Ratings based on 798 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Outdated, poorly maintained hotel. Not up to Kimpton standard. Cramped lobby and hallways. Poor shower pressure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va bch

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Lack of sound insulation interior and exterior hold it back from being 5/5
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Bad weekend?

Posted Jun 9, 2015
I am generally laid back, but our experience at Topaz was so completely underwhelming I tried to checkout early but couldn't because of booking through Expedia. Upon check in - computers weren't working so they were using note pads to assign rooms. They were in a panic and gave us an occupied room. Air conditioning was bad; waited over 15 minutes all three times for our car - after calling the front desk then talking to staff - the valet said no one sent him for the car. This service cost $45/day! Same experience requesting a car service to the airport. No wine glasses at the hosted happy hour; card key to room failed and two staff and 20 minutes later we were in. When I finally mentioned our series of frustrations I was told the computers were down and they were under staffed Not great customer service. I plan to email Klimpton as well. i assume they do well as the location is great. Not going back though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Great Spot!

Posted May 26, 2015
Great location, clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Would definitely recommend for the price!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2015
Staff was just fantastic. Location great. Close to White House. Rooms a good size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel with nearby shopping.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Staff was very friendly. Lounge area was nice and rooms were nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Murrysville, PA

Quick trip to DC

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: The front desk staff were awesome and very knowledgeable. Great location. Nicely located within DC.
Cons: Just a little updating. Room was great. Elevators could use a little cosmetic work.
Location: Located within a couple of blocks of the Dupont Circle Metro. Nice walk to monuments, White House and a ton of restaurants. Quiet street.
Even though we only stayed one evening, we had a perfect room for 2 adults and a teenager. The room was very spacious and clean. We were on the 8th floor and it was very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lynn from Pittsburgh

Good location and service bb

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay while visiting the city. Hotel condition was a bit tired, but beds were super Comfy. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ryan from Baltimore

Hooked on Kimpton Hotels

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
I've never had a specific request for Hotel brands. But, after staying at the Topaz and the Helix in DC, we're officially hooked on Kimpton. Really unique ambiance without it seeming forced. The service was very accommodating and had a great "social" vibe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Tiny public spaces but amazing design

Posted Mar 31, 2015
I would definitely stay here again, between the beautiful relaxing decor and amazing rate. Most of the staff were lovely and very helpful, with only one front desk agent having a grouchy day. The wine reception was a nice idea even though the merlot offered was nearly undrinkable, and I'm no wine snob. My room was soooo beautiful, and I think I got an ADA room, so there was a lot of extra space which I liked. Good shower pressure and the bed was crazy comfortable, although they should have included extra blankets in the room given the unseasonable weather. No view but the neighborhood was both quiet and convenient. I walked most everywhere. No major complaints!