Ratings based on 1,788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Nice hotel walking distance to Capitol.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
We loved the clean room and lobby. The room and bathroom were clean with updated fixtures and decor. the front desk was friendly and helped us check in early. We stored our suitcases with the bell hops while waiting for check-in and the last day after we checked out but hadn't left for the airport yet. So convenient. The hotel is within walking distance of the Capitol and Union Station. There's a Srarbucks across the street and a Corner Bakery up the block near Union Station where we ate breakfast each morning. It's a 20 minute cab ride from Reagan airport. We'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealand

Good location and quiet ambience but.....

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Location, peaceful and quiet. Competent staff, nice atrium, room was clean, housekeeping excellent, Hassle-free.
Cons: Keeping booked room available for customers who have arrived late - and notified hotel of this.
Location: Five minutes walk from Union Station with great transport links eg. Metro. This is a business/administration area NOT an entertainment nightlife hub.
This hotel has an excellent location close to Union Station, Supreme Court, and in a quiet area free of noise and clutter of bars, nightclubs, etc. it's clientele seems drawn from tourists wanting a sedate location and businesspeople, govt officials attending conferences etc. Pleasant staff, quietly efficient. I appreciated the quiet room and generally peaceful atmosphere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Location: Close to the Capitol and Union Station, but a rather long walk for children to museums and monuments.
No pool, so evenings with young children can be rather boring for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ballarat

Perfect location to Union Station, Capitol Hill.

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Excellent hotel, all staff except reception staff, were friendly, effecient and welcoming. Would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Washington DC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, no customer service!

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Rooms are fine and location is decent.
Cons: Staff needs to be retrained on etiquette and hotel hours and area.
Honestly, one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. I have travel all over the world and this is the first time that I have actually taken the time to write a review...it was that bad. The staff was rude and seemed to have absolutely no idea what was going on. We arrived at the hotel at 2 p.m. after traveling all day and were denied a room. We were told the would call when a room was available . They never did. We walked around DV for an hour and a half and then returned exhausted at around 3:45. The rude lady behind the desk said "Did I call you yet?" in a nasty tone. I told her no and then politely asked when check-in was. She said at 4 p.m. We laid on the couches in the lobby for 15 minutes and then tried again. This time we were provided with keys, but when we got to our room we discovered they didn't work. I had to go all the way downstairs to tell her and still was not provided with a new room. Instead, she sent me back upstairs with security where I waited for about 30 minutes for them to reprogram the dead battery on the entry door lock. Later that evening my boyfriend and I went out for drinks. When we returned we asked if the hotel bar was open and they said it was. We walked inside and found out it was closed. We ended up walking around the corner for drinks. When we returned late night, tipsy and hungry, we asked at the front desk for food. They provided menu for closed restaurant twice. Staff seemed absolutely clueless. Never again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Hampshire

Capital city sight seeing.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
The hotel is close to an underground station (5 mins walk for the frugal), else there's a cab rank on the hotel street (cabs summoned to the hotel entrance). The capital Mall (a grassed common) has the major tourist attractions, easy 2 to 3 mile walk to the furthest attraction (Lincoln Memorial). If the hotel meal pricing seems steep, there's a breakfast/lunch cafe opposite at less than half the price you winced at (cafe was well run although the decor was minimal). The hotel itself was quiet, room climate control is fully adjustable and no window box AC units. All the plumbing worked well, all gaps sealed in the bathroom, kudos to the handyman. The hotel staff, door, front desk, restaurant and bar were polite and friendly. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pomona, CA

overall it's good

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Food, cleaniness
Cons: cheaper the parking
Location: great location. within 30 mins walking you can get to most of the things to see at DC,
we stayed there for three days and it's a good experience. the room is clean and bed is comfortable. the best thing is, the food. my wife and i both love it. they make great burger and seafood. also the location is great, about 10 - 15 mins walking to the capitol. only thing is the parking. so expensive, overnight is $40 something?? i was lucky cuz' we visited on weekend the park is free on the street but it's certainly not that convenient
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trip to see the sights with my son

Posted Oct 15, 2014
It was a great trip and I have stayed at this hotel before. It was fine, but I was a little disappointed by the lack of cleanliness in the room (taco chips on floor by the bed, maid left bottle of cleaning solution in room, the desk was sticky where something was obviously spilled on ti, the tub had mildew. I don't remember that being an issue when I stayed last year. Also, I would probably choose a hotel that either had complimentary wi-fi in the room or at least has free access in the business area. There was nothing I didn't pay extra for... All that being said, the staff was very friendly and courteous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Oct 14, 2014
The hotel was in a great location and close to everything. Check is was extreamly fast. Rooms were very spacious and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Perfect location

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Staff was wonderful
Cons: microwaves and refrigerators
Location: Union Station, Capitol Building, restaurants, within 5-15 minute walk. Mall access within 20 minute walk.
Two blocks from Union Station, and a 10 minute walk to the Capitol and the Mall. Staff very helpful and easy to work with. Restaurant and bar is superior. Rooms and very comfortable. No refrigerators, or microwaves but everything else is top notch. Beds are so comfortable. Doorman remembered my name and made sure to check when I was expected back. Felt safe and cared for. This is the fifth time I have stayed at this hotel.