Ratings based on 1,112 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Like a second home

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Pros: The business/fitness center is convenient. Room service in the morning was exactly right. The little kitchen with COFFEE BEANS and grinder!
Cons: Room over alley noisy, esp at night. Wifi kind of slow - but at least no additional charge, and I really appreciate that.
Location: Easy walk to Kennedy Center, Whole Foods and Trader Joe's. Close to metro. Reasonable walk (nice) to Mall/Smithsonians. Nice neighborhood.
Getting into my room early after a red-eye flight and serious jet lag was the best! And every staff member behaved as though I was a long-awaited and welcome guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

The River Inn is awesome - location can't be beat!

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: A clean comfortable room is the main point of a hotel (right?), so it was a perfect score for us. All around lovely experience.
Cons: Clarify in your online searches that there is NOT a pool onsite.
Location: Kennedy Center, GWU complex, restaurants, and anything you can get to by metro - the Foggy Bottom stop is only 3 blocks away.
The location is perfect - metro, Kennedy Center, the George Washington University (the Watergate!) and nice restaurants and even Whole Foods just a few blocks walk. Foggy Bottom is a very cute neighborhood and the River Inn was great. Our room was HUGE - we knew we'd reserved a king bed and a sleeper sofa but it also came with a kitchenette, which was a nice surprise. Sure, most hotel rooms have coffee makers, but how many have whole beans and a grinder so you can make really fresh coffee? The view out the window was a little garden. The room furnishings were clean and sleek; the bathroom was marble and modern and the showerhead was a huge rainfall style. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The bed was clean and comfortable (even the sleeper sofa). I found on-street parking for our SUV easily and didn't have to move the car (that saved us $80 over our 2 night stay.) We didn't get breakfast with our package, but it didn't look like any major deal, so that wasn't too disappointing. I did search for hotels with a pool and the River Inn came up so I assumed it had a pool - nope - so that was a minor let-down. In the past two years we've stayed near the embassies, and in Dupont Circle, and other places in metro DC, and for us the River Inn was tied for #1 best stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

The River Inn offers comfort to a weary traveler.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
After a long day of touring, it was nice to return to our comfortable, clean junior suite and to warm greetings from The River Inn staff. Only a table for eating was lacking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coopersburg, Pa.

Great hotel for price.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We had a wonderful stay. 2 adults, 4 children were comfortable in this hotel. Hotel was old, knob fell off the bath tub:) but it was clean and comfortable. I was very happy and would definitely stay here again. Was able to walk to Georgetown easily. Was able to walk to a stop for the hop on hop off bus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Good hotel, conveniently located to Metro & shops

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, friendly staff and close to metro and shops/supermarkets. Coin operated Laundry facilities in the hoel.
Clean accommodation. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to Metro and Wholefoods stores. Few blocks from Georgetown shopping and restaurants. Close to take-away and dine-in caf├ęs and bakeries.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge, UK

Good base for exploring DC

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: Location and price which are important to a touring family
Cons: There was some confusion over sleeping arrangements and number of beds required, which we felt the Hotel could have handled better.
Location: see above
The hotel was well situated close to the Subway at Foggy Bottom. We stayed 2 nights as 2 adults and 3 children and self-catered; there was a handy Trader Joe supermarket 5 mins away and the lovely historic area of Georgetown and the Potomac harbour area was a pleasant half hour stroll away. Being fit we also walked down to the Mall and Smithsonian although others might choose to take the subway or bus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chelmsford, uk

Great location and the staff are so helpful

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Chose this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and wasn't disappointed. Great location, room was fit for purpose, plenty of room and big enough for family. Staff could not do enough to help you and made the stay. Metro network only 5 minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: In a pretty good location on 25th and I. All rooms are suites so plenty of room.
Cons: For the price of the room, perhaps a basic continential breakfast could be included.
Location: Turn right when you leave, then left at the stop sign. Walk all the way up I to 15th and you're at the White House. Plenty to see and do everywhere.
The River Inn is in a residential tree lined street. The rooms are all suites of differing sizes and are immacutately clean. All staff are helpful, polite and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good neighborhood.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: The kitchen made it easier to make breakfast.
Cons: Better quality mattress and bed sheets
Location: There is a trader joes and whole foods close enough to walk.
Our family of four stayed in this hotel for six nights. Washington, D.C. Has so much to see a and we didn't make it to everything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh PA

Wonderful staff, great location and accommodation.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We had a very pleasant stay at the River Inn. Location could not have been better. Metro and Whole Foods just around the corner. The staff is excellent. Everyone was so pleasant, helpful and accommodating. We had 2 adults and 2 teenagers sharing a suite with a queen bed and pullout sofa. Plenty of room and nicely decorated and well-maintained. Kitchen was great to have for eat in breakfasts. Really could not think of one thing to complain about. We highly recommend it and would definitely stay here again.