Ratings based on 555 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cosy hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: the location is brilliant !!!
Cons: when a guest left something in their room housekeeping should rely it to all the receptionist as they are the first contact with all the guest
Location: if you love walking Lincoln memorial is just around the corner
our room is really nice clean and cosy ..... location is really good
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three night stay on Penn Avenue

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location and attentiveness of staff.
Cons: In room coffee maker
Location: About 15 minute walk up Pennsylvania Ave to White House.
Hotel in Georgetown about 15 min walk from White House and Mall so great for sight-seeing. Lots of good restaurants in area and you are provided with a list and summary of local places to eat on arrival. Attentiveness of staff cannot be faulted and rooms are well appointed, roomy and actually quite luxurious. Beds are firm and very comfortable and, for such a central location, the area is quite quiet (our room was to rear of hotel). No breakfast is provided, however, complimentary coffee is available in reception (would be better if coffee-making facilities were provided in room) and breakfast can be purchased in hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too love our convenient location in the heart of the city, within walking distance of famed attractions and national landmarks. Our recently renovated hotel offers large guest bedrooms, art-deco inspired interiors and luxurious amenities, and we are so glad you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you make your way to DC. Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Location: Close to Georgetown and George Washington University, it is also within a reasonable walking distance to all of the sites that DC has to offer.
This is the second time I have stayed at the Melrose Hotel and I don't know if I would want to stay anywhere else. From the friendly staff, comfortable room, and location to George Washington University, I couldn't ask for anything more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad you returned to stay with us and that your experience was a wonderful one! We too love our convenient location within walking distance of famed attractions and national landmarks. We very much look forward to your future visits and thank you again for sharing your experience!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location, great room!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect for capital attractions, as well as restaurants and shopping.
Cons: The Melrose does not have in-room coffee. They do provide coffee and tea in the lobby each morning, but I have come to expect in-room coffee.
Location: Close to restaurants, shopping, the river park, a Trader Joes, movie theater, and twenty minutes by foot to the White House. Don't miss ENO wine bar.
My husband and I stayed six nights at the Melrose, using it as a base to see D.C. and Alexandria attractions. The hotel is beautifully decorated, was quiet, and was extremely comfortable. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Patti, thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so glad to hear you and your husband had a wonderful six-night stay with us. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide optimal guest services, making for a memorable experience with us, and we are very happy that we have left a lasting impression on you. We do hope we will be seeing you again the next time you find yourself in DC. Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Perfect location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
This hotel is in a perfect location for visiting DC. Just on the border of Georgetown and a 15 minute walk to the White house and all of the other must see State buildings. We were only in DC for 36 hours and found it perfect for our needs. Lovely staff, free coffee in the lobby in the mornings.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Eva, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too love our prime location in the heart of the city, within walking distance of famed attractions and national landmarks. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our complimentary amenities, including the morning coffee, and we look forward to your next stay Eva! Regards, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
This Hotel is not only beautiful, it's very clean and the rooms are large. The only thing I can even think to complain about is a couple of times our key didn't work and we had to get it re-keyed. Which was no big deal at all. If we ever go back to Washington DC we will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Becky, thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our recently reinvented hotel extends to guests large bedrooms and artfully designed interiors, sure to leave a lasting impression/ We apologize for the room-key issues you experienced and will look to see where this breakdown in service occurred. We look forward to your next stay, Becky! Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Short walk to dinner

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Location, modern, clean design, large room.
Cons: No coffee maker in room, but free coffee and tea in lobby.
Location: You can walk to monuments and museums if you like a good stroll (30 minutes). Walk just over the bridge on M st to all the Georgetown attractions.
Modern hotel in good shape, and well situated for an easy walk to Georgetown shopping and dining. A couple of good dining spots right next door, including the great Bayou just across the street. Convenience and liquor stores next door, Metro station within a few minutes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too love our convenient location in the heart of the nation's capital, within walking distance of the famed Georgetown neighborhood. We do hope you will be joining us again, when perhaps you may enjoy a meal at our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea. Best of luck with all future travel endeavors! Regards, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Safford, AZ

Enjoyable!

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: The hotel was within walking distance of many tourist attractions, a restaurant was on-site, which is a plus, friendly staff, lovely building.
Cons: We were not dissatisfied with anything (other than the high humidity in DC!).
Location: The location was within walking distance of the memorials and a good variety of restaurants.
My husband & I spent two nights at the Melrose, and it was a very enjoyable stay! It was our first time there, and the hotel was chosen due to the good ratings and convenience to sightseeing. We were greeted by the bellboy after arriving in a taxi. He was very helpful in telling us about the hotel, helping with our luggage, and taking us to the registration area. Everyone was very kind and helpful, and we were given a room upgrade, due to other circumstances. We were given info on restaurants to eat at and tourist maps, and the staff was willing to answer any questions. We enjoyed a good breakfast the next day, and again, the restaurant staff was very friendly and helpful. Our suite was great, very quiet, and we had everything to make our stay extremely comfortable. We will definitely stay at the Melrose each time we return to DC.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Jean, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We strive to provide optimal guest service to make for a most comfortable stay. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our signature farm-to-fork restaurant, Jardenea. We hope to see you again the next time you find yourself in the nation's capital, Jean. Best, Jale Hashimi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Conveniently located near Georgetown shops and train station to get to DC
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are excited that you enjoyed our convenient location in the heart of Washington DC. We hope you join us again the next time you are in the area. Regards, Jale Hashimi
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Very upscale feeling.
Cons: Very weak bar and restaurant setting. Right in lobby, small.
Location: Great location; several blocks from the WH, and all of the Georgetown restaurants are right down the street in short walking distance.
Overall good experience. Nice rooms, but weak lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our recently reinvented guest bedrooms with artfully designed interiors. We apologize for your experience with our public lobby space and do hope you will give us another chance to impress you the next time you find yourself in DC. Best, Jale Hashimi