Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

great stay - we loved it

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing... keep up the good work
Location: We found taking a cab from 14TH street cost about as much as the subway and a lot more convienent to the Washinton Mall area.
We only stayed in Washinton one night and two days. We came to see the monuments and the sites in Washington. We wish we had scheduled more time to stay - because we wanted to just hang around the house and grounds. My sweetie and I loved the William Lewis House and we would recomend it to our friends. It was warm, friendly, comfortable and relaxing and the staff was very accomodating. A free glass or two of wine at happy hour was there waiting for us to help us unwind to make us feel at home. Breakfest was great home made food. It was a perfect stay on our long motorcycle trip from Buffalo, NY.to Gettesburg, PA to Washinton DC and return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Nice Quaint Place to Stay in DC

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Location: Thaitanic and The Pig were places we ate at in the neighborhood, good food at both. There is a gift shop by Ford's Theater downtown, tshirts etc...
My husband and I just got back from our trip to DC. We stayed at the Lewis house for three nights. The stay was comfortable, affordable, and unique. We both enjoyed the location, hospitality of the hosts, Mattie and the fluffy cute little dog, the conversation, food, and the overall ambiance of the place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Breakfast awesome

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Cons: Install more hanging racks in the bathroom.
Breakfast is enjoyable. Food awesome and beyond my expectation. Lively talk with other guests over the table and with the host too. Shared bathroom is not a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice guesthouse for budget travelers

Posted Jun 27, 2014
I booked for this place because I wanted to go to the Smithsonian zoo for the next day. I was really surprised how awesome this place was. AC was cool enough and the bathroom was very clean(Even though you need to share it with other guests.) There were bathrooms in each floor so you don't have to wait in line. The stairs were little squeaky, but that didn't matter to me. In the kitchen you can have nice meals every morning. There was one quiet dog next to the living room. So cute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Africa

Lovely place to stay

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Great breakfast and evening munchies. Great room. Wonderful host. Lovely decor.
Cons: Someone to help lug a big bag up to the third floor.
Location: It is near by the metro, near an area with lots of restaurants. Everything in DC is nearby with the metro.
A wonderful place with charm where you sleep well, eat a great breakfast, meet interesting people, and appreciate DC. This is so much better than a chain hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gloria from Los Angeles

Far More Interesting Than a Hotel!

Posted Jun 18, 2014
More interesting than a hotel plus it offers a sense of community, with people gathering on the back porch, in the dining room, in the kitchen. But there are 2 big houses and room enough for privacy if you want. It's on a great street near fabulous restaurants -- check out Le Diplomate! -- bars and shops. It's near the Capitol. There's lots of street life. But step inside the door and you've walked into another century . . . Plus David and his sister Theron and their dogs are super nice!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ormani from Puerto Rico

Best place in town

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was traveling alone, this was an amazing place to stay for one night. Super clean place, Wi-FI, breakfast included, room perfect for what is designed: "sleep". I felt like I was at home !!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jason from Boulder Coloroado

What a cool BB!!

Posted May 1, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Cant think of anything. They have it down!
Location: It's close to everything.
This was the best place to stay in DC! It was comfortable and homey. The staff had all accommodations in place. Lots of options for breakfast, Victorian d├ęcor, classical music playing in the living room, an awesome coffee maker and a friendly hardworking staff made this place an experience I will miss! A must when visiting DC!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Howard from Sydney, Australia

Convenient location to city centre

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hosts are very hospitable and friendly and the communal breakfast on the weekend is a nice interaction with other guests. The decor is interesting and has the feeling of being in a home rather than a hotel. Common areas are nice to sit and chat over tea or coffee and snacks which are supplied. Would recommend this to friends as an interesting place to stay with character rather than a standard hotel vibe.