Ratings based on 1,206 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Wales UK

Great City Break Hotel

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Pros: It's history, friendliness and good location.
From arrival to departure we were looked after very well in every aspect of our stay. The staff couldn't do enough for us. Historic hotel close to the metro, the White House and easy walking distance to the main attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Pros: Location, ambiance and bar
Went for a short 2 day stay. Everything was adequate but WIFI not included in price of room. Liked the hotel bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson

Great business location

Posted Jan 10, 2015
When the staff meets your return from meetings with baked bread and apple cider or hot chocolate and its only 20° outside...What could be wrong.?
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington D.C.

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Asked for room to be moved due to extreme noise by other guests and being right above the front door. We stayed 6 nights and they never could find a room to move us to even though the lobby was full of people coming and going. Beds are small and very uncomfortable. Needs serious remodeling, however I think they are working on that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pilgrims Land Safely

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
The Mayflower's greatest days are probably behind it, but it remains an elegant luxury hotel in a wonderful location. Issues during our stay were minor: a stale croissant at the breakfast buffet, a nightlight bright enough to illuminate the room through a closed bathroom door. The grand lobby, almost devoid of comfortable, cozy seating areas, and the utterly charmless restaurant, Edgar, were quite disappointing. The restaurant was especially sad, an obvious victim of a recent "modernization" that has drained away every shred of its rich and colorful history. If you are looking for history (as we were), buy the Mayflower photo book for sale in the gift shop, and stay at the San Regis or the Willard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Glamorous hotel in the heart of DC

Posted Dec 27, 2014
We had a nice time and the customer service was good. We asked for br wlfast in our room the next day because I wasn't feeling well even though we had only paid for one buffet style in dining room breakfast as part of our hotel package. They sent up a grandiose meal for two!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Apparently occasional room inspections necessary

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: The lobby is attractive.
Cons: Give the fringe, wing room(s) a serious cleaning. Don't put tall guest into rooms with double beds.
Location: About a block and a half from the White House - easy walking access to that, and easy access to the train.
I booked a non-smoking room with king size bed. I arrvied at a room with two double beds. This would have been fine except that at 6 feet tall, my feet extend off of the end of a double bed. Bathroom was so filthy that I walked to the local CVS, bought alcohol wipes, and wiped down the counter, the sink (it looked like someone spit chewed food into it) and appliance handles myself. The room carpet should have been washed several months prior to my stay in the room. The room itself was on the second floor, with window access overlooking the main street, directly adjacent to the DC subway ventilation shafts, so I listened to the train all night. I worked in my room on my employer's behalf with the noise of construction in the hallway that morning. Surely there were other rooms in the hotel so that they could have segregated the construction to be near vacant rooms only. Yes I realize I should have switched rooms but given the tight schedule and terse deadlines I had, I simply didn't want to deal with doing so. But, given the cost of the hotel and its location, the room condition should be considered unexcusable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom williamsburg, va

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: great location, very friendly staff
stayed one night on Thanksgiving, very impressed with the staff. Room was very comfortable and the location was perfect, walking distance to all the sites
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: Convenient location to Metro.
Location: Second State Restaurant very good.
Have stayed there before. Nice workout area. Selected due to location near Metro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Florida

Nice hotel close to the White House.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
All staff members were very helpful and friendly. Everyone greeted us with a smile. The room was smaller than I imagined but very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was marble. The bed and pillows were very easy to sleep on. Edgar is the hotel bar in the lobby and its drinks were a bit too pricey for my liking.