Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheriton, VA

Beautiful hotel located perfetly in DC.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This hotel is located perfectly in the heart of DC. Close walk to all of the attractions of DC, right around the corner from both Georgtown & Pepperdine Universary. I Would definitely reccommend to anyone traveling to DC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Personal service

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Service!
Location: Good location near the metro and Georgetown restaurants
The Melrose is like being with people you've known for many years. Everyone is personable and try to make you feel important to them. It is the nicest group of hotel personnel we have ever experienced!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for DC/Georgetown

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Was able to walk or take metro or taxi to all sites. Rooms big/quiet/clean. Staff great. Only complaint is they deliver the ice to your room when requested and bring very little. They also don't have complimentary coffee available all day. Otherwise great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Stay in Washington, DC

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The staff and "front outdoors area" was awesome.
Cons: The computer printer did not work. The socket was loose in the bathroom.
Location: Location was the best in DC. We found a lot of places to eat. We walked a lot and felt safe in the area.
The hotel was wonderful. The staff was excellent and helpful. The area was charming and near to a lot of activity. We felt very safe in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff - fun place to stay

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The interior design was delightful - smart but also fun and not too serious. Great staff, cool lobby music. Rooms spacious and light. Bed comfortable
Cons: would have liked a fridge in the room - unusual to have the gap for one but not there
Location: 2 blocks one way to Foggy Bottom subway station and 2 blocks the other to many restaurants in the historic Georgetown area. Very convenient.
First trip to Washington DC. Stayed 4 nights in Sep 14. Enjoyed both the hotel and the proximity (via the subway) to everything. You can walk to the Lincoln Memorial easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Better than we expected

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: The staff, the cleanliness and the room were of a really good standard.
Cons: Really pleased with what was provided and any comments on improvement would just seem fussy!
Location: We enjoy walking and there was nothing that was not doable. Capitol Hill was the furthest stretch but there were lots to distract en route.
We paid more than we usually would for a city hotel, but boy was it worth it. Convenient from the Metro, nice area and lovely hotel. A warm welcome and a great room made our city break an experience that will lead us back to DC and this hotel again. Well done!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Average

Posted Sep 13, 2014
I stayed at the Melrose Georgetown for 3 nights in what they call an executive king suite. I chose the hotel based on it's proximity to the Kennedy Center where I was attending a conference. Pros: The room was large and clean. The staff was friendly. The bed and linens were good. The location, in addition to being convenient to my destination, was adjacent to Georgetown and there were plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. Checkout time is noon. Cons: The bathrooms were small and not very modern. The plumbing was noisy - water running clearly audible from an adjacent room, and the AC was quieter but also noticeable. The overall decor was kind of freshly spruced up with paint, moldings, and wall coverings, but only skin deep from an older incarnation. Similarly, the furniture was newish but kind of cheap. The free wifi network was only visible to my devices about once a day for like 10 minutes and even then it didn't work. It wasn't a big deal to me so I didn't bother complaining and just used a cell data connection. Finally, my incidental charges at checkout included $25 worth of minibar water charges which I had not consumed. This kind of thing may well be systemic because when I complained they did not seem surprised and removed the charges without the slightest hesitation or comment. Overall, it wasn't awful but I would probably not choose the Melrose again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ed, thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too ove our convenient location in the heart of the city, within walking distance of our favorite landmarks and premier destinations. We sincerely apologize for the WiFi service you experienced. I will look to find where the breakdown in service occurred to remedy this for future visits. The charges you experienced are unacceptable by Melrose standards. Thank you for bringing this issue to light as i will work to prevent this for our future guests. I do hope you will give us another chance to impress you the next time you find yourself in DC. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Everyone at this hotel is welcoming, polite, happy

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms very nice (the King room seems more spacious than the double room), quiet even though we were very close to elevator. Fun bar and good breakfast
Cons: I was in a doubles room and lighting around the sink/mirror not great. But my family had a King and their mirror was ideal for applying makeup.
Location: Beautiful area, a short walk to Georgetown with everything you could ever want. Strongly recommend downloading Uber if you want to cab to DC sites
Just here for one night and sorry I didn't discover this place years ago. Have stayed at Westin and other fancy hotels but this place was even better, more hip and less expensive. That's a triafecta.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Denise, thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad that you have finally discovered our recently renovated hotel in the heart of DC. We do hope you will be joining us again in the near future, when perhaps you may try our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea. Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Close to all the main attractions of Washington

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Location: The hotel was close to the George Washington University and only about 10/15 minutes from the Washington Monument and the White House etc.
My son and I stayed at The Melrose, Georgetown for two nights. We arrived to a friendly and accommodating reception and door staff, who couldn't do enough to assist. We found our room to be of a good size, and very pleasant with lots of room to move around, and extremely comfortable beds. The only negative I can think of was the 'view' from the room, which was looking directly into a residential block of flats, which was a surprise, and to be honest a little disappointing. That said I would definitely return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Diane, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide friendly, attentive and personable guest services, and we are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant time. We apologize for the view you had with your room, and we do hope you will give us another chance to impress you when perhaps we may provide you with a room with a more suitable view. Thank you again for your feedback, Diane! Best, Jale Hashimi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Pleasantly impressed

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: I can't fault this place. Walk to everything in Georgetown, a great lobby that you want to hang out in, and a really nice room.
Cons: It's a shame that wireless internet in the room is extra as a lot of hotels include it in the rate as standard practice now
I cancelled a hotel the day before travel and booked The Melrose instead as it featured a better rate, and I was so glad I did.