Ratings based on 569 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Average

Posted Sep 13, 2014
I stayed at the Melrose Georgetown for 3 nights in what they call an executive king suite. I chose the hotel based on it's proximity to the Kennedy Center where I was attending a conference. Pros: The room was large and clean. The staff was friendly. The bed and linens were good. The location, in addition to being convenient to my destination, was adjacent to Georgetown and there were plenty of nice restaurants within walking distance. Checkout time is noon. Cons: The bathrooms were small and not very modern. The plumbing was noisy - water running clearly audible from an adjacent room, and the AC was quieter but also noticeable. The overall decor was kind of freshly spruced up with paint, moldings, and wall coverings, but only skin deep from an older incarnation. Similarly, the furniture was newish but kind of cheap. The free wifi network was only visible to my devices about once a day for like 10 minutes and even then it didn't work. It wasn't a big deal to me so I didn't bother complaining and just used a cell data connection. Finally, my incidental charges at checkout included $25 worth of minibar water charges which I had not consumed. This kind of thing may well be systemic because when I complained they did not seem surprised and removed the charges without the slightest hesitation or comment. Overall, it wasn't awful but I would probably not choose the Melrose again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Everyone at this hotel is welcoming, polite, happy

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms very nice (the King room seems more spacious than the double room), quiet even though we were very close to elevator. Fun bar and good breakfast
Cons: I was in a doubles room and lighting around the sink/mirror not great. But my family had a King and their mirror was ideal for applying makeup.
Location: Beautiful area, a short walk to Georgetown with everything you could ever want. Strongly recommend downloading Uber if you want to cab to DC sites
Just here for one night and sorry I didn't discover this place years ago. Have stayed at Westin and other fancy hotels but this place was even better, more hip and less expensive. That's a triafecta.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire, England

Close to all the main attractions of Washington

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Location: The hotel was close to the George Washington University and only about 10/15 minutes from the Washington Monument and the White House etc.
My son and I stayed at The Melrose, Georgetown for two nights. We arrived to a friendly and accommodating reception and door staff, who couldn't do enough to assist. We found our room to be of a good size, and very pleasant with lots of room to move around, and extremely comfortable beds. The only negative I can think of was the 'view' from the room, which was looking directly into a residential block of flats, which was a surprise, and to be honest a little disappointing. That said I would definitely return to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Diane, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide friendly, attentive and personable guest services, and we are so glad to hear that you had a pleasant time. We apologize for the view you had with your room, and we do hope you will give us another chance to impress you when perhaps we may provide you with a room with a more suitable view. Thank you again for your feedback, Diane! Best, Jale Hashimi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Pleasantly impressed

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: I can't fault this place. Walk to everything in Georgetown, a great lobby that you want to hang out in, and a really nice room.
Cons: It's a shame that wireless internet in the room is extra as a lot of hotels include it in the rate as standard practice now
I cancelled a hotel the day before travel and booked The Melrose instead as it featured a better rate, and I was so glad I did.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean on the surface and great location but...

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Aircon broke down, very noisy cleaning crew, thin walls (heard my neighbor throwing up), carpet could use deep cleaning, room wasnt cleaned even when the service required sign was on handle. Very nice staff until you bring up an issue, location, location, location :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mazzy, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We sincerely apologize for the broken A/C that you experience. Nobody should experience this with their stay at Melrose and we do hope that this did not shape your overall impression of our recently renovated hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our prime location in the heart of DC, and we do hope you will give us another chance to impress you the next time you find yourself in the city, mazzy! Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Ann, NY

Great hotel with an amazing staff!!

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Everything, especially the staff.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Great location, we walked everywhere. Just a few minutes from Georgetown and a 20 minute walk to the National Mall.
This hotel was a find with a great staff and a good location. We brought our 13 year old nephew with us and everyone there made us feel like we were the only guests. The staff was attentive, friendly, and fun especially Chris, Maurice and Matt (p.s. Bruce is now a pilot in the ozone). Chef Cory's food was absolutely amazing and he even took the time to come out and talk to us. Ahmadou, Robert, Cedric, Mia were so kind and helpful. Sorry if I left anyone out. The room was comfortable and clean and the lobby was upbeat and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
LeeAnne & Bruce, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel in the heart of the Nation's Capital. Our team here at Melrose strives to provide attentive, personable and friendly service and we are so glad that have left a lasting impression on you and your family. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in DC. Regards, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Great hotel, felt like a 5 star. Awesome location

Posted Aug 29, 2014
This hotel had everything we wanted and then some. It was conveniently located within walking distance to many attractions. And if we didn't want to walk a can ride anywhere was usually no more then 10 mins. The hotel was beautiful, lavish, and very modern. The rooms had a very great level of comfort and everything about them screamed luxury. They were the biggest hotel rooms I've stayed in and the beds were some of the most comfortable. Cleanliness, great staff, very accommodating. Would definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tam, thank you for your review of Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too love our convenient location within walking distance of our favorite attractions and national landmarks. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our recently renovated hotel, and we very much look forward to your next visit, Tam. Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

Great hotel close to the city centre.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The modern, comfortable and huge room.
Cons: Get the miserable receptionist to learn smiling from all other of her colleagues.
Location: On a main street to walk easily to the shops and restaurants of Georgetown and to the main tourist sights of Washington.
Lovely hotel, within easy walking of the main sights of Washington. Good vibe in the lobby, room was huge, well looked after and the bed sooooo comfortable. Staff are generally efficient, friendly, helpful and smiling and made the stay even more worthwhile. Only one dour, unsmiling and rude receptionist let down an excellent team - turning away from me as I was talking to her to joke with a colleague! Free breakfast coffee and papers in reception daily.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
AJ, thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. e too love our prime location in the heart of the nation's capital Our team here at Melrose strives to provide personable, attentive and friendly guest service and we are so glad we have left a lasting impression on you. I do apologize on behalf of the team member that did not meet the standards that we at Melrose uphold for customer service, and I will be sure to look to see where this breakdown in communication may have occurred. Thank you for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to see you again on your next visit to DC. Best, Jale Hashimi
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

cosy hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: the location is brilliant !!!
Cons: when a guest left something in their room housekeeping should rely it to all the receptionist as they are the first contact with all the guest
Location: if you love walking Lincoln memorial is just around the corner
our room is really nice clean and cosy ..... location is really good
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mona, thank you for taking the time to review Melrose georgetown Hotel. We too love our convenient location within walking distance of famed attractions and national landmarks. We do hope you will be joining us again the next time you find yourself in DC. Best, Jale Hashimi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Three night stay on Penn Avenue

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: Location and attentiveness of staff.
Cons: In room coffee maker
Location: About 15 minute walk up Pennsylvania Ave to White House.
Hotel in Georgetown about 15 min walk from White House and Mall so great for sight-seeing. Lots of good restaurants in area and you are provided with a list and summary of local places to eat on arrival. Attentiveness of staff cannot be faulted and rooms are well appointed, roomy and actually quite luxurious. Beds are firm and very comfortable and, for such a central location, the area is quite quiet (our room was to rear of hotel). No breakfast is provided, however, complimentary coffee is available in reception (would be better if coffee-making facilities were provided in room) and breakfast can be purchased in hotel restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2014 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review Melrose Georgetown Hotel. We too love our convenient location in the heart of the city, within walking distance of famed attractions and national landmarks. Our recently renovated hotel offers large guest bedrooms, art-deco inspired interiors and luxurious amenities, and we are so glad you enjoyed. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you make your way to DC. Best, Jale Hashimi