Ratings based on 330 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redondo Beach. CA

Comfortable, well situated with great staff

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: Great location. Great Staff.
Cons: It seems odd that this hotel doesn't provide coffee/tea service in the rooms. I really can't fathom spending $20 for room service to bring 2 cups.
My wife contacted the concierge about a week in advance of our arrival. He made all our dinner reservations and even provided us with tickets to a few museums which we visited. Pierre greeted us at the checkin desk and the following morning I asked to have our room changed. Since we were staying 5 days, I really wanted an exterior room with a view. He happily found us a room that was a definite upgrade but did not even ask to charge us for the upgrade. Every afternoon at 6pm they use a saber to open a bottle of champagne in the lobby. We managed to always find ourselves there after a day of touring and before preparing for dinner. So a couple of glasses of champagne in the afternoon became our regular thing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice property. Old hotel. Old rooms.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Most reviews saying the rooms are dated are true, but many are more harsh than necessary. The place takes you back 60 years, and It needs a good update, but service was excellent and room was comfy. Overall a good stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: room was not clean
Location: walking distance to the best of the city
Love the location and the staff was very nice, food was good, the bar needs more options to offer
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Elegant, quiet, friendly, helpful staff

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Perfect for business on the Hill. Great room, bed, shower. Very comfortable and accomodating. Would definitely visit again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plantation, FL

Only Fair

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Rooms need some work
Location: Almost one block from the White House
The Hotel is nice and very well located. I bought and paid for a large premier room, and it was very small. This was very disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Convenient location. Friendly staff, small room.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
A bit short of our expectations, 'cause room was small. Staff was very friendly & accommodating, Arrived early (10 AM) & room was ready & offered way earlier than check in time. Only inconvenience was bathroom only had a tub so high (they have a stepping stool for you to climb in) and so deep it is a hazard to step out of it! But location is excellent!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex

Nice stay but noise from outside

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Everything was perfect. My only complain is a noise from large air conditioner vent from outside. My pillow vibrated when I went slipping. If you don't mind that everything else is superb.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mary

Fantastic! Comfortable beds and dreamy pillows!

Posted May 30, 2014
Stay here!! Really close to all major tourist spots and really good places to eat in DC
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Dallas, TX

Beautiful hotel next to the White House

Posted May 28, 2014
Excellent location close to everything. Easy to walk to all the monuments and museums. Attentive staff and a large and rather updated room compared to other D.C. hotels I have stayed at. Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David

Location, location, location.

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Location, Superb.
Cons: Older grand hotel. Very functional. Not 5 star luxary but current state and location very good overall.
Location: Close to everything. All museums, galleries and Washington landmarks close to hotel.
Overall, clean old hotel, reasonably updated. Traditional decor. Staff very helpful and friendly. This hotel is in a great location to all- most sites and attractions. Recommended.