Ratings based on 1,066 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Wonderful staff and thoughtful touches. Beautiful location in a safe quiet neighborhood. I plan to stay every time I am in DC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Montreal, Canada

Cozy, quiet hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: quiet, clean, good breakfast, free WiFi, friendly stuff.
Cons: replace the old elevator?
Location: The french restaurant Le Bistro Du Coin is amazing for diner, the Italian restaurant La Tomate is good for lunch, both affordable.
I stayed for years at Hilton across the street for the annual conference, with its awful acclimatization system. Since I have a sensitive sleep, I decided to start reading reviews about the most quiet hotel. And I think I found it. On a residential street, small, cozy, old but very clean. Stuff was friendly and ready to respond to my requests. Breakfast is very divers and well served. I definitely recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
It didn't look like the pictures it was sooooo different it wasn't what I was looking forward to
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, great location, clean and modern room
The room was cozy with all the amenities. The staff was also extremely friendly, and the location couldn't be more convenient or quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Wonderful boutique hotel in a lovely area

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Small, boutique hotel, very quiet. Large rooms. Conveniently located.
Cons: The breakfast is very basic but adequate.
Location: 10 minutes from Dupont Circle. Lots of restaurants closely located. Hop on hop off bus stop 2 minutes walk away.
We stayed at The Normandy Hotel for 5 nights over New Years. It was really wonderful. The room was very big and comfortable. The free wine hour is a nice touch! Situated in a beautiful part of Washington, only 10 minutes walk from Dupont Circle. Lovely and quiet hotel and not over crowded. Very cosy. Very friendly hotel staff. Conveniently, there is a hop of hop off bus stop about 2 minutes walk away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Arlington, VA

Hotel is in a great location - near the embassies.

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: I really liked the location and the bed was super comfortable!! The shower was nice as well and the hotel had a very quaint feel.
Cons: The room was so hot (it was cold outside) that I had to turn off the heater and open a window. The staff was okay but not overly friendly.
Location: Embassies, Dupont Circle.
This is a boutique hotel in the Embassy area of Washington D.C. and is also near Dupont Circle (great restaurants, shopping and sightseeing). The rooms are small but have been renovated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom D

Great Affordable Hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Was here for the weekend for a friends birthday. The hotel is clean, and in a nice neighborhood. Coming from new york city, these streets were squeaky Clean. Just a heads up, don't make loud noises, when pregaming unless ur in the top floors. The bars were only a few blocks away, so thats a plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A private Euro boutique hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Charming and attentive staff. Great coffee. And wonderful location. Solid bedding. Chic, worn and lovely!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris, France

Much better than expected!

Posted Dec 15, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and was impressed by the hotel and its amenities, especially compared to the cheaper place I stayed during my last visit to DC. This was definitely worth the extra money. I can't stress enough how friendly and accomodating the staff was. The daily wine happy hour was a great bonus too! The only downside was that our superior double room did not have a fridge. Our friend on the same floor who was in a single did, however. In the end it wasn't a big deal so I would still highly recommend this hotel to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northampton, MA

Warm and Welcoming

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Everything, but especially its European flavor.
Cons: nothing
Location: They sent us to a great breakfast restaurant. We were on business, not touring around the city.
So many hotels/motels are antiseptic, uninviting spaces. The Normandy is a breath of fresh air …literally. You can open the windows! Everything about it was perfect: the location was an easy walk from the subway, there were plenty of eating spots, the neighborhood is mixed residential making it interesting to walk around. And the staff was extremely cheerful and helpful, from offering silverware for dinner we brought in to eat in their small dining area, to using their printer.