Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfortable guest house in lovely location

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, room, breakfast, helpfulness of owner and staff
Location: In a lovely old neighborhood within walking distance of the Washington Cathedral. It is very close to the Zoo, where we were able to see the pandas.
We enjoyed our stay at the Kalorama Guest House. The owner is very gracious, helpful and responsive to all requests. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We enjoyed the generous breakfast. The location is lovely and convenient to tourist attractions via Metro, which is easy to use and within easy walking distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chicago

First Bed and Breakfast experience

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Jack was very attentive and always ensuring that we were comfortable and making sure our needs were satisfied. Breakfast was perfect, the hot breakfast made every morning, fresh coffee, oj and tea. The area was not far from the Metro and Zoo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Made to feel at home

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Location: Very close to the zoo, restaurants, and Woodley Park metro.
We booked one night at relatively last minute because our plans changed. We were delighted when we arrived and received a warm welcome from the owner, Jack, who had upgraded our room and offered up cold drinks and snacks. Jack was so friendly and made this place well worth a visit. He encouraged us to treat the place like our home and we felt very comfortable here. The room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast was also fantastic. This place is truly a one of a kind and we would certainly recommend it and stay here again. Thanks for a great experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's a very nice place. The house is nice&clean.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The room is big, beautiful and clean. The manager is very friendly. And Jack provides delicious breakfast.This is the best home style hotel I have ever visit. It makes me feel like a home.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David Kemmerer from Atlanta

Super nice staff, more of a hostil than hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Owner was very attentive and friendly, but the amenities are more hostil than hotel. For a weekend stay it probably works, but for business when you are expecting an iron, starbucks in the lobby etc...it falls short.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by garry from Melbourne

Kalorama

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: A/A
The host Jack makes a great effort to make you comfortable The service exceeded my expectations (cookies, a beer when you get back foot slogged and tired from touristing) He has great manners and introduces guests and it's really a high level home stay Not a sound overnight I strongly recommend this stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Cozy & Friendly in DC

Posted Jun 23, 2014
I was in DC for a conference down the street at the Marriott Wardman Park and opted to stay at the Kalorama due to the lower rate. I was so pleased with my decision! The hospitality was warm and friendly and every guest was made to feel at home in the common areas. There were free food and beverages at all times in the lobby and the owner went all out with a delicious homemade breakfast each morning. I'm a huge fan of old, character-filled buildings and would choose them over a conference center any day, so the accommodations suited me well. I also enjoyed walking through the beautiful residential neighborhood each morning and evening, as it helped break up the days and allowed me to get some fresh air and get a feel for DC. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by John S. from Denver CO

Wonderful Location

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is an extremely comfortable Bed and Breakfast located in a pleasant residential neighborhood and convenient to both bus and Metro transportation. The innkeeper, Jack, goes out of his way to make all guests feel welcome and "at home". We will always stay here when our travels take us to Washington DC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Woodley Park Pleasures

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely proprietor and breakfast was great. Wifi worked. Could use TV's in rooms but not really needed. Rest was great.