Ratings based on 671 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

We had room 707. King bed.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
The room was a nice size, very roomy! Great view. It was bright. Looked just like the pictures. The bathroom was small. The tub was clean but the shower area needed a facelift. They offered free tolitries and items you may forget. The down fall of the room was that it was directly across from the elevator!!! You're bound to hear other hotel guests as they wait for the elevator. And let's be real. If you're on the noisey side, you too may be heard! Lol The bar area was small but had a trendy feel. On Friday eves. They have a two piece jazz performance. I liked the location. I could walk easily to the event place I was there in town for. Cool restaurant across the street. Iron Gate. Lovely garden in the back. Romantic setting. Bkfast was ok. Id go back to try dinner next time. Valet parking is a rip off! $45.00 a night at the hotel. We paid the meter across the street. We signed up for the app to pay it with our phone @$2.00 an hour. We stayed for just one night. I'd stay there again. The hotel next door had $10.00 parking. Hummmm
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

What a dump!

Posted Sep 20, 2014
This hotel appears not to have been updated in twenty years. Claustrophobia inducing, dark commons areas showers that change temperature without warning, banged up elevators. That said the beds were comfortable and the staff reasonably accommodating. I stayed here during a high demand week in DC and was charged $400 a night for a room I would have walked away from college spring break at $99 a night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Child friendly boutique hotel in DuPont Circle

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Include breakfast, wifi and a gym
We enjoyed our stay. The rooms were comfortable and we had no complaints. The location is great in close proximity to a variety of things. You can walk to the Smithsonian and zoo but it's a long walk. Great restaurant next store and across the street. Not a full service hotel and you only got breakfast if you booked through the hotel , we did not and booked through expedia. Wifi was free only if you signed up for the loyalty program. We missed not having a gym but took advantage of the yoga mats. The free wine cocktail hour was a nice perk. The front desk was helpful and had treats for the baby. It is dog friendly . Parking is valet only but there is free street parking on Sunday
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Downtown DC

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Pleasing but small hotel. Renovating. Not a fan of the bowl sinks. Splashes all over. Elevator needs work. Door wouldn't hold open and wheelchair stuck several times. Breakfast disappointing. Not bad but not much.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burlington, NC

Trendy hotel downtown DC

Posted Sep 2, 2014
This hotel is pet friendly, however darks were barking at all hours of the night so my family didn't sleep well. In addition, the hotel was out of hot water by 8pm so our showers were not long ones, obviously. It was clean and the decor was trendy but it is also hard to find. Would not stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A sad stay.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Central location
Cons: I would probably knock this hotel down and rebuild another one.
Location: Good night life, clean part of the city.
We were greeted when we got in around 12:30am or so, and it was a pleasant welcome. Everything was so scripted and unethused. The hotel and rooms were so outdated even though it was trendy like decor...it was like someone tried to make a motel really nice. Bathroom was teeny and there was no hot water while I showered the first night. Overall experience was absolutely disappointing. We decided to change hotels midstay and Amanda (different front desk personnel) was actually very accomodating so this review does not reflect this particular employee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, tx

Good location, decent value, mediocre appearance

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Hotel is in a great location central to monuments, DuPont circle, bars, and nightlife. Parking is expensive, but that's pretty typical for anywhere in DC. I was excited about staying at a boutique hotel, but wasn't really impressed by this one. I would describe it as "lipstick on a pig". The furnishings and decor were creative and tasteful, but the bones of the building (construction, paint, elevators, plumbing) were in poorer condition than I would have expected. It looked like they thought some wallpaper and a whole lot of white paint would mask the underlying construction flaws, but it really didn't. The room itself had plenty of space, which was nice. The bathroom was a bit small, but there was an adjacent dressing area that helped compensate for it (though that area had terrible lighting for doing hair/makeup.) Bottom line: If you're just looking for a decent place to sleep in a central location, this is a great choice. If you're picky about the appearance of your hotel/rooms and like expansive lobbies with large elevator banks, then you may want to stay elsewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I am glad that the location worked out so well for you but I am sorry that the hotel and its finishings and size were not to your liking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Spacious room, nice layout, comfortable bed and sheets.
Cons: TV reception was snowy.
Location: Great location near Dupont Circle. Lots of places to eat and shop nearby. easy walk to key business locations and decent proximity to public transport
I stopped in on an overnight business trip. It was great having a a little bar/restaurant right on site and I was pleased at the generous size and layout of the room. There was plenty of room to work and a nice seating area to have early discussion with colleagues. Staff was helpful with directions, thogh less so when asked to call a cab. The morning coffee was really good and teh breakfast offered was reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your amazing review! I am so glad that you had such a nice time and you enjoyed everything so much. We hope you will come see us again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maryland

Great location

Posted Jul 20, 2014
The hotel is in a fantastic location. Lots of stuff to do. Nicely decorated and comfortable, clean room. Only downside to our stay was loud private party in the bar (but we were in high floor so it didn't affect quietness in our room) and someone pulled the fire alarm at 1am. The hotel staff was very kind and credited us the parking due to the wake up though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review from your recent stay. I do apologize for the noise that came from the event on site. I am glad that the staff responded appropriatley and made it up to you. We hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, La

Great Hotel with Great Staff

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, accommodations.
Location: Great location near the Golden Triangle and Dupont Circle. Easy to walk around town or to take the nearby Metro.
The Topaz Hotel is a great choice if you're looking to explore D.C. It's located near Dupont Circle which hosts a bunch of shops, restaurants, and bars. It's also close to the Metro which allows you to get around town quickly and at a low cost. The staff was very helpful in recommending places to eat and the best routes to get to our destinations. Be sure to stop by the bar in the evening for the FREE wine hour. It's a nice added touch to an already great hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Ryan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Topaz! I am so happy that the location worked out so well for you and your enjoyed the team and the nightly wine hour. We hope to see you again soon!