Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Staff was just fantastic. Location great. Close to White House. Rooms a good size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Nice hotel with nearby shopping.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Lounge area was nice and rooms were nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Murrysville, PA

Quick trip to DC

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff were awesome and very knowledgeable. Great location. Nicely located within DC.
Cons: Just a little updating. Room was great. Elevators could use a little cosmetic work.
Location: Located within a couple of blocks of the Dupont Circle Metro. Nice walk to monuments, White House and a ton of restaurants. Quiet street.
Even though we only stayed one evening, we had a perfect room for 2 adults and a teenager. The room was very spacious and clean. We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

Tiny public spaces but amazing design

Posted Mar 31, 2015
I would definitely stay here again, between the beautiful relaxing decor and amazing rate. Most of the staff were lovely and very helpful, with only one front desk agent having a grouchy day. The wine reception was a nice idea even though the merlot offered was nearly undrinkable, and I'm no wine snob. My room was soooo beautiful, and I think I got an ADA room, so there was a lot of extra space which I liked. Good shower pressure and the bed was crazy comfortable, although they should have included extra blankets in the room given the unseasonable weather. No view but the neighborhood was both quiet and convenient. I walked most everywhere. No major complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Fantastic location, super friendly staff with lots of suggestions and recommendations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Laredo, Texas

D.C. cozy hotel lives up to Kimpton rep

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: cozy, chic atmosphere and nice staff.
Cons: better lighting in the vanity area
Location: Located on a quiet street and across an interesting mediteranean restaurant with a great atmosphere.
Cozy, chic hotel. While the hotel lobby is quite small, the room was spacious, quiet and very comfortable. Personal touches like robes, toiletries, mini-bar and happy hour are very nice. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Ryan , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your amazing review of your recent stay at the Topaz. I am so happy that you enjoyed everything so much and the team took such good care of you. We hope you will come see us again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great hotel in convenient location

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Spacious refurbished room (slightly eccentric decor, even by Kimpton standards!). Breakfast adequate, but no more; there are other options locally. All the staff were really helpful, and we'll certainly return next time we're in DC. Under 10 minutes walk from Dupont Circle metro. Seemed like pretty good value too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ryan - GM , Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am so glad that you enjoyed the team and found the location so convenient. We look forward to your next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philly

Topaz-Not the nicest Kimpton

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Location and size of the room.
While I am usually a big fan of Kimpton Hotels and their brand, I found the Topaz to be a big disappointment. The common areas of the hotel were very dirty and "tired." The elevator was the smallest and narrowest elevator I've ever been in and, on top of it, was also dirty. While the room was clean and surprisingly large, the décor was just plain ugly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Ryan - GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Larry. I am sorry that you did not find our property to your liking. We hope you will continue to frequent the hotels within our brand that you do enjoy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Spacious, friendly staff.

Posted Feb 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Super friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are spacious - some have an odd layout so the bed and tv stand are really tight/close together. Showers are on the small side and water pressure was rather low. But overall nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2015 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz. I am really happy that you enjoyed the service that the team provided and that you had a nice stay overall. We hope you will come see us again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleased with the stay!

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
Very nice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2015 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great rating from your recent stay at the Topaz! I am really glad that you enjoyed everything so much. We hope you will come see us again.