car when you arrive because taking a taxi will be impossible. The area is within minutes of the Capitol building, but you'll also be surprised the location is set within older parts of downtown as well. The next block over you have homeless that sit in front of abandoned businesses. Further, the parking is either $45 a day (with the hotel) or park across the street in the parking lot and pay about $30 a day. The other thing to mention is that the french restaurant downstairs is not that great. My girl and I went, but we had to wait nearly an hour for our meal. I would expect a little better service considering we were staying at the hotel and the meal was $150. The food was nothing special, but if you want to get dressed up and go out, then I would recommend finding another restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Levittown, PA

Close to Union Station

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Staff very friendly. Always accommodating our needs. Hotel newly updated, well maintained and clean. Restaurant superb. I would have given this Hotel a 5 star but I felt the room had some quirks. You could not watch TV from the bed only from the couch and when we ordered room service only one of us could sit at the desk the other had to sit with plate on our lap. I would highly recommend this hotel. Will definitely be staying again.