Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Right in the action!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
This hotel is in the heart of DC! You can walk almost anywhere and see of the major attractions fairly quickly. The longest walk we had was to the Capitol building and that took 20 minutes. The staff were so friendly and professional. Our room wasn't as great as I would have hoped. It was very cramped (A wonderful room) in the sleeping area, but the bathroom was fantastic!! Luckily we weren't in the room except to sleep! I definitely would recommend this place to my friends and family!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, bad customer service

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The staff were very rude. They did not make us feel comfortable at all. They gave us a hard time even though the hotel was paid for in advance. It was worse to see that they didn't give anyone else a hard way to go but myself and my partner. A 4.2 star hotel with horrible customer service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aspen, CO

Great location, Horrible Spa Staff

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location, Friendly Front-of-House Hotel Staff (Excluding the Spa Staff), pet-friendly
Cons: There should be a way to verify a guest with their hotel key, or she could have called the front desk to verify my info and cc #
Location: Old Ebbitt Grill has the best stone crab, walk to White House, Lincoln, FDR and Washington Memorial
We chose the W for it's proximity to all the great sites so our daughter could see the memorials. In hindsight, I wish I had chosen the Ritz-Georgetown, Four Seasons, Hay-Adams or St. Regis where I have had excellent service and no hint of discrimination. I wish I could erase the memory of my recent stay at the W in Washington DC mainly because of my experience with the spa staff. My first stay at the W was 3 years ago and the presidential suite was beautiful and everything was perfect, so I decided to book there again. When I stayed there this last weekend, the spa was completely booked. I decided to go to the spa and pick up some products to pamper myself in my room. When I was checking out, I asked to put the products on my room. Since they had been having some problems with people doing this fraudulently, they asked for my id, and because I only had a room key, they would not allow me to buy the products. It is the practice usually that the staff of 4 and 5 star hotels make an effort to know their guests and make them feel welcome, and allow the convenience of not always having to carry your wallet on you. But it was not only an inconvenience, but an implication of suspicion. It has continued to bother me deeply even now. I wished that I could have been more focused on the important business and events that I had to be a part of in DC instead of feeling like I was being treated poorly. This experience had overshadowed any positives I might have had to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Cons: Bigger robes in the rooms
Location: Across the street from The Hamilton, near Old Ebbitt Grill, great location!
The staff was excellent, everyone encountered. Disappointed that Point of View was closed, but did enjoy the bar in the living room. Loved the presidential mirrors and pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from West Palm Beach, FL

Right by the White House and near bikeshare stands

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: The people were terrific. The hotel is in an older building but the interior is updated.
Location: Near the White House.
We were greeted by all the staff we encountered as we entered to check in for a long weekend. The staff were efficient with any of our needs and were quick to offer suggestions for food and sightseeing options. Unfortunately, our stay coincided with hotel renovations. The rooftop bar was closed and portions of some room floors were curtained off for construction.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san antonio

Excellent lication and hotel but small riom

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Awasome place but small room. The sraff was very nice. Do not use suttle van for return to airport is better rake a taxi if you want save troubles and be on time @ airport
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness of the room and the help we received from the desk clerks and concierge.
Cons: More opportunities to have meals in the hotel where we were staying. More light above the sink and more privacy in that same area.
Location: Location is great -- we could walk to most of the places we wanted to visit. The Metro station was also within a short walking distance.
I was disappointed that we could not go to the rooftop lounge because of the redecorating. We were looking forward to visiting the lounge again as we had been there years ago on our first visit to DC. Also, we would have liked better restaurant facilities. The dining room was not open for supper, and we were forced to find other locations to eat instead of being able to dine right in our hotel and then retire to our room. The lighting in the sink area was also a problem for me. Although the sink area was very attractive, it was difficult to put on make-up in the dimly lit area. I also would have preferred it if the sink was in a separate room from the bed and TV. The privacy issue of being out in the room when face-washing and teeth-brushing needed to be done was a problem for me. The room was always cleaned and taken care of when we returned at the end of the day. Our maid service was excellent, and the desk clerks were very, very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kendallville,In

Awesome hotel everything withen walking distance.

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Will love how close everything is and there's no need to drive plus hotel laby is just what u need to relax if u need to. thank you can't wait to come back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jupiter, FL

Loved everything about this hotel and staff. I wil

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: everything. Bliss products were wonderful as well.
Cons: city map in room. Consierge was great, but so good that there was a 15 minute wait just to get a map
Location: It's our nation's capital! If you can't find something awsome to do every 15 feet, stay in Iowa.
I came in early to check my luggage, 3 hours before check in time and when they saw I was a Starwood member they not only checked me in immediately but upgraded me to a room facing the White House. Every employee as courteous, there is no better hotel in DC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's, NL

Trendy hotel in convenient location

Posted Aug 20, 2014
The W is perfect for the young and hip. Trendy atmosphere in the lounge/lobby carries into the rooms. Only drawback is a slight lack of privacy in the washroom, due to a sliding door that doesn't fully close. Very helpful and considerate staff. Props to Marlon, for great recommendations and enthusiasm.