Ratings based on 520 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Bearbears from Richmond, VA

Surprisingly thin walls and doors for a Marriott

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly, the room was clean and comfortable (aside from noise) and the location was relatively convenient.
Cons: The levels of noise from the hallway, elevators, and adjacent room were loud enough to be bothersome when trying to sleep.
Location: Same block as Starbucks, USPS and Walgreens. Walkable to GW/Foggy Bottom metro and Washington Circle.
Take earplugs. I have been at dozens of Marriott properties over the years and they have generally been great (which is why I keep coming back), even when large groups, noisy youth, noisy drunkards, etc. are staying there at the same time and make a ruckus. This one is not on my return list because it fails to meet the bar set by those other experiences - I could hear every single noise in the hall and adjacent rooms far too well.
Comment from
Jan 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I do regret that you were disturbed by noise while you were here at our hotel. Our goal is to ensure that all of our valued guests enjoy their stay with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and I will ensure that I work with our engineering department to resolve this issue.
3 out of 5
by MNA from Charlottesville, VA

serviceable, but ugly, shabby

Posted Apr 14, 2014
We spent one night. The service and cleanliness were fine, and the location was ideal for us. The room was spacious, and the HVAC worked fine, but it was downhill from there. The little things that make for a good experience were missing. For example, only one coffee pod; ceiling tiles not in place; closet rod, was so flimsy I was afraid to hang my suit on it (it sagged but didn't break), and it was ugly. I had no idea that it was possible to find so many shades of brown that clashed. They apparently have recently renovated the lobby but it looked like an all-you-eat steak house. The parking garage was a challenge of tortuous turns and poor signage, and at $36 you might as well use the valet parking ($40). Overall, I would expect more from Marriott and more for $249 -- even in DC.
Comment from
Jan 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback. I do sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you encountered and will ensure our engineering team take care of the issues you mentioned. Our goal is to provide flawless service to all of our valued guests and we will ensure that we do a better job next time to meet and exceed your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in central DC

Posted Apr 7, 2014
The hotel is old, but nice. Rooms were comfortable and lean, and staff was typical Marriott- professional and helpful. Good value for the price.
Comment from
Jan 9, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and acknowledging our helpful staff, comfortable rooms and good value overall. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jill from mn

It is a nice hotel the location was wonderful.

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Loved it at this Marriott. The staff went above and beyond! Very personable. I for sure will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Location and Staff
Cons: Pillows
Location: Museums, Monuments, Restaurants, Clubs... everything within walking distance (in my opinion)
Hotel was located within walking distance of everything. The only thing ... small pillows....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Feb 17, 2014
The hotel staff was adequate. The lobby atmosphere was great and the room was clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Riccardo from West Palm Beach FL

Very convenient location.

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Lobby is undergoing renovation.
Location: Easy walk to Georgetown and other DC sites.
Doorman very helpful with information and directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fraser from Edinburgh

Good loctaion comfortable stay

Posted Feb 10, 2014
This is everything you expect of a Marriot. Clean comfortable stay with many factilites. Only thing is there is fire station near by and there our room was on the corner of the main street and there alot of loud sirens at any point in the day, we got use to them pretty qucikly though. Also you are charged $12 dollars for 24hrs of wifi, this seemd to be the case with out hotels in DC though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Barbara from New York, NY

A Short Stay

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: I like the location of the hotel and the comfort of the room.
Cons: It would be helpful if the hotel could have free Wi-Fi service.
Location: There are a number of restaurants within walking distance and a convenient drug store to purchase essential items that may have been forgotten.
I was only at the hotel for one night and found the accommodations adequate. However, due to the fact that the hotel is undergoing renovations, work began at a very early hour and the noise was rather disruptive. I would like to revisit the hotel when renovations are completed and compare my experience then to what I recently encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent all around experience

Posted Feb 9, 2014
Pros: Prince, service, courtesy and professionalism of staff, quality of food, cleanliness.
Cons: Take out the $5 room delivery charge. The 20% service charge includes that.
Location: Location is Foggy Bottom. It is walking distance to the metro Subway, good restaurants, sights (White House, Mall, etc.) and more if you like to walk
Excellent location. Staff was without exception courteous and helpful. Room service for breakfast delivered on time to the minute. Only problem was the $5 delivery charge added to the already sufficient 20% service fee (of which delivery should be a part) and rather pricey meal. But the price I had in the bundled Expedia flight and hotel package was so excellent that I can't complain too much. Great experience. Will definitely try to get the same package again.